We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most intimate resort have ever been to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Winter Promo!
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The most intimate resort have ever been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We came accross this place on Interval when we were looking for a vacation for the fall. Typically we look for a place in a warm climate on the beach. Having been to Hawaii, Mexico and most of the BVI and USVIs, we were ready for a new experience. We considered St Martin but did not want a place that was crowded and full of chain hotels. Aruba was an option but been there and done that. Curacao was a place that we did not know much about or anyone who had been there. We decided that this was where we were going.
Curacao is a beautiful place and has a european feel. The Dutch influence is evident everywhere. But there is no mistake that you are in the Caribbean. 37+ beaches and many great restaurants for fine dinning make for the beginnings of a great time. Don't miss the Boathouse for dinner. If you are a couple, ask for one of the tables at the front of the deck overlooking the harbor.
The location and the people that work at Royal Sea Aquarium are what makes this place so special. If you like mega resorts then this place is not for you. But if you like beautiful sunsets, a staff that goes way overboard to make sure you have a fantastic vacation and a small beautiful setting then the Royal Sea Aquarium is the place to be. This is a smaller resort that is on it's own island and is located next to the Seaquarium and Dolphin Academy. They have an on site Italian restaurant which is OK although the chef likes to cook on the salty side.
But the real gems in this place are the sunsets, the Staff and the rooms. Every night we sat by the pool that overlooks the ocean to watch the incredible sunsets. Truly romantic!
The staff was really concerned with making sure we had a great time. Marcella & Lester really made us feel welcome as did all the staff. There was no high pressure sales pitch as is common with most of the time share resorts. We ended up asking for a presentation since we loved the place so much.

If you are into diving or snorkeling, they have both available on site. We are going back in April to get PADI certified. You can also swim with Dophins!

We travel the Caribbean a lot and have always said that if we found a place that we would want to come back to we would buy a time share there. This is the place! We now have a week and we will be coming back every year.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    72
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
97
126
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hubbardston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

This resort is very small but that is what makes it so wonderful. Because of the size the staff treats you like family. They are all so friendly,curteous & helpful. One member does stand out & that is Marcela. She is like your fairy godmother. If you have a need or wish she magically comes thru every time. She takes time daily, if she sees you to find out how your day is & shares her personal stories.
-The room was clean & comfortable. The furnishings are clean & island comfortable.Not upscale & uncomfortable. They change your towels daily if you so need,they make your bed & do general tidying.
-The grounds were immaculate.
-The location is terrrific. Quiet & peaceful because it is on a private island & so few villas(30) but if you want more action you just walk across the bridge to the more crowded party beach resorts.
- They have a small private beach which is perfect for the little ones. It is located on a canal so the water is so calm. The only downside is that the last storm erroded the beach so the drop off of the water is faster than previous so an adult does need to be directly with them. The canal does make a perfect location for the adults to lounge around on floats.
- There is a hot tub & 3 pools. A small round kiddie pool & 2 kidney shaped pools. One is deep all the way around & one is gradual for the kids.
- Another plus is even though this is a timeshare they do not pressure you like most to buy. They are very casual & say that if you want to meet they will & if not that's cool too. We did because we were curious about the cost because we are seriously interested in purchasing a week in the near future when we can save up some cash. They showed us directly what they had available & outright cost & thru out very casual & no pressure.
I can't say enough on the positive side of this resort. We will be trading back here as much as we can until we can save for our own week(s) !!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I had tried to exchange my timeshare week into here and after a few weeks it came up as a "Getaway" week, so I booked it that way instead.
Wound up in building A on the 2nd floor with a unit facing the ocean. The view was fabulous!
The condo unit was great!
If you have a car the parking is outside the resort - you can drive in and unload your luggage, groceries, etc. but otherwise it's in the parking lot. The parking lot can get crowded at time, but I was always able to find a place to park.
I spent a couple of days just lounging around the pool. Never had any trouble find a lounge chair.
The beach facing another resort is OK too. Did some snorkeling in this area and then over towards the other breakwater and Breezes resort.
The resort has a single washer and dryer. The tokens are available at the front desk for $2.00 each. One token to wash and one to dry.
I cleared having 3 guests over for lunch one day and once they signed in at the front desk they were able to use the pool or the beach too. I even took them to the Seaquarium on my pass.
We ate at Augusto's a few times and the food was good.
The free Sunday morning orientation and boat ride was great. It lasted about 2 hours.
Even though this is a timeshare, I was never contacted by anyone regarding listening to their presentation.
I'd return to this resort in a heartbeat, but my home resort just converted to RCI and the Royal Resorts are all part of Interval International....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This place is mainly a timeshare resort. A small one with only 30 villas. We've been doing this timeshare thing for about 15 years and we have never had such a great experience as we did with this resort! Not one complaint. The only negetive would have to be the very small beach that looks back at the main land into another resort. However,
at least they do have a beach. I could have stayed there all week without leaving. Right next door is the Sea Aquarium and as a guest of this resort you get free general admission to the aquarium. This is a full servive resort with their front desk open 24/7 and their restaurant was very good too! The Royal Resort Family that runs this resort sure knows what guests want! Great service and great villas. The floor plan was spacious and it had three 40 flat panel TV's. Large bathrooms (2), and large walkin closets with a safe!!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Our condo was on the second floor facing the ocean, next to the Sea Aquarium. Accomodations were excellent and kept very clean. The facilities had so many wonderful amenities, pool, spa, private beach, admission to the aquarium, activities and wonderful staff. The restaurat is top notch and the portions were large.

We loved just lounging in the cabana's reading, but when we weren't relaxing we were taking in all the sights of Curacao. Suggestion is to get 6-8 people and rent a taxi for the day to see the Blue Curacao factory, the Aloe Vera Plantation and the Ostrich Farm. It was a great way to see everything and save some money. We rented a car and drove the entire island and stopped at nearly every beach to snorkel. Thankfully to the GPS on our Iphone we were able to get around without a problem.

The locals are very friendly and there are great bargains to be found in Wilemstead. Just a word of warning if you are eating at an outdoor cafe, DON'T FEED THE PIGEONS!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I cannot say enough about the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort... it's literally paradise. The resort is in a stunning location that makes you never want to leave. The property is in pristine condition and the condo's are maintained above and beyond. My husband and I went there on our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for anything more perfect. It seems like every room has a view of the stunning ocean. They have a great pool with a couple of hot tubs, then they have a private beach in a lagoon that is just breathtaking. The resort has a shuttle to take you to the grocery store daily and they also have transportation to some tours on the island which a person from the resort goes with the group which is an extra plus to get to know the island even more. The people at the resort were so friendly and helpful. The weather was perfect also. They have only one restaurant "Agusto's" which was really good - they make amazing frozen drinks! I do wish they had maybe another restaurant but you can walk to the other resorts that are across the lagoon. I cannot wait to go back! It is actually a time share place and not one single person harassed us about buying one. We would have if they asked us that week we loved it there so much. Also a perk is that you can go to the acquarium as many times as you want for free - you can even swim with the dolphins there too (there is a fee for that). It's a beautiful resort!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

At the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort you can rent apartments for the same (or less) price as the major hotels at this island. The advantage about staying here is that you have much more space for your money, your own good quality apartment, free access to the doplhins next door and a better beach then those staying in Wilhelmstadt.

Next to the Sea Aquarium Resort is the Lions Dive and Beach Resort which is also a good place to stay. This place is within 3 minutes walk and this is where you go for a snack and a drink or if you want to go diving. From this place you have 1 kn beach with resturants and pubs. And the city is only 10 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway or for a family vacation. The friendly staff will make you feel right at home and take care of your every need. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or by the pool, join in the fun activity program, try your hand at water sports, visit the world-famous Sea Aquarium right next door to the resort or explore the island, you are sure to enjoy yourselves.The resort has 30 fully furnished Caribbean Ocean View Two Bedroom Master Suites (sleeping six) which can be divided into 30 Ocean View One Bedroom Suites (sleeping four) and 30 Ocean View Junior Suites (sleeping two). We will do everything we can to help you and your family get the most out of your stay on Curacao and we hope that you find the resort information and sightseeing ideas featured here useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sea Aquarium Hotel
Royal Sea Aquarium Curaçao
Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.