We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for long stays...Comfortable, friendly...but inconsistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Barcelo Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Maximo Gomez-Esq 27 de Febrero, Santo Domingo 1915, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Barcelo.com rate
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for long stays...Comfortable, friendly...but inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed for 11 nights and I have learnt to like this hotel ...after an initial bad impression!
It is comfortable and friendly, although with some notable inconsistencies in quality.....The rooms are big and spacious, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is great. Love the "rain" shower. However, the furniture and fittings are very tired ... with very visible signs of wear and tear. The windows really need checking over for noise reduction ... I had to change the first room where the street noise was unbearable......
The swimming pool area is great - although being a business visitor would appreciate extending hours until dark , not only 6pm. But perfect for weekends. However, the gym is a "no go" area .... very old, aging equipment and with a general air of decay and lack of cleanliness (it´s the first gym I have ever seen with carpet on the floor !!!) This definitely needs sorting out!!
Club Premium is what makes the difference for me : as a business traveller with extended stays it is great to have this area where you can spend some of your spare time, have a drink, connect to internet, and not have to sit in your room.
Breakfast buffet is very extensive and good quality ....but some of the foods get a little past their best after sitting on the hot plate for a couple of hours. Perhaps it would be better to prepare less quantity at at once and re-plenish as needed. One thing to definitely improve is the marmalades and fruit jams ...if you like some on your toast , you can forget it. All you can get is a spoonfull of a non-descript brightly coloured sugar spread....... It should be easy to provide some small jars of fruit jams.
On my next long stay in Santo Domingo I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Choose Club Premium if you can afford it, and avoid rooms facing the main road (27 Sept Av) - loads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Santo Domingo and for taking the time to write this interesting review.

It has come a long way since the times of Restaurante Lina, the Gran Hotel Lina. Even though our facilities have been refurbished, we try our best to maintain a higher standard of services and quality in our property.

It is always interesting to hear all the suggestions that our guests have, so we can continue improving things to better serve you. All this to create value during the vacations experience of our guests, both business and leisure travelers.

Thanks again for your kind comments, and we will take note of all this.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    143
    60
    46
    32
See reviews for
75
91
45
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was treated very in this hotel, the rooms are big and very comfortable. I must mention that the sales executive "Mrs. Rosael Quezada", treated me in a very friendly and professional way and was very efficient in her work area. I highly recommend you get in contact with this person if you have to make any type of reservation or have any questions, she will fulfill any doubts you may have. Thank you Mrs. Quezada for your great attention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Rafael,

Thank you so much for visiting Barceló Santo Domingo and writing this kind review for us.

Our Sales Team works hard to reach our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when it's recognized.

Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your future reservations.

We hope to see you again.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked this hotel through Jetblue Getaways. We also read the favorable reviews on Tripadvisor and Barcelo did not disappoint.

We reserved a Club Premium Room which allowed us to have an Early Check-in and Special Club perks such as free internet usage, breakfast and dinner meals in the club room. Also a private terrace area that included lounge chairs with a hot tub. We also had our own Concierge Lucy. She was very helpful in finding our taxi person when leaving the property.

Upon check-in, when we arrived Yoel was very friendly and helpful. Luckily he spoke English and explained our check-in process.

We ate at B Delicious Buffet restaurant for lunch and breakfast. Both times it was very good. They have a made to order station and then areas for you to choose your hot and cold items. The buffet costs about $30 for 2 people. We also ate Kyoto Japanese restaurant. The ambiance and service was good. Be careful to tell of allergy issues. Food descriptions are not accurate. I ordered rice, chicken, and eggs. When it came to table it had mushrooms.

The outdoor pool was nicely appointed with 4 chairs built into the pool. The deepest depth was 4 ft. There was a bar nearby. There was also a raining water feature.

Room Tip: Reserve a Club Premium Room or higher. Choose a room on 9th floor. It is the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Treisha,

Thank you so much for choosing Barceló Santo Domingo and writing this kind review for us.

We really appreciate that you had enjoyed the food in our restaurants. Our Food and Beverage's team work hard to reach our guest's expectations. We will consider your suggestions about our food descriptions on the menu for people that suffer of different types of allergies.

Please don't hesitate to repeat your visit at Barceló Santo Domingo.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for six days (Jan 23 -29, 2013). Henry the bell hop, Helen in the hospitality room (9th floor) and Stephany T. (channel manager) were friendly, spoke English and very professional and helpful. The restaurant was reasonably priced and of excellent quality, the swimming pool was in a sunny location and the hotel is very clean. The room was very large and very clean, the bathroom was huge and very nice. The room safe and adjusting the AC were user friendly. This was our second visit to the hotel and it was nice to see the staff does not have a big turnover and the security was improved from our last visit. The small casino is a bonus. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Mr Nicolas,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Santo Domingo as your accommodation option and specially, for taking part of your time to write this amazing review for us.

Our teamwork will be happy to know they left a good impression on you and were part of the elements that made your vacations more worthwhile.

Creating these unforgettable experience for our guests is our main drive and reading their kind comments make our efforts more valuable.

Please visit us again!

Kind regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Before this Hotel was known, as Hotel Lina. Use to be the place of the refinated people from the capital. A lot politician, minister, an bussines men were the customer specially the weekend. Certainly, this place had change even his name, but still keep their good spanish cuisine, their pastery, and now also have a new Japanese Restaurant, name Kyoto, not very famous, but excellence food. The hotel keep his Casino, a good Cafeteria with Buffet everyday ( Very good prices) and their room have been refurnished. The Barcelo is a nice place in the Center of Santo Domingo, quiete and elegant, still keep a nice picture collection .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Santo Domingo and for taking the time to write this amazing review.

It has come a long way since the times of Restaurante Lina, the Gran Hotel Lina. Even though our facilities have been refurbished we try our best to maintain our culinary roots. Always keeping great variety in all our restaurants. All this to create value during the vacations experience of our guests, both business and leisure travelers.

Thanks again for your kind comments.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at Barcelo Santo Domingo last December taking advantage of a great online deal at 59€ per night incl. breakfast. I usually don't stay in large hotels like this on holiday, they make me think too much of a business trip, but it was an offer too good to refuse and I don't regret it. The room on the 4th floor was large with a big king size bed, it was very quiet. Everything was functioning very well, a quiet AC that was easy to understand. The bathroom was not very big but good with a strong shower with a door so you don't make the whole bathroom wet. Easy safe box inside the room. I had lunch buffet and diner a la carte once: buffet was ample and good, diner was excellent quality. Breakfast buffet was very good and large as well. The pool area is well maintained, very sunny, sufficient number of sunbeds available.
Negative points:
* Wifi was 12$ per day, 30$ for 4 days
* Minibar items over consumption date: as happened before in Dominican Rep. beers in minibar tend were over date. Watch out with it.
* Hotel taxi drivers are a pest: first: the rates are 4x regular Santo Domingo taxi rates, second: the driver thinks you know nothing about the city and tries to scam you into making a city-tour, trip to the beach etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Bartolomeo,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write this review for Barceló Santo Domingo. I am happy to read about your stay was well enjoyed.

We aim to make our hotel a vacationing option for both business and leisure travelers. After all Santo Domingo is a city with a a variety of leisurely activities.

Our colleagues at food & beverages will be happy to hear your kind comments on the restaurants and food variety.

Regarding the downsides, we try as much as we are able, to control the taxis outside the hotel premises and often recommend our guests to ask for a cab at front desk, to avoid any unpleasant situations. As for the minibar, I have sent the notice to the corresponding department to prevent it from happening again.

Please don`t hesitate to repeat your visit at Barceló Santo Domingo.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Love the pool, there is a playground for the kids where you can watch them play while in the pool. Great comforter bed. Staff are very friendly and helpful specially Veronica Diaz on the sale department downstairs....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Franciellis,

Thank you so much for visiting Barceló Santo Domingo with your family and writing this kind review for us.

Our Sales Team works hard to reach our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when it's recognized.

We hope to see you again and to recreate this wonderful experience and create more value during your vacations.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santo Domingo

Address: Maximo Gomez-Esq 27 de Febrero, Santo Domingo 1915, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Barcelo Hotel Lina
Hotel Lina Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.