We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could've been a 5, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Palacio

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Palacio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
jersey city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It could've been a 5, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was my second stay here in a little over a year. I love this place! The room on the 4th floor with the huge balcony (bigger than many hotel rooms) is worth the price of the stay alone. Unfortunately, it was booked on my last night and I had to move to another room. I was pleasantly surprised how nice the other room was, one of the newer rooms in the new part of the building. The hotel is in the heart of zona colonial where there's plenty to do. There's lots to do in walking distance, but buyer beware of the many stores with inflated prices. In any event, I spent 2 nights at top rated hotels before going to Palacio. I wanted a change of pace from the Palacio. However, I was unhappy with the lack of things to do in the area of these hotels - Barcelo and Hotel Santo Domingo.

The staff is friendly and helpful and speak English well.

My biggest gripe at the Palacio and the other hotels was the meager breakfast offerings. For a gazillion dollars a night, they can do better. Actually, somewhat better offerings seemed to start coming out around 8:30am, too late for me. The cook is friendly enough but there's very little ready at opening time. In my view, everything should be available at opening. Not one of the places I stayed at had a typico breakfast... all American and European style. I don't travel to eat American food.

My #2 gripe is the wi-fi in the big room is almost non-existent. I had to go out to the balcony to get a signal. This was the case the first time also and is an easily fixable problem.

But these are minor issues and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: ask for the one with the gigantic balcony but do so well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize for the inconvenieny you had.
we appreciate your suggestion for tracking and thank you for help us to be better.


Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    123
    38
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
161
63
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You cannot beat this for location to sights, restaurants, etc. Be sure to not get a room on the street side. The best rooms are in the new section, floors 3 and 4. The hotel restaurant is not much to crow about. The breakfasts are adequate but not grand. You are better off elsewhere for dinners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest:

Your comment is very important for us, we appreciate your suggestion , thank you very much for taking the time to help us be better.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Found this hotel on trip advisor and were not disappointed, especially for the price. This is a boutique hotel, in a beautiful old world building, that has been renovated. Courtyard is gorgeous! Our room was on the top floor and there were some issues with water pressure. Otherwise, the room was spacious. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. Location is EXCELLENT, for checking out the tourist zone of Santo Domingo - everything was in walking distance. Originally when we arrived in the evening, it seemed to be in a "shady area", but in the morning we saw that it was quite safe - a lot of tourist police around. The hotel is ~25mins from the airport. Breakfast was basic, although they were making eggs, which I cared about. Overall, not a "modern hotel", but definitely a place with charm and culture and recommended for a stay in SD.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest:

Your comment is very important for us.
we are glad you become part of our guests.... we are waiting on your next visit to Santo Domingo to follow as usual providing you a good service.
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is very well centered. We found it a little expensive considering the benefits provided, but in any case the hotel was very agreable. We got a large room with air conditioning (everything was working, thankfully).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciate you take your time to qualify us, because your comment is very important for us.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here in 2010 and again this past March 2013. The place hasn't changed. Free wifi in the rooms and parking. The pool on the roof level is great to relax in and break from the heat. Morning breakfast is included and good mix of local and standard breakfast foods. The best part is the place is located in the heart of the colonial zone. You can't beat the location. Very easy acess to the tourist sites and easy to walk around in the evening for a dinner or drink out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much to share your memorable stay.
Your comments it make us feel satisfied to continue providing the best service our guest.
We hope you reapeat your visit again with us.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papete
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in massive room 120. Beautiful, well maintained historical building. Free indoor parking. A few steps away from the best part of Santo Domingo. On the corner of a pedestrian street. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days. When we arrived, the receptionist was very helpful in getting us to our room. We had to wait because we got there earlier than our check in time, and she pointed us to the right direction to a delicious restaurant. When we got back, our bags were in our room and you really felt like you were in a different country, yet right at home. The rooms had high ceilings (with a ceiling fan), a safe box, clean bathroom. it was in a central location that was close to restaurants and close to the Plaza de Colon. The courtyard was beautiful and we were welcomed with a lavish breakfast in the morning. The service was warm and friendly, and the staff take a great deal of pride in accommodating their guests. My only Reco is to bring your own shampoo and conditioner. We felt like we had seen what we needed to see in SD, so we rented a car and drove to a few surrounding beaches the remainder of our stay, but always returned to our hotel. Renting a car is easy and safe to drive once you get outside the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you to take your time to highlight the most important and enjoyable moments that you had in your stay. All our staff are satisfied when we received a good feedback because your comment is very important for us.
We appreciate your suggestion which help us be better.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#12 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.