We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mustique Suites Curacao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mustique Suites Curacao to your Saves list
Mustique Suites Curacao
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Roodeweg 128, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great staff and good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel close to the town centre, about 20min. walking. There are a very limited number shops in the vicinity, so whatever you need, make sure you get them from a market or supermarket, either in town or around the city, otherwise you'll probably not find anything to help in this respect. The hotel reception is open at day time only, but the staff is very kind and ready to help you on most things you need. Our room was large and had quiet and great air-conditioning which was more than suitable for the hot days we got in Curaçao. It's definitely a great option and good value for money. I'll certainly stay there again if I have the chance. Nice accommodation in a quiet area of Curaçao.

Room Tip: A car is not really essential to get to know the island. You can use the mini-buses and some options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
23
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Staying at Mustique Suites provided us with the authentic Curacao experience we were looking for. It's right in the middle of the Carnival parade, in a place where the people who live here shop and go about their normal lives. We loved that it was different from a typical "resort setting" that could be in any country. The owner, Kwame, was around the whole time and so incredibly willing to make sure we got anywhere on the island we wanted to go, sometimes actually taking us himself. It's homey, welcoming, and felt very safe. For anyone who is adventurous in their travels and wants to experience what a place is truly like, this is the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: there aren't a lot of rooms to choose from, it's a small place which is part of the charm, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krwallace, Owner at Mustique Suites Curacao, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Mustique Suites Curacao for your recent stay in Willemstad. We also want to thank you for giving us your feedback about our accommodation. I had a nice time with you.

regards

karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We chose this property based on the sterling ratings from Tripadvisor, but found that the reality didn't measure up.

First the positives. The owner, Kwame, and his wife were outstanding, really committed to making sure their guests had a positive experience. The room itself was spotlessly clean, and the daily housekeeping was thorough and professional.

The neighborhood is a working class area, with little to interest tourists. There are several very local bars, an excellent Surinamese restaurant, and a grocery store within walking distance. It is about a 20 minute walk into downtown Willemstad. The property looks like any other house on the street, and it took us a couple of trips up and down the street to find it. There is quite a bit of traffic during the day, but it dies down at night and noise was never a problem.

Security of the hotel is strong. You have to do a bit of a dance to enter or exit, unlocking at least two security doors, and then relocking them behind you. We felt comfortable walking around during the day and evening, less so at night.

There were, unfortunately, also some negatives. We selected a Deluxe room because it was advertised as having a Kitchenette. When we arrived, we found the room was not equipped to prepare or serve a meal, or to clean up after cooking. There was no stovetop or coffeepot. Tableware consisted of a single spoon. No plates or glasses, and only one coffee mug. Cold water only in the sink, and no stopper.

Kwame really hustled to try and make things right when we pointed out the problem. He managed to find us a well-used hot plate and a coffee pot, a few pieces of tableware, a second coffee mug, and a couple of mis-matched plates. So we were able to cook, in the end, after a fashion.

The bathroom also had cold water only in the sink. Fortunately, the shower had hot water, but there was no way to adjust the temperature. It was mostly OK, but occasionally uncomfortably warm.

The room seemed spacious, until you realized how sparsely furnished it was. No bedstands, no dresser, no table. There was a tall cabinet between the beds that contained a safe and a few hangers. However, there was no rod in the cabinet, and therefore no way to hang up clothing.

Kwame is really trying hard to make this an appealing property, but we think he needs to resolve some of these problems if he wants to attract customers from the US or Europe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krwallace, Owner at Mustique Suites Curacao, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear David

Thank you for choosing Mustique Suites Curacao for your recent stay in Willemstad. We also want to thank you for giving us your feedback about our accommodation. We took your recommendations into serious consideration in order to improve our services.

For better visibility of the building we put up a sign with the name Mustique Suites Curacao. In order to hang up your close we put up a big rod. Upon request cooking stove, coffee pot , pans, plates glasses and other kitchen utensils can be acquired. We also put a table in the room. You can see in our picture gallery the changes we made.

The hot water in the shower can easily be adjusted by two buttons on the water heater : cold medium, hot. Within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel you can find a lot of attractions like a beach, museums, historical buildings. Otrobanda is a UNESCO world heritage site and full of interesting architecture.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Mustique Suites Curacao the next time you're in Willemstad.

Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracay, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

we had a great time in Curacao while staying at Mustique, the best of it was the hosts, they made everything in their hands to make our stay better, they help us to find a car rental, and much more... it was a clean room with fridge, tv and private bathroom(the first day we had an issue with the bathroom sink, but it was repaired the day after), there's free wifi every where, and they offer an airport shuttle for a cheaper price than a taxi, the location is nice also...

it's a very good option to stay in Curacao

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord, Aruba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had an amazing time in Curacao and surely staying in your appartement was part of it.
Very very nice owner and very good service.
The room was clean and cozy. Location is superb, very close to the city center and easy acceseble. We are glad we choose to stay at Mustique suites Curacao.
Thank you for giving us a very pleasant stay!!
N&F

Room Tip: Read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My stay (one week) at Mustique has been very pleasant. The hotel is very clean, the hosts are friendly and most important facilities are there, such as wifi. The street was somewhat noisy, but did not bother me too much. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week and it was great! The room was nice and clean, with fan, fridge and a private bathroom. The price was reasonable. The owners gave us a quick tour of the town and were very helpful. They provided us with all the information that we needed. The location is brilliant, we could walk everywhere.

We are going back next year. We recommend this place to everybody, who likes comfort, good price, friendly and funny staff.

Kwami is the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.3 mi away
The Ritz Studios
The Ritz Studios
#12 of 29 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#17 of 29 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
1.6 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
0.0 mi away
B&B Blenchi
B&B Blenchi
#1 of 1 in Barber
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mustique Suites Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mustique Suites Curacao

Address: Roodeweg 128, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mustique Suites Curacao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mustique Suites Curaçao is centrally located in the district of Willemstad. With a busstop in front of the building with connections to all majors beaches(Kenepa, Lagun, Playa Kalki etc) as well as many attractions of the island (Shete Boka, Hato caves , Curacao national park) our hotel is a very convenient place to stay. All our rooms are equipped with beds with high quality mattresses, air conditioning, flat screen cable tv’s (with American, Spanish, German and Dutch channels), refrigerator and bathrooms with hot water. There's also free Wi-Fi throughout the whole building and free parking. The deluxe room and the apartment have a full functional kitchen.Our customers praise us for our clean rooms and excellent customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mustique Suites Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mustique Suites Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustique Suites Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.