We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Marco Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
San Marco Hotel and Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Columbusstraat 7, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great deal for location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Second time staying there and I truly enjoyed it. Right in the middle of the historical town, San Marco hotel fits right in with a bit of its old world esthetics to add to Punda. Would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    41
    18
    16
See reviews for
29
44
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nothing fancy about the place. All I needed though was a place to sleep as I went to the beach or scuba diving during the day. No point wasting big bucks on a fancy hotel if all I'm going to do is sleep there. It's close to high end shopping and lots of restaurants. The staff were decent enough. The only odd thing though was that when I was packing for my departure I found a pair of ladies panties on the top shelf of the closet. I always do a thorough room check prior to leaving. I hadn't had any company and they certainly weren't mine. They took a night of my bill.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here overnight on my way to Bonaire. The room was clean, the sheets were also clean but dingy. Wake up call was on time and the staff were friendly. The price was about the best I could find. Taxi service from and to the airport was seriously pricy though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pereira, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very friendly staff, good view in our room, it's very central.. nice to spend some days in curacao... the only issue is that there's no beach close to the hotel, but it'll be the same with any hotel located in the town center.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with bad wifi signal.. try to pick one room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had the unfortunate experience of staying here for one night on business. This is far and above the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Upon checking in and seeing the room I requested another one straight away, the woman behind the desk didn't seem impressed, made no attempt to apologise and barely communicated, it was like speaking to a brick wall. I think the room they moved me to was actually worse than the original one but I then realised it was a lost cause.

The room was small, dated, old and very dirty. The view from the window was of a dirty alleyway, the curtains were kept closed to hide this. There were only 2 light bulbs throughout the room and bathroom that actually worked, hope you don't mind showering in the dark!

As I was very tired I thought "at least I have a bed and can get a good night sleep"... how wrong was I! The bed was rock solid, would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor. As I wasn't flying home until the afternoon I had planned a long lie, the housekeepers made sure this wouldn't happen though as they began shouting to one and other at around 8am, and when I say shouting I literally mean shouting. Once the shouting had stopped they began singing just to make sure you couldn't get back to sleep.

Also the wifi doesn't work in your room, you have to go to reception to get connected. The breakfast was terrible, don't even bother going.

This hotel isn't worth $5 a night, never mind $55... I would not stay here again even if someone paid me, do yourself a favour and pay a bit more and go somewhere decent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
142 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Please do not believe this photo on tripadvisor=this is why I have chosen this hotel.
First of all
I was so surprised that I was charged more than normal price because I have booked through Booking.com.
It as only 4.4$ but ( I wonder is this what they pay for booking.com aha aha and this hotel do not want to lose 2.2$ ) I was surprised.
I asked why I need to pay more than normal?
The answer was '' Because you used booking.com''

Internet was slow and not always going in my room...I asked why and the answer was
'' Problem!" no sorry nor no excuse... and they did not tell me when I can use it.and even in the robby for half day there was no internet.
Waitress and reception lady was one of the rudest workers I have ever seen in hotel business.

Very very old dirty building ...My room was rather clean but the fridge was not clean.
With this price ( says 85$ for single on sign board but I payed 174.4 for 2 nights thanks to Booking.com== actually I like booking.com and I always use it..I know this problem was not because of booking.com. The same problem happened in Punta cana (Dominican) too.

I would say this is Caribbean mentality problem.
They pay little money for Booking.com and they charge it on us guests without hiding the price cards. I have been using booking.com for about 50times all over the world and this has happened only in Caribbean countries and in Romania.
Absolutely no service and bad attitude . except for cleaning ladies = they were rather nice.

Room Tip: Never use booking company...but before that please do not choose this hotel. If you have to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went to Willemstad for 10 days and i had a great time staying at San Marco. The staff is friendly and the location of the hotel is superb. The hotel is in budget. The room is good and i enjoyed my time there. If you want to visit Curacao and staying in the city, punda of course, please take the San Marco. Vanisha.

Room Tip: Take a room at the fifth floor. Room 503
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ritz Studios
The Ritz Studios
#12 of 29 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#23 of 29 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
WAVE Hotel & Cafe
WAVE Hotel & Cafe
#21 of 29 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel and Casino

Address: Columbusstraat 7, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Marco Hotel and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marco Hotel has been recently renovated to satisfy our guests that come to experience the beautiful island of Curacao, especially the ones who come to shop or admire the stunning historical buildings located near our hotel in the middle of the city. Our hotel consists of 80 rooms all with private bath, central air-conditioning, cable T.V. with more than 40 channels and FREE wireless Internet in every area of the Hotel.Downtown casino located of the ground floor of the San Marco building has also been remodeled and has more than 200 machines, roulette, poker and black jack tables and with happy hours and prizes given each week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your San Marco Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel Willemstad
San Marco Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marco Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.