We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and the best in Roseau but a littel dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Young Hotel to your Saves list
Fort Young Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Noida, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and the best in Roseau but a littel dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Good people, food was ok rooms were comfortable. Looks dated but I guess that's the bottom line as it is supposed to give you that old fortish look. Well will stay here again on the next holiday :) There are a couple of good restaurants nearby for good food as well.

Room Tip: Insist on the ocean facing rooms. good view from balcony and very quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Sid

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a good experience during your stay. Yes indeed the Fort Young was built on and around an old Fort, part of what makes the hotel unique. The Fort has always played a pivotal role in Dominica's history starting with a wooden barricade on a edge of cliff built to protect the Island, to a Police Station and now the Fort Young Hotel.

We are proud to be able to provide modern amenities and still maintain our old world charm. The section that you stayed at is part of the original buildings of the hotel and the rooms are quaint and small but with a special charm all equipped with the same modern amenities like the other room categories.

So whether one stays at the Fort rooms or Oceanfront Rooms, the legacy of the Fort will add a new dimension to your experience with us.


We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Marvlyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    160
    49
    22
    9
See reviews for
51
141
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile


Very friendly and accommodating staff! Viviana at the front desk was very helpful, ordering pizza one night for our group of 7 , and gave us great directions for getting around town. Sonia set up our land tours, and made sure we had towels and a cooler for refreshments! Food was really good and Albert was an amazingly attentive waiter. Convenient pick up at the dock for diving with dive dominica. Ocean view rooms were very nice, spacious and very clean. Such a neat venue for a resort!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Customer service is still a new concept in many places in Dominica but Fort Young has it in the bag! This place is wonderful. I've stayed here with friends over a week and with my husband over a weekend. The staff is friendly and helpful and fun. The breakfast is fabulous. The view is fabulous. Its a hotel, not a resort but its close to it. They arrange trips with you, they have a gorgeous pool thats right on the water... goodness. And its so clean and well kept! If you've ever been to a Caribbean hotel you know that thats not always the case!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer addition rooms over the water with the double beds/darker wood furniture. :) Oh an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed Fort Young for a week for our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful with gorgeous views of the Caribbean Sea. The room was clean, air conditioned, and spacious. We were fortunate enough to get one of the rooms with a wrap around porch, so we spent time everyday just taking it all in. You can walk just about anywhere in Roseau from the hotel. We used the activities desk, the pool, and two restaurants. We couldn't have asked for better service. Everyone is helpful whether its helping to get a taxi, directions to a specific spot, recommendations for a restaurant, or renting a scooter - they are there for you. After visiting much of the island, I would say this is the best hotel choice. If we ever return to Dominica, we will stay at Fort Young.

Room Tip: Many corner suites have wrap around decks. The hotel is very clean, my bet is all of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed at Fort Young while in Dominica on a business trip. At the recommendation of a local colleague, I stayed in a Deluxe Oceanfront room. These are, apparently, newer rooms. The room was very large and clean. My first day of work, needing to get to a meeting, I went to the front desk to get a taxi. A couple minutes later, a lady from the hotel appeared and stated that they could not get a taxi and she would take me where I needed to go. I saw her several more times throughout my stay and she always greeted me and asked how everything was, and did so with a smile.

The main restaurant serves a decent variety of food. The food is satisfactory, but not what I would call excellent, and I found it to be quite over priced for the quality. Service in the main restaurant was generally excellent. This was especially true when Talia was working.

One night, I went to the lower restaurant, looking forward to some grilled options (ie. grilled shrimp skewers, etc) and was sorely disappointed in the service in that restaurant. I sat at the table for a long time, and a server passed me 4 times (2 round trips) and never spoke a single word to me...not to ask if I was waiting on more people, for a drink, nothing. After the second trip past me, I got up to leave and approached her just to let her know that it did not go unnoticed that her service was very lacking, at which time she told me she did not see me sitting there. This was the only poor experience I had at the hotel.

I did not use the pool, but did walk over to it. It seems nice, overlooking the sea, but it did seem quite small. The hotel is located right in front of where the cruise ships dock. There were no cruise ships the week I was here, so I can't comment on how the aspect would affect one's stay. It does appear that the ship would definitely block the view from the room(s), at least from the lower rooms.

Overall, I found this to be a very nice property. In my opinion, they are pretty aware that they are the front runner as far as choice of accommodations in Dominica...or at least Roseau...and their prices reflect that. Nice and comfortable as the room was, I don't think it was worth $250/night, but I would not have stayed at any of the other hotels I saw in Roseau.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

In a nutshell, very good and friendly service, very comfortable room (we stayed in a suite), its right on the sea, and half the hotel is the old English fort from Colonial days ! Roseau is a colourful little bustling town, easy to get around, and from here you have an easy drive to many natural attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great location, great and friendly staff, easily the best hotel in Roseau and probably on the island. Superb view of the sea from our room (#409) from floor to ceiling windows, and it had a balcony on which one could sit and stargaze, enjoy a drink, read, etc. Inifinity pool, great bar, dive boat comes right to the hotel. Many local trips to discover the island could be arranged right on site. In room coffee and robes. Large luxurious bathroom. The security guards were even terrific and friendly, especially Elvis, who personally escorted us to the front desk when we arrived, and with Andre, gave us breakfast, lunch and dinner recommendations - after first, of course, recommending the hotel! Great wait staff at the bar also, especially, Dominic and Chrsitina. And the music duo Friday night were two terrific musicians with great, complementary voices, and they played a wide variety of styles. A great place!

Room Tip: We were in 409. It was large, clean, fabulous, with a great view of the sea from floor to ceiling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Young Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Young Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.