We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jan Kok Lodges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jan Kok Lodges to your Saves list
Jan Kok Lodges
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jan Kok 51, Willemstad 0000 XC, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Frederieke and Jeroen are wonderful hosts. When we arrived they were already at the airport greeting us warmly so we felt welcome from the very first minute. We had planned to stay two weeks but we liked it so much, we extended our stay for one more week. During this time we tried 3 different apartments: two different two-room apartments and one studio. The studio is smaller but the furniture was very nice and cleverly took advantage of the reduced space. We liked the remote controlled fan and lighting especially. The only inconvenience we had in the studio was an ant problem. As the kitchen is so close to the door you can't leave anything foodlike outside of the fridge as ants will literally carry it off. But that's to be expected being a tropical island and all.

The other apartments were also nicely furnitured, although less fancy than the studio. All apartments feature very relaxing terraces, that quickly became our favorite spots, as there always blowing a nice breeze in Curaçao. Although we had air-conditioning we rarely used it because of the nice breeze that always makes you feel comfortable. Often you'll see a hummingbird flit by and always there'll be lots of colorful trupial birds to watch (and listen, as they sing very beautifully).

The view of the landscape is gorgeous because the apartments are situated on a small hill. You can see the flamingo salines and sunsets are breathtakingly beautiful. Most of the tables, terraces and cushioned wind-shelters are built by Jeroen himself who does an incredible job! Both our hosts were always ready to help when we had questions or special requests.

Laundry service is available and very quick; apartments get cleaned at least once a week, which is very nice. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool because those sun chairs are so incredibly comfortable.

Jan Kok Lodges is very conveniently situated on the island of Curaçao. Because it is just about in the geographic center you are very close to the most beautiful beaches of the island (Banda Abou) and also very close to the cultural highlights of Wilhelmstad.

Frederieke and Jeroen offer reasonably priced cars for rent and you should definitely take the offer, because without a car you won't be able to see much. We had a Great Wall Florid which was a nice ride, although we pushed it close to its limit going on dirt roads and steep slopes.

We can recommend Jan Kok Lodges absolutely and are looking forward to return one day. Thank you very much Frederieke and Jeroen!

Room Tip: Apartments looking south have a slightly better view and are closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a great holiday at Jan Kok Lodges. Apartment is very, very nice, clean, equiped with all you need. Comfortable beds, good kitchen, very tastfull decorated. Beautiful garden, swimmingpool with great loungebeds, also perfect stay for our (young) kids. Acco is located very central on the island, close to best beaches, restaurants and Willemstad you reach within 15 minuten. You do need a car - can be arranged by Jan Kok Lodges for very friendly price. Also very handy: owners pick you up from airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here while visiting Curacao and it's definitely a bit far away from the city which is nice because that's exactly what I wanted. The owners are very helpful, friendly and accomodating to make my stay pleasant. Since all my electronics were 110 V they hooked me up with an adapter and extension cord. I remember getting lost while trying to get here but I was lucky to find it eventually. As far as amenities wise, it's very peaceful quiet and clean. It was a nice homely feel. The beds provide excellent sleep quality, internet was nice, great breeze and friendly residents. I recall a couple next to me from Europe and were very friendly to speak to. It was nice kinda like a community within a lodge atmosphere. They do provide rental cars at a nominal rate and overall everything was wonderful. The service is exceptional, value is top notch, super clean, location is close to all the beaches and small shops for the essentials provided you know where to look, and rooms were pretty good....no complaints at all!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at Jan Kok during our honeymoon. The place was nicely located away from any noise, and there was a pleasant breeze. The owners are extremely nice and helpful, and the accommodations were great. All the amenities we could ask for were present in the kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and living room, with a nice patio with lots of comfortable furniture. The lodge is conveniently located near good restaurants, beaches, Mt. Christoffel National Park, gas and a supermarket. A car is a must around here. When the beaches were too crowded and noisy, their pool was a nice place to relax at. Be forewarned that there are mosquitos. The lodge provides mosquito netting. Also, on Curaçao (not only at Jan Kok) A/C is extra, and it does get hot at night, and turning on the A/C is a desirable thought. That is an out of pocket expense though. Everything else about the place was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very quiet area of Curacao.
5-10 minutes driving distance to beaches.
Local shopping is very poor. About 15 min driving to a normal super market.
Friendly people.
Nice, clean, small unit.
Reasonable rate.
Renting a car is a must.

We were unlucky to encounter some issues:
Swimming pool leaked ( fixed after a couple of days), cockroaches in kitchen (we changed to another room), ants in some towels (replaced but it was a bit shocking to have ants crawling on hair and body).

Room Tip: 1 room unit is very small. Better to request a bigger unit (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in Jan Kok Lodges 8 nights, we got upgrade to a bigger room for free. Room was really clean and cozy with tv and lovely terrace. The place is located in the center of the island which is handy to drive to the various beaches or to the capitol city. The owners of the Lodges are very friendly and helpful. We loved the place and if we go back to Curacao we will definitely stay in Jan kok

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and me stayed at Jan Kok Lodges on Curacao this January. We enjoyed nice time in our small bungalow, barbecue on the porch, driving around the island... Location was great, central on the island, so it was easy to reach all the beaches and there were some near by the Lodge. Bungalows are not fancy (at least our was not), but good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jan Kok Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jan Kok Lodges

Address: Jan Kok 51, Willemstad 0000 XC, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jan Kok Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jan Kok Lodges offers 9 accommodations on 23.000 m2. A small complex where you enjoy personal service and hospitality. All accommodations are equipped with everything you need. Free WiFi and AC. The swimmingpool is just a few steps away. Centrally located and 5 minutes away from the most beautiful beaches. Willemstad and Westpunt within 20 minutes. Many restaurants and supermarkets close by. The ideal accommodation to discover and enjoy all the things Curaçao offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Jan Kok Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Kok Lodges Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jan Kok Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.