We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like your house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BijBlauw

Save Saved
You added BijBlauw to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BijBlauw
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pietermaai 82-84, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Willemstad
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like your house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

All staff are extremelly kind and provide us all attention. The rooms are confortables with excelent beds. The restaurant is also excelent! Try the tenderloin! The location is also a point to be considered as the hotel is located near every points of Willemstad as the central market, restaurants and souvenir stores and from de dolphin academy. Therefore you can enjoy Willemstad, including punda and otrabanda walking around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kralendijk, Bonaire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent hotel, great location with restaurant on the seaside. Close to the Punda district of Willemstad. The Pietermaai district itself is being renovated - BijBlauw is an excellent example, and an attraction in itself. But what made our (unfortunately short) stay especially memorable were the hospitality of the staff and owners and an outstanding restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at BijBlauw from May 1st for 2 nights. The hotel is located in the Pietermaai district which is walking distance from Punda & Otrabanda (City Centre). We walked everywhere and you don't need a car if you want to stay close to town. The room was very nice and clean (Cozy Small 6) and surely wasn't small. The bed was very good and the rain-shower in the bathroom is great. All staff were very friendly and helpfull with all our questions. We would certainly recommend staying at BijBlauw!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon,usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I happened on BijBlauw quite by accident, and glad I was. A Boutique Hotel doesn't do it justice. Greeted by a Dutch diva with bountiful smile I immediately felt at home. Melissa gave me great directions for activities such as sailing, the BEACH and directed me to the LODGE DIVE RESORT where I found camaraderie and dive partners to explore the island with. The hotel was very comfortable and recently upgraded. Natural teak abounded along with great artwork. The owners offer a night out for couples and give their children a lovely room full of crafts, guidance, food and fun. That was the ultimate feel, that this was a family hotel--quaint, nice, friendly, quiet, right on the water and affordable. I loved my stay here and when I return I hope to be greeted by another beautiful and friendly smile that will say, welcome home, we've awaited your return! I can't say enough good things about this remarkable place and its personnel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed staying here. The small cosy room was indeed small, but the bathroom was very large. The best part of staying here is that it is within a short walk from the best restaurants and from Punda. The view from their restaurant is amazing too. Other reviewers mentioned that it could be noisy because of the restaurant, but I found that the noise level (at least from cosy room #8) was not that bad, we just turned the air conditioning on and blocked most of the noise ;). The only thing I would suggest is to have a shelf or something to put shampoo and soap in the shower. The staff was friendly and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

we booked the suite with the big terrace. when you live in the mountains, a waking up and seeing the sea is amazing. the restaurant serves tasty food, we tried it first night.

we are early sleepers, so the noise from the restaurant might be disturbing.
the shower has no curtain, so the whole floor might get wet, i informed the owners about that fact, maybe they will find a solution.
no doormats when you enter the room from the terrace you bring in dust. the dark wooden floor in the room shows your footsteps, a floormat would be helpful or, leave your shoes outside...
the aircon could have been placed where the ventilators are, so the cold air would be pushed down first.

all in all a cozy boutique hotel, friendly owners and staff. it is located approximately 10 minutes walking distance from punda. you find plenty of bars and restos on the pietermaai street. but watch out for the cars, i made the experience that the curaçao people are little michael schumachers. the whole island is a racing track.

returning to curaçao will probably lead me to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Fantastic hotel, located in two recently renovated small buildings at the seaside of Pietermaai and only 10 minutes walking distance away from Punda.
Very enthusiastic, friendly and attentive crew.
The room is clean, complete and offers all you need after an exciting day in the sun: lush dubble bed, rich shower in stylish bathroom, TV, airco and fan. Valuables can be stored in your own locker in your room. There's also free WIFI available.
The terrace offers a spectacular sea view, with waves breaking gently while having breakfast or an evening drink. The inhouse kitchen, located at the terrace serves excelent food.
Staying at BijBlauw has definitly contributed to an unforgettable stay at Curacao.
I found the pricing most reasonably. If you want to omit the larger hotels for your stay, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BijBlauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BijBlauw

Address: Pietermaai 82-84, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BijBlauw 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BijBlauw is a stylish boutique hotel located in Pietermaai, one of the liveliest districts of Willemstad where you walk within 10 minutes to downtown. Its perfect location overlooking the Caribbean Ocean, the unique hotel rooms, the fashion store for girls and women and the dining experience at the restaurant ensure maximum enjoyment on Curacao. Let us astound you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your BijBlauw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BijBlauw Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BijBlauw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.