We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours

Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours
Laudat, Roseau 00109-8000, Dominica
7676159288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Activities in Roseau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature Isle Explorers offers some of the best Dominica tours, Cruise Ship excursions and hikes at the Most affordable rates. We cater for all the different visitors to Dominica…No matter who you are, we have a tour to suit your needs... What time is it? Its Exploring time !!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This tour was just plain cool. Our guides were friendly and accommodating. The snorkeling at Champagne Beach was fantastic. The river through the gorge was darn near freezing, but I'd swim it again in a heartbeat having seen the views. (My only regret here is that I didn't have a waterproof camera like the Nikon or Olympus... something that I could swim with.) The hotsprings were neat, as well.

Don't hesitate to book this tour at all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    10
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Maarten-St Martin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I booked a tour with Donaldson for May 4th. We were a group of 8 stay over Caribbean tourists. Donaldson arrived promptly at 9 at our hotel and took us on a tour into the heart of Dominica. Service was prompt and accommodating (when we had to make a couple stops to pic up essentials because our luggage didn't make it to Dominica with us). He even kept in touch with the driver of the other members of our party who'd gone hiking so we could meet up with them at the end. Great experience would definitely recommend him and Nature Isle explorers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dominica Most Captivating - Awesome Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the 'Dominica Most Captivating' guided hike with Donaldson from Nature Isle Explorers during a stop on our Celebrity Summit cruise. It was truly the highlight of our trip. Donaldson is very knowledgable about his country, and entertained us the entire with knowledge of Dominica the entire trip. He also packs a cooler with both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks (make sure you try the Kabuli beer from Dominica), makes various stops at scenic overviews for pictures, adjusts the pace of the hikes to the abilities of those in your guided group, and ensures your safety by providing flotation devices at Ti Tou Gorge.

Be warned, the hike to Middleham Falls is a very strenuous hike over rough uneven terrain (think tree roots, rocks, wet, muddy ground, lots of up and down). You'll be trying to balance yourself the entire way. It takes about 1:30 to 1:45 total time if you are an experienced hiker. I would not recommend it if you have trouble getting around, or have small children.

Trafalger Falls was a very easy, well-paved hike with lots of people around. Good photo opportunity and in a nice residential area, but in comparison to the Middleham Falls hike, it was not worth the trip if you can only do one or the other. Trafalger Falls is a good alternative if you have trouble with strenuous hikes, or are traveling with small children and want to see neat waterfalls.

The Botanical Gardens portion of this day is not a highlight, and not worth the extra trip if you are running low on time.

Ti Tou Gorge is busy, and like everyone says, probably some of the coldest water you will ever willingly get into. The short 10 minute hike to the Gorge is relatively easy, and there is a place to sit at the site. Inside the gorge, the current is very strong and could push under even the most experienced swimmer. There is a small shallow natural pool at the entrance of the gorge if you don't want to swim inside where the current is strong and it is deeper water.

Overall, we had a wonderful tour with NIE Tours, and would highly recommend them to anyone visiting Dominica.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Elvis is Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We choose this tour based on the reviews on Trip advisor and it was great! We had the best tour guide, Elvis. He was fun, informative, and knowledgeable. I am not sure if you can request him, but if you can I would defiantly recommend to. In between our stops he would pull off the road and show us some of the plants they use to make the spices. While at the destinations, he would keep us informed but not bored. Best tour I have ever been on, HANDS DOWN!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dominica most captivating tour! Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This tour was fantastic. Alvin was a great guide. The Dominica most captivating tour takes you to middleham falls, titou gorge, and trafalgar falls. They company does other tours as well, but my husband and I wanted a tour of Dominica that was outside the box, and we got exactly what we wanted! The hike to middleham falls is difficult - not for the faint of heart. But, the reward at the end is well worth the hard work to get there! Whatever activity level you desire in Dominica, definitely check out Nature Isle Explorers! They're amazing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.