We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Young Hotel to your Saves list
Fort Young Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter/Fall Special
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location for business traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel Last weekend en route to another country. Booking the reservation with Viviana was delightful and her response time to any of my queries was prompt. Staff at check in were very pleasant. The food at Pallisades restaurant was good and the wait staff excellent. The entire weekend was splendid. On booking transport back to the airport the nice lady at Khatts (on site tour desk) went as far as to help me source nail polish remover on a Sunday when the stores around town were closed. Special thanks to bellman Keith and the entire front desk team! I felt quite at home.

Room Tip: Best views are the seaside rooms in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    184
    51
    23
    9
See reviews for
57
161
28
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseau, Dominica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently visited the Fort Young Hotel - The Key to Dominica, along with my lecturer and Tourism and Travel Agency Management classmates and we were at awe by the level of professionalism of the Sales Assistant Miss Ashma Chaseau. Miss Chaseau was very informative and pleasant. She sold the hotel in a matter of minutes to us and I personally would like to encourage persons to come to Dominica and visit the Fort Young Hotel. Their mission statement covers not only guest and profit but employees well being as well. A number of services are being offered to guest and locals a like at great prices. The most enticing package to me was the wedding package. Book that date today or check them out on facebook or twitter. Thank you Miss Chaseau!!!

Room Tip: ocean suits for the romance seekers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville,fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good staff, nice rooms and balconies! Beautiful suite with decent prices.
Expensive buffet breakfast. Decent restaurant. Has pool and small gym.right on the water, awesome sunsets. Great location near most major attractions.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room that's not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I absolutely loved this place - try to get a room near the pool looking out onto the ocean. Everything was top notch and the property is very peaceful yet a two minute walk from all of the (admittedly limited) nightlife in Roseau. If you stay be sure also to check out "Reggae Bar" located just across the street from the hotel which has great drinks, great curry and of course great music. Also be sure to check out the history of the hotel - fascinating

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fort Royal was recommended to me by a work colleague living on island. I decided on the spur of the moment to take a trip to Dominica on my own, and this was a wonderful base from which to get to the major attractions.

Loved that the hotel's driver Martin,was waiting for me at the airport and gave me the most cheerful welcome I've ever received. Loved the hotel's location. It was easy for me from the first day to walk around Roseau and easily find my way back. Being able to walk around comfortably without having to rely on transportation is important to me. Loved the room which was an ocean view, and from its proximity to the water, sitting on the balcony made you feel like being on a sailboat. I could also see all along the coast, spectacular especially at night. Loved the service. Most of the meals I had were in the open air bar / lounge area. The barmen & barwoman were genuinely gracious. But really everyone was like this from Front Desk to management. The quiet presencr of Marvlyn, the hotel manager, was visible even on weekends.

Initially, I had planned to split my 10-day stay between two hotels, but I loved this one so much that
I returned after two days. It felt like returning to family.

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fort Young Hotel is an amazing resort and has played a gracious host to the Nature Island Challenge for the past two years. We have had a wonderful experience working with the Fort Young Hotel and accommodations have been fantastic. We thoroughly look forward to coming back in a few days for round three!!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong. Oceanside location is first-class and opening your hotel door for the first tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi

It is always a pleasure to host the Nature Island Challenge participants and organizers. It is really interesting to discover and speak to all the teams about their impressions of the Nature Island.

We are quite happy to be the home away from home for the teams and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Marvlyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My business trip to Dominica was wonderful, due in great part to the staff at Fort Young Hotel. They arranged for my airport pick-up, a driver for my business meetings and then a driver for a few hours of exploration, which isn't nearly enough time to explore even a piece of the island. The restaurant and its staff were delightful, and the special cook-out at the bar one evening was great. I am already working on plans to visit again with my family and I am sure Camisha and the Fort Young Staff will be there to help!

Thanks so much.

Patrick

Room Tip: I loved the rooms south side of the building; they are on top of the water and you can fall asleep t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi

We thank you for having chosen the Fort Young Hotel as your choice of accommodation during your business trip to Dominica. We are pleased that we are able to meet and exceed your expectations and thank you for your feedback.

Our number one priority is to ensure that our guests are happy and that they enjoy their experience with us. And as our tagline says “We are the Key to Dominica” and so we aim to always give our guests the opportunity to discover what Dominica has to offer using the Fort Young Hotel as the Hub.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Marvlyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Young Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Young Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.