We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat and relax on Dominica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Stone Grill & Bar

Old Stone Grill & Bar
15 Castle Street, Roseau, Dominica
+1 7674407549
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Roseau
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dominica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and relax on Dominica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I ate at this nice restaurant last week. We really enjoyed it. Th menu is large and varied and the service was wonderful. We can recommend this place to all visitors and locals alike. We plan to return soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    37
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Our day guide recommended this place for authentic cuisine. I had the goat stew and my son the fish. The choices are simple, come with vegetables and some island sides. I'd rate it as average. I've had better elsewhere. The restaurant is on an alleyway but so are many here. I thought the area was ok and had a bit of atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice if you like trash cans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We asked for a smoking table. The whole place is outside and where directed to the street. The table had no table cloth the leaned on the uneven pavement it was poorly lit and of course in that position you would be a the mercy of the beggars who always come around. We walked out and will never return. I'm not spending a penny for inferior treatment and I would not sit there is the menu was half price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Walking distance from Fort Young Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Dropped in because it was convenient to Fort Young Hotel, and we wanted to explore other dining options in town. Food was excellent! Highly recommend you get out and about to find nice options like this.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“yo have to eat somewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We tried this place some 2 years ago, and had not so great memories (mediocre food).. Unfortunately our favourite Chinese restaurant closed down, and we had to go somewhere not far for a quick diner. We decided to give another chance to the Old Stone. We ordered from their "quick" menu- fish and chips. It took really a while to get it. I looked forward to my rather pricey piece of tuna (30 ec). Sadly, it came seriously overdone, dry and hard. what a waste of a fine fish. chips were ok though. we asked a waiter for a bill. he said yes, then disappeared. after a while - we asked a waitress if we can get the bill we are waiting for. she said yes - and also disappeared. in desperation I went to look for some staff, and spoke to the owner, asking if we can get the bill. three times a charm - bill was produced, but we had to wait way too long to pay. we know Dominican low ways, but it was slow even for local standards. not good if you are here to work and are in a hurry. very pleasant waitress, but seems they don't want to collect their money. takes forever. not sure if I will risk another time in this place. if food was better - maybe. but dry and hard tuna tells me they just aren't very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Stone Grill & Bar also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Old Stone Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Stone Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.