We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short show, but beatiful dolphins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Dolphin Academy

Curacao Dolphin Academy
Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad AN5999, Curacao
+599 9 465 8900
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book Now
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Academy offers fun and educational intimate encounters with Bottlenose Dolphins in a natural saltwater lagoon and the open sea. Different programs and courses available for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Short show, but beatiful dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was our last day and we decided to visit the Sea Aquarium & Dolphin Academy. The Sea Aquarium was more than disappointing (this comes in a different review). The Dolphin Academy is a really big area with 3 separate areas for the dolphins.

It seems like the dolphins have really fun to play with their trainers. We were introduced to the most important activities of the dolphins. The show as really short, but informative.

For a additional 20 USD you have the opportunity to get a picture with a dolphin. Well we didn’t do that, because we thought it is too expensive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Academy, Guest Relations Manager at Curacao Dolphin Academy, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for the review and for posting your pictures.

Regards,

Dolphin Academy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    271
    99
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is the best thing i have ever done. To get to interact with these incredible creatures and get to swim with them... I just loved every moment of it. It is quite expensive, but for this experience every animal lover would be prepared to pay twice as much.
Notice that these dolphins do not live in captivity ( which i do not approve) but they are able to leave the pool at any time.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Academy, Guest Relations Manager at Curacao Dolphin Academy, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Kiitos for the review. We're glad to have been part of this once in a lifetime experience you had. Come back soon! :)

Regards,

Dolphin Academy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It is a must!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

they offerthree programs to experience with Dolphins:
Dolphin encounter: you pad and kiss the dolphins. affordable
Dolphin swimming: really great a a deeper experience than the encounter
Dolphin trainer: My daughther made level 1 and she was the happiest Kid ever!!
Best Regard
Griselda

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Academy, Guest Relations Manager at Curacao Dolphin Academy, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for the review. Actually we offer more than 3 programs.
The Dolphin Encounter, Dolphin Swim, Dolphin Freedive (Snorkel), Dolphin Scuba Encounter for non-certified divers, Open Water Dolphin Dive for certified divers and the two Dolphin courses: Assistant Dolphin Trainer for kids and Dolphins in Depth for adults.

For your next visit we have the Assistant Dolphin Trainer course level 2 for your daughter. And otherwise with her certificate she can just practice her hand signals with the trainers and dolphins.

Regards,

Dolphin Academy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Adorable dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked to swim with the dolphins and went a day earlier!!! (who knows what day it is when you're on vacation?) Staff was nice enough to book us for that day....the Seaquarium itself is small, but the Dolphin Academy is great,telling you about dolphins, about caring for the planet and then spending over 30 minutes having fun and swimming with dolphins was a wonderful experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Academy, Guest Relations Manager at Curacao Dolphin Academy, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the review and we hope you enjoyed the whole vacation, not only your visit to Dolphin Academy / Sea Aquarium.

Regards,

Dolphin Academy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime opportunity to swim with the dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We really enjoyed this experience. When you get your KISS from the dolphin - keep your eyes open. They take photos of you and you can buy the disk of your whole group for $75. at the end. I had my eyes closed and the photo could have been better. Take your own camera for underwater photos. The disk just had above water. Too many photos of the leader and not enough of the customers. Still very worth doing the snorkel adventure for $169 per person.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin_Academy, Guest Relations Manager at Curacao Dolphin Academy, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
The Dolphin Freedive (Snorkel) is indeed to only program where an underwater camera is allowed and we do suggest this to our guests. Normally there's no trainer in the water, so we're actually wondering what you mean with the 'leader'.

All by all we hope you had a great time and maybe we'll see you soon.

Regards,

Dolphin Academy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curacao Dolphin Academy also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Curacao Dolphin Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Dolphin Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.