We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Amazing Food and Great rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Palacio to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Palacio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Amazing Food and Great rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For our Honeymoon in the Dominican Republic my husband and I enjoyed a night at Hotel Palacio while exploring Santo Domingo! In the middle of the hustle of the busy city this quaint and beautiful hotel is the perfect hidden gem! We were a little scared to venture out at night so we were very pleased to have an amazing meal from their small restaurant! We had the pleasure of direct service from the hotel Chef Rodrigo. His food was amazing and we are positive we will see him on the travel and/or cooking channel any day now! We sat out in the courtyard and went through 2 bottles of wine for over 2 hours enjoying the hotel's atmosphere and savoring Rodrigo's amazing cooking! The room was clean modern and bed was very comfortable! 5 stars in my book! Staff was extremely friendly and delightful! We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but suggest getting a room away from the street because it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work, when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .
we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    158
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
205
69
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed three night in Sept. The location was very good within walking distance to everything.
The reception staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good. WIFI was not the best and the hot water was tricky at times but minor problems. If I ever returned to Santo Domingo I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, Your comment is very important for us, we appreciate your suggestion and we promise to give you a effective monitoring for to avoid this inconvenience, thank you very much for taking the time to help us be better.

Best Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is perfect from the house keeping staff, front desk, breakfast, to the owners. It is located just off the conde pedesterian street with all it's restaurants and historic area's. I walked the complete area without any concerns for safety.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor such as 140 have a large interior patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, the reception staff, all our estaff and our manager is very happy for your comment, thank you for appreciating our work.

Best Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

lovely hotel, clean rooms, good food, friendly staff, great location. nice rooftop pool with great views. stayed 3 nights with a group of friends for a wedding and we all had a great time. highly recommend for a trip to santo domingo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a hotel review, we are very pleased with our effort to maintain our quality of service because our reward will always be the fact that you leave happy and want to return.

Best Regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. I only stayed one night and did not take complete advantage of the facility but had an extremely comfortable stay (great hot shower!), staff was friendly, and the included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a hotel review, we are very pleased with our effort to maintain our quality of service because our reward will always be the fact that you leave happy and want to return.

Best Regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of the Colonial Zone. Excellent rates, good food, and a friendly and courteous staff that goes out of their way to make sure you hav an enjoyable stay. I am definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work, when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have traveled widely and this is the best reception staff encountered. My spotlight is on Ruth, Bianka and Rosemary who arranged for taxi's, negotiated fares, gave drivers precise directions and a host of requests for me without hesitation and always with a smile. Charming owners and a helpful staff greet you daily with a smile and hello. Great nearby restaurant recommendations.
This boutique hotel in the heart of the zona colonial has character, charm and historic pedigree. Further this hotel does NOT suffer by comparison to the Nicolas de Ovando, it is better!! Its the small bar, courtyards and other nook and crannies. Even the best properties have developmental needs and here it is housekeeping which could move from very good to excellent with closer inspection of subtleties. Breakfast can be made to order and is very good. I missed oatmeal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, the reception staff, all our estaff and our manager is very happy for your comment, thank you for appreciating our work.
As you highlight,
Hotel Palacio was a property of Buenaventura Beaz, who was President of the Dominican Republic several times during the 20th century. This ex-palace now features 44 luxurios rooms that have been rebuilt for the first time (1990-1992) and tastefully decorated, to offer all our guests a pleasant stay at the Dominican Republic.

thatnks again we are waiting on your next visit, to make you feel good as usual.


Best regards,


Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.