We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful atmosphere, very nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Las Mercedes, Esq Arzobispo Merino | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Volcano, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, very nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Hotel Francés contains 19 rooms in a nicely restored 16th century building. It has a beautiful courtyard for outdoor dining, a small bar adjacent to the patio, and a dining room adjacent to the lobby. The hotel is located in the Zona Colonial about three blocks from the El Conde shopping street, and is convenient to several banks.

We stayed two nights upon our arrival in Santo Domingo and another three nights prior to our return to the U.S. Both of the “standard” rooms with queen beds were rather small but decorated with excellent understated taste. The tiled bathrooms were very nice. The air conditioning was effective and not too noisy. Unlike most hotels—even the most modern—the room had very good light for reading.

The rooms are on the ground and 2nd floors, but there is no elevator. There is a free computer (with printer) in the lobby for hotel guests. Although they will cook your eggs to order, the limited buffet breakfast is very overpriced at $16USD.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

During our stay in Santo Domingo, we also stayed at the Hotel Palacio. It would be our first choice if we returned. But if on-site dining is important, the Frances is very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
28
92
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very nice hotel in Santo Domingo's Colonial District. Paid about $120 for the night (taxes and all). The room was clean and comfortable. Only minor problem was the remote control did not work, but it wasn't a big issue for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I am delighted by the staff friendliness, location, and ambiance. My woman has difficulty breathing and so they moved us to a room with open-able windows so she slept well. Food is 5-star. The other 5-star reviewers have expressed their delight with the Hotel Frances better than I can so all I can say is I agree wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday, and I was not disappointed! Our room was a standard, but still had a beautiful and charming architectural style. It's a small hotel so it was nice and quiet, perfect for a romantic stay. Lush vegetation and flowers everywhere with nice nighttime lighting and breezy balconies completed the atmosphere- and let me say a BEAUTIFUL atmosphere! The location is also great, right in the colonial zone and walking distance from lots of food/sightseeing options. The staff and front desk were perfect, and handled all our our needs professionally and respectfully. Definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in Jan 2012 and overall had a fantastic time. The room itself was spacious and clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was small and little outdated, but was adequate and very clean. Definately the best value for money in the capital.
The hotel itself feels very special, it has an authentic charm. El Patio restaurant was a wonderful experience, eating under the stars is not to be missed. The food was good and waiters attentive and gave great service. Reception staff were great, always helpful and tried to make the stay special.
However, at breakfast we were served by a surly waitress who gave us a little bit of an attitude when we mentioned that our drinks hadn't arrived and we had nearly finished our breakfast. We don't like to complain and felf that we hadn't complained just brought it to her attention that we would like our drinks, but she seemed to take umbridge at this.
In all we had a fantastic time at this hotel, it has such a nice feeling, made our stay in Santo Domingo special. We would definately stay here again if ever we went back to DR.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

A wonderful old world experience in the Colonial Zone of Santo Domingo, within easy walking distance of all the attractions. Dining in El Patio restaurant at night, with the stars above, is not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Address: Calle Las Mercedes, Esq Arzobispo Merino | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Frances invites you live a memorable experience.Their golden stone architecture and the warm inside make this Spanish residence a unique place full of history and beauty.Since XVI century it is being witness of the passage of innumerable personalities and in present time is one of the emblematic places of the Colonial City, declared Patrimony of the Humanity by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Santo Domingo
Sofitel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Frances Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.