We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super holiday at Jan Kok Lodges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jan Kok Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jan Kok Lodges to your Saves list
Jan Kok Lodges
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jan Kok 51, Willemstad 0000 XC, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Dordrecht
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super holiday at Jan Kok Lodges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a great holiday at Jan Kok Lodges. Apartment is very, very nice, clean, equiped with all you need. Comfortable beds, good kitchen, very tastfull decorated. Beautiful garden, swimmingpool with great loungebeds, also perfect stay for our (young) kids. Acco is located very central on the island, close to best beaches, restaurants and Willemstad you reach within 15 minuten. You do need a car - can be arranged by Jan Kok Lodges for very friendly price. Also very handy: owners pick you up from airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here while visiting Curacao and it's definitely a bit far away from the city which is nice because that's exactly what I wanted. The owners are very helpful, friendly and accomodating to make my stay pleasant. Since all my electronics were 110 V they hooked me up with an adapter and extension cord. I remember getting lost while trying to get here but I was lucky to find it eventually. As far as amenities wise, it's very peaceful quiet and clean. It was a nice homely feel. The beds provide excellent sleep quality, internet was nice, great breeze and friendly residents. I recall a couple next to me from Europe and were very friendly to speak to. It was nice kinda like a community within a lodge atmosphere. They do provide rental cars at a nominal rate and overall everything was wonderful. The service is exceptional, value is top notch, super clean, location is close to all the beaches and small shops for the essentials provided you know where to look, and rooms were pretty good....no complaints at all!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at Jan Kok during our honeymoon. The place was nicely located away from any noise, and there was a pleasant breeze. The owners are extremely nice and helpful, and the accommodations were great. All the amenities we could ask for were present in the kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and living room, with a nice patio with lots of comfortable furniture. The lodge is conveniently located near good restaurants, beaches, Mt. Christoffel National Park, gas and a supermarket. A car is a must around here. When the beaches were too crowded and noisy, their pool was a nice place to relax at. Be forewarned that there are mosquitos. The lodge provides mosquito netting. Also, on Curaçao (not only at Jan Kok) A/C is extra, and it does get hot at night, and turning on the A/C is a desirable thought. That is an out of pocket expense though. Everything else about the place was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very quiet area of Curacao.
5-10 minutes driving distance to beaches.
Local shopping is very poor. About 15 min driving to a normal super market.
Friendly people.
Nice, clean, small unit.
Reasonable rate.
Renting a car is a must.

We were unlucky to encounter some issues:
Swimming pool leaked ( fixed after a couple of days), cockroaches in kitchen (we changed to another room), ants in some towels (replaced but it was a bit shocking to have ants crawling on hair and body).

Room Tip: 1 room unit is very small. Better to request a bigger unit (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in Jan Kok Lodges 8 nights, we got upgrade to a bigger room for free. Room was really clean and cozy with tv and lovely terrace. The place is located in the center of the island which is handy to drive to the various beaches or to the capitol city. The owners of the Lodges are very friendly and helpful. We loved the place and if we go back to Curacao we will definitely stay in Jan kok

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and me stayed at Jan Kok Lodges on Curacao this January. We enjoyed nice time in our small bungalow, barbecue on the porch, driving around the island... Location was great, central on the island, so it was easy to reach all the beaches and there were some near by the Lodge. Bungalows are not fancy (at least our was not), but good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Jan Kok Lodges! Our apartment had a view on the beautiful surroundings and the flamingo lake. You don't find Jan Kok near the popular touristy places like Mambo Beach or Jan Thiel, but you find it on the countryside of Curacao and near the most beautiful beaches of Curacao, Cas Abou, Porto Marie and Daaibooi! A car is a must and Jan Kok Lodges offer these, which is perfect!

Because of the time difference we woke up at 7am everyday and enjoyed the view with a nice cup of coffee, the singing birds and the sound of the roosters of the farmers around Jan Kok. Our apartment was simple and clean and had all the things you needed to enjoy our stay. It's possible to cook your own meal, but why do that, there are enough restaurants to have a nice dinner in Willemstad (20/30minute ride) or on the road to Westpunt.

I would recommend this place to everyone who don't want to stay near touristy places and who don't bother to ride 5/10 minutes to escape to the most beautiful beaches of Curacao. What else do you need then a nice and clean place to stay, a fantastic view, great owners and 30 degrees everyday.

Thanks Frederieke and Jeroen!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jan Kok Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jan Kok Lodges

Address: Jan Kok 51, Willemstad 0000 XC, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jan Kok Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jan Kok Lodges offers 9 accommodations on 23.000 m2. A small complex where you enjoy personal service and hospitality. All accommodations are equipped with everything you need. Free WiFi and AC. The swimmingpool is just a few steps away. Centrally located and 5 minutes away from the most beautiful beaches. Willemstad and Westpunt within 20 minutes. Many restaurants and supermarkets close by. The ideal accommodation to discover and enjoy all the things Curaçao offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Jan Kok Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Kok Lodges Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jan Kok Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.