We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place In Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langestraat 8 | Curacao, Willemstad 33328, Curacao (Formerly Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Place In Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Kura Hullanda has two locations. We were first-time visitors to Curacao so split our stay between this in-town location and the beach location. I fondly recall the sugar birds swooping down at breakfast in their lovely courtyard. This location gave us a chance to explore Willemstad which we really enjoyed. The on-site restaurants and museum are excellent and we found the room ample. The service is excellent with one unfortunate footnote. Unfortunately I got sickso the Hotel promptly called their preferred doctor for me. He came promptly and did the exam in my room. Unfortunately he did not believe in modern medicine and tried to sell me high-priced supplements that worked better than normal medicine, claiming he had a special arrangement with the manufacturer. Bottom line = this is a wonderful place but don't get sick. If you do, don't use their doctor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constant_Discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Constant_Discovery,
We took notice of your review and that you have stayed at the hotel in June 2013. As you may know the hotel is under new management since January 2014. We thank you for sharing your review with us and our future costumers and we trust that in the future we can welcome you at our hotel again.
Warm Regards
JB

Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June/2013. We spent about 5 days there, and while it was really charming, it was not comfortable enough. They are houses converted into hotels, so it feels you are staying in a historical place. Location wise, it is very close to the city center, in a neighborhood called otrobanda. The pool was nice enough, albeit a bit smallish. Regarding the room, we got a classic colony themed room, with a small patio shared with another room. Wifi was weak. The downside: watchout for mosquitoes. There were quite a handful and the staff could not help. I'll definetely stay at the renaissance next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Cwang22

We read you review and took note that you stayed at our property last year June 2013. I take this opportunity to share with you that recently the hotel as re-opened and now under a new management, GHL GRUPO HOTELES S.C.A. It is now officially announced that GHL Hoteles has signed a 10-years management agreement with the ownership of the Kura Hulanda Hotels. GHL Hoteles is an international multi-brand hotel chain with more than 55 properties within its portfolio and works with brands that include Sonesta Hotels & Resorts, Wyndham Hotels, Sheraton, Novotel. Hilton garden Inn and others, as well as with its own brands.

In the coming months upgrading of the property both in the rooms and food & beverage outlets will take place to meet the high branding standards of GHL Hoteles in order to have us flagged Sonesta by summer of 2014 and renamed it Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa.

GHL long-term partner, the famous Latin-American Chef Jorge Rausch, joined the project and will contribute in enhancing our food and beverage operations to a new gastronomic experience. From our fine dining restaurant Astrolab by Rausch (opening in Summer 2014) featuring mouthwatering classic seafood specialties to our casual alfresco Jacob’s Restaurant on the Square Village, your clients will be able to enjoy the blend in Caribbean and the Hermanos Rausch cuisine. With these gastronomic facilities we are sure to deliver real memorable moments to all our guests.

Our Spa is opening its doors around May 15th to give with full service Spa treatments and facilities. Fitness, Sauna and Steam-room are free of charge for all our in-house guests.

We trust that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and if you need any additional information of should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at jeanette.bonet@ghlhoteles.com or our Front Office Manager Tamiko at tamiko.torres@ghlhoteles.com

Warm regards
JB
Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We were in Curacao for a couple of days and got to Kura Hullanda due to a friends recommendation. The resort has a lot of history to it which you can see when you are going around the property. The best thing about this place is it proximity to the Main Street if you want to buy groceries or go to the other side Punda. Very friendly staff 5 star to them specially Daryl the bell boy, Tamiko and Diana at front desk. They go out of their way to help you and make you comfortable. I say this since we were with our infant daughter and they helped us with anything we required. The rooms do need an upgrade though since they look dated specially as the place is not cheap. Keep up the good work!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Sam P,
First of all we thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation and for sharing a review with our future costumers, the tripadvisor readers. I am happy to learn that our staff at the reception were very friendly and that they went all out their way to make your staff comfortable.

I want to take this opportunity to share with you and all our readers the future plans we have for the hotel. As you may know we as re-opened the hotel recently and GHL GRUPO HOTELES S.C.A officially announced to have signed a 10-years management agreement with the ownership of the Kura Hulanda Hotels. GHL Hoteles is an international multi-brand hotel chain with more than 55 properties within its portfolio and works with brands that include Sonesta Hotels & Resorts, Wyndham Hotels, Sheraton, Novotel. Hilton garden Inn and others, as well as with its own brands.

In the coming months upgrading of the property both in the rooms and food & beverage outlets will take place to meet the high branding standards of GHL Hoteles in order to have us flagged Sonesta by summer of 2014 and renamed them Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa.

GHL long-term partner, the famous Latin-American Chef Jorge Rausch, joined the project and will contribute in enhancing our food and beverage operations to a new gastronomic experience. From our fine dining restaurant Astrolab by Rausch (opening in Summer 2014) featuring mouthwatering classic seafood specialties to our casual alfresco Jacob’s Restaurant on the Square Village, your clients will be able to enjoy the blend in Caribbean and the Hermanos Rausch cuisine. With these gastronomic facilities we are sure to deliver real memorable moments to all our guests.

Our Spa is opening its doors around May 15th to give with full service Spa treatments and facilities. Fitness, Sauna and Steam-room are free of charge for all our in-house guests.

We trust that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and if you need any additional information of should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at jeanette.bonet@ghlhoteles.com or Tamiko at tamiko.torres@ghlhoteles.com

Warm regards
JB
Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.2 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
1.9 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 30 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa

Address: Langestraat 8 | Curacao, Willemstad 33328, Curacao (Formerly Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#8 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique village experience. The 4 star Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa, GHL Hotel offers a boutique village experience in the center of Willemstad, the island's capitol city, 20 minutes from the airport and walking distance to prime shopping, diverse cuisine, nightlife and more. Spread over an eight-block area, the resort village includes two pools, restaurants and bars, shops, a world-acclaimed museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Hotel & Spa Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing