We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just picture perfect beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia de las Aguilas

Bahia de las Aguilas
Jaragua National Park, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just picture perfect beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This must be one of the most pristine beaches in Caribbean. Unspoiled by commercialism, so far and hopefully stays that way. There's not much to say, about, just look at the pictures I attached :). Getting there might be time consuming if you're staying around Barahona, roads are just, well,... Dominican. That didn't stop us, as we had to come back and spend another day, in this paradise. Best bet is to stay in Pedernales. Bring cooler with you as there's no stands there to get a food or drinks. Once they drop you off, you're on your own till pick-up time.
As somebody already mentioned, if possible get a ride to the beach with local fishermen and not the guys at restaurant, as they tried to scam us too, out of more money that what it was agreed upon. Also you have to pay park entrance fee, which is small hut on you right, just before getting to reastaurant.

Visited March 2012
4 Thank PaloVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best View Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This beach is a true gem. I really wrestled my desire to keep it a secret. Turquoise tranquil waters and the whitest sand ever ! Speed boat was exciting and and the guides were super friendly.

Visited September 2012
2 Thank 1993_NDuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“White sandy beaches and crystal clear water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is an amazing destination. Well worth the 2+ hour drive from Barahona. Bahia de las Aguilas is an amazing 5 mile long beach with a huge bay of warm, tranquil water. When our group of four arrived, we were the only people on the entire beach. Over the next few hours, only a handful of people joined, and with 5 miles of beach, there was plenty of room to still feel like we had the whole beach to ourselves. We saw dozens of starfish, sea urchin and fish everywhere.

Be sure to bring snorkeling gear, bottled water, food and plenty of sunblock. It feels a little bit like landing on a deserted island. Keep in mind that you may be the only people on the entire beach (no bathrooms, no food vendors, little cover from the sun).

Visited May 2012
4 Thank deja43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Incredible beach, but watch your wallet with Santiago!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

At the very south of Dominican Republic, you will find probably the most beautiful and virgin beach of the whole country. It is worth the drive, and you can stay overnight in Pedernales, a little town close to this beach, which is totally safe, and we highly advise a cute small hotel called Doña Chava. (The guide Routard, or Trotamundos in Spanish, is very useful and recommendable!)
But be careful when you get to Bahia de las Aguilas: stay away from Santiago Rodriguez and his restaurant Cueva de las Aguilas and his boat service to the beach!
This guy is a charlatan whose philosophy is "take as much money from the tourist as you can" When you get to the parking, his mafia will approach you with mermaid songs and suddenly you are into his claws and it is too late. DON'T! Drive past the restaurant a few more yards and you will find the original fishermen from there, who cook real food, and have better prices to take you to the beach by boat. These men where the original inhabitants of the place, sweet people, real workers, who Santiago and his business has sunk with his lies and octopus methods: he came from nowhere a few years ago, talking of development WITH those people, and finally took over the whole business, leaving them with nothing. These people have a very basic education and cannot defend themselves, their situation touched our hearts deeply, specially when you quickly realize what kind of character this Santiago is. Hope this is helpful to all travelers: SKIP SANTIAGO AND GO STRAIGHT TO THE FISHERMEN! you will not repent.

Visited January 2012
38 Thank hotelator62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pristine beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Incredible experience. We stayed in Pedernales and went to Cabo Rojo by car. Before reaching Cabo Rojo we drove along the sea, pelicans, desert like landscapes. Then, in Cabo Rojo, we negociated a price to take us to Bahia de las Aguilas by boat. Lovely place. Caribe!!!! 15 minutes and then.... Bahia de las Aguilas!!!! 10 km of beach, just for you. Nobody else. The sand feels like satin. Excellent for snorkelling. The sea is full of all kinds of fishes.

Visited January 2011
2 Thank edhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia de las Aguilas also viewed

Barahona, Barahona Province
Barahona, Barahona Province
Dominican Republic, Caribbean

Been to Bahia de las Aguilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing