We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santo Domingo Colonial Zone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Frances MGallery

Save Saved
You added Hotel Frances MGallery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Frances MGallery
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Las Mercedes, Esq Arzobispo Merino | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 73 hotels in Santo Domingo
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    67
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
26
81
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

In the heart of the Colonial Quarter, right opposite the Mexican Embassy, though not easy to find if driving. Looks nothing special from the outside, but it is a little oasis inside, Lovely Moorish courtyard, insulated from Santo Domingo noise and bustle, where all meals are served. Small hotel car park directly opposite the main door was invaluable, and is always manned. Breakfast adequate, not special. Our room was a good size, with sitting area and well-fitted (and lit) bathroom. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Walking distance to a range of restaurants, and though the streets are dark at night, it felt very safe.

Unless you have specific interests, Santo Domingo is not worth more than 2 days in our view. If we go back to SD this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2137, Gerente at Hotel Frances MGallery, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hotel Frances. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Marion te Winkel
Manager
Calle Mercedes, Esq Merino
Ciudad Colonial
10211 Santo Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I made a reservation at hotel Frances a month in advance for 3 nights and paid in full. I decided to surprise my girlfriend with a romantic vacation on valentine’s day. It was her first time traveling outside the U.S. so I wanted to make it perfect. I was so excited because of the location, spacious rooms, and the reasonable prices hotel Frances has to offer. Especially with all the previous positive reviews that were submitted about hotel Frances I thought I couldn't go wrong. After getting off of my flight that was delayed for a couple hours I couldn’t wait to get to my hotel room and relax and see my girlfriends face when she sees the hotel. As I walk in the hotel I was given a check in sheet. I filled out my info and gave it to the guy at the counter. he pulled my name up and gave the computer a blank stare. He then got the manager. I asked the manager is something wrong he says it’s ok I'll put you in another hotel with no explanation. I asked why, he responded with the same answer, it’s ok I’ll put you in another hotel. At this point I was furious because my room was paid for in full and I was tired and wanted some rest. He got on the phone and said I put you in another hotel. After going back and forth on why I can't stay there for another 10 minutes he finally said we are sold out of rooms. I asked you sold my room. He said yes. The hotel he placed us in was a good hotel but not nearly the size of the room I would have gotten at Frances and the room we were in was the cheapest room there. Also the prices of everything was 10 times more expensive at bar and breakfast. He called a cab for us and told us we will be ok at the other hotel. I wasn’t offered any hotel credits or any compensation at all. I would never recommend Hotel Frances to anyone based on my experience last weekend. No one should have to go through that.

-Eric

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2137, Gerente at Hotel Frances MGallery, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Frances. I am really sorry that you had to go through this experience and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Due to a technical problem in one of our rooms we could not accomodate you in our hotel. Certainly we try always to avoid this situation but unfortunately in this we had no other choice: We reserved a room for you in the Mgallery Hostal NIcolas de Ovando, which is a 5 star hotel of the same chain and same collection at 2 minutes walking distance. The hotel has some more facilities like fitness and swimming pool and 2 different restaurants.The rooms in the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando are at a higher standard level and certainly not smaller than the different rooms in Hotel Frances. There is a choice of 2 restaurants which has both a different carte with a large range of different price levels. I will take into consideration your comments about the way of communication at our reception; please note that your feedback is very important to us. I can rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to avoid the same situation in the futur and be able to react better in case of an overbooking. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to stay in the Hotel Frances as promised in the futur.

Sincerely,
Marion Riffelmacher
Gerente
Hotel Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently stayed here two nights. It is within walking distance of all attractions in Colonial Zone. Restaurant is pricey but handy if you don't want to venture out at night. The breakfast at Mercure Hotel is much cheaper at only $10.00 per person including tax. So, you may want to walk the 3 blocks to the Hotel Mercure for Breakfast. Would have stayed at the Mercure but they have no parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2137, Gerente at Hotel Frances MGallery, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciated that you took the time to write this positive comment about your stay in Hotel Frances. Like mentionned we are well located in an area with plenty of restaurants and near to all historical buildings and so easy and safe to reach by walking. Our chain Accor has 3 hôtels in the Colonial City and they have all three their specialty with corresponding rates. We are happy that you were able to combine the Mercure and our hotel corresponding your needs.
Hope to be able to welcome you again,
Kindly regards,
Marion Riffelmacher
Gerente
Hotel Frances
Calle las Mercedes, Esq Arz. Merino
Ciudad Colonial
10211 Santo Dominog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This cozy hotel (only 19 rooms) is perfectly located if you are interested in exploring the Old City of Santo Domingo. It has numerous nice restaurants and historic sites. Also, from here you´re only a short taxi ride away from the rest of modern Santo Domingo. No elevators, but it´s only over two floors so no big problem unless you rely on it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2137, Gerente at Hotel Frances MGallery, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kindly comment about your stay in our hotel. Our location gives the opportunity to appreciate the old colonial town as much as possible and I´m happy you did like it. Santo Domingo has the chance to combine the old city and a modern part where you find several luxury malls and from our hotel the modern part is easy and fast to reach by taxi like you mentioned. Our staff is there for all our guests to organise their stay to appreciate every moment of their stay in Santo Domingo.
Hope to be able to welcome you again with us in the future.
With kindly regards,
Marion Riffelmacher
Director
Hotel Frances
Calla las Mercedes, Esq. Arz. Merino, Ciudad Colonial
10211 Santo Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We had booked one night at this hotel, which is situated very well in the Colonial.
We had an experience of an inefficient staff by both check in and out - every thing took very long time.
The hotel has a nice last century interior and we had a spacey and very nice room no. 207 - but what a night!
We stayed at the hotel a Friday night and the Disco situated just across the street was playing loud music until after 3 o'clock at night, and the most irritating about that was the extreme bass, that we could hear even using earplugs. The window at the room is with double glass but that wasn't enough to keep out the music which was turned up during night.
We had a nice and good breakfast before we left but the overall impression wasn't good despite of a very nice historic building with atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2137, Gerente at Hotel Frances MGallery, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Frances. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
I will take into consideration your comments about the noise of the discotheque in front of the hotel and I planned a meeting with the owner to avoid the same situation in the futur,
Concerning the inefficient reception staff I can inform you that we constantly train our team to be able to improve the level of service. Extra care will be given in the next meeting on this point to gurantee the level of service corresponding to our brand MGallery..
Please note that your feedback is very important to us. I can rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
With kindly regards,

Marion Riffelmacher
Gerente
Hotel Frances
Calle Las Mercedes esq. Arz. Meriño
Ciudad Colonial
10211 Santo Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel! The location is smack bang in the middle of the Colonial Zone, just 5 minutes walk to the major tourist areas, parks and restaurants. The rooms and common areas are spacious and cool, a welcome relief from the steamy outdoors. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Some helpful tips that we discovered during our stay:
- Taxis between the hotel and the airport are a set price of $40 USD each way, plus tip.There are taxis waiting outside the hotel at all times, as well as more just 1 block away. Always confirm the price with the driver before beginning your trip.
- The hotel is very strict about their check-in and check-out times (3:00PM and 12:00PM, respectively). You can leave your bags with the front desk staff but they’re left in clear view of everybody that approaches the counter, so you’re better off sticking to their set times. If you arrive early, like we did, you can always enjoy a meal and a drink at the restaurant to pass the time.
- Most places accept $USD, but many don’t have much change so it’s easier if you use Dominican Pesos. The hotel front desk will exchange small amounts (up to $50) for you, and there is a Banco Popular ATM near the hotel (we were not comfortable using the outdoor ATMs, but there are plenty of those as well).
- Do not drink the tap water. You get a free bottle of water in your room each day, but we also bought a 5L bottle of water from a supermarket on Calle El Conde, which is the main street of shops and restaurants just off Plaza de Colon (Columbus Park), and that lasted us the duration of our 3-night stay.
- Be sure to select the complimentary breakfast option when booking. It consists of a spread of pastries, cereals, fruit, cooked vegetables, bacon, cheeses, meats and juices. At your table your server will ask if you’d like to select an egg dish to be cooked to order (fried, scrambled, or omelets), as well as hot drinks (like French press coffee) which they will bring to your table--all at no extra charge.
- The hotel restaurant is open all day, with some really great food and drink options. We really enjoyed sitting in the courtyard with a cappuccino. Later in the day, when you’re finished sightseeing, grab a drink and a good book and sit upstairs on the balcony overlooking the courtyard. Heaven!
- When planning our trip, we chose most of our activities based on this web site: http://www.frommers.com/destinations/santodomingo/, as well as this TripAdvisor list: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attractions-g147289-Activities-Santo_Domingo_Santo_Domingo_Province_Dominican_Republic.html. Definitely print a map to carry with you at all times, like this one: http://www.colonialzone-dr.com/CZ_Map_print.html. The Colonial Zone is small, but you can easily get disoriented without a map.
- Every evening, we walked down to the big open square that holds the Alcazar de Colon building just after dark--only a few minutes from the hotel. There is a row of beautiful restaurants with outdoor seating, and a cool breeze coming off the water. Lots of families come down to the square at night so the children can play, and some nights there is live music, so it’s a really lovely place to eat dinner and share a bottle of wine.
- All professional staff (including those at this hotel, as well as restaurant staff and other people in the city) move at their own pace. Be patient, and leave plenty of time for things like meals and check-out.

Overall, the hotel is fantastic. It’s the kind of place that, no matter how long you stay, you want to stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2137, Gerente at Hotel Frances MGallery, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very specified comments on your stay in our hotel and the Colonial City. We are delighted that you liked you stay here and with all the good research before coming over, you have been able to appreciate the town on all his splendour. Very kind of you to give so many good ideas for following guests and I´m sure that they will be able to see and live the city as much you did.
My team is constantly trained to give the best service and good comments are one of the best motivations to continue and to improve.
I hope you will be able to come back to Santo Domingo and to be our guest again; It will be a real pleasure for all my team to welcome you again.

Marion Riffelmacher
Gerente
Hotel Frances
Calle Las Mercedes esq. Arz Meriño
Ciudad Colonial
10211 Santo Domingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Frances MGallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frances MGallery

Also Known As:
Accor Santo Domingo
Sofitel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Sofitel
Address: Calle Las Mercedes, Esq Arzobispo Merino | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#15 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Frances MGallery 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Frances invites you live a memorable experience.Their golden stone architecture and the warm inside make this Spanish residence a unique place full of history and beauty.Since XVI century it is being witness of the passage of innumerable personalities and in present time is one of the emblematic places of the Colonial City, declared Patrimony of the Humanity by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Frances MGallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Frances MGallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.