We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 35% OFF! Book now
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Low key paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We own a one week timeshare here and love it! The weather is always perfect, staff friendly, service excellent. It is beautiful. There are only 30 rooms so we are like a big family. Augustos restaurant on site is terrific and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Susan,

We felt more than happy when we saw your comment. Our members are the reason of our business and it was a nice surprise found your review. As you may know, we are in a continuos search of excellence and as you pointed correctly we are a big Family!

Thank you so much for being a part of The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort.

Kind regards from sunny Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    74
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
98
128
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I admit I was a little nervous about booking this resort from reading some of the reviews, but I can honestly say it was the absolute best choice for the area!!! We rented the 2 bedroom villa, which is a suite room and a hotel style room adjoining. There was plenty of space for the 5 of us, (4 adults, one teen). Now, I do have to say, from online pics I was confused on how big the beds were, in the basic unit ( the one like a standard hotel room) the beds are more like the size of a full bed. Two kids could sleep comfortably on one bed, but not two adults. So just keep that in mind when your choosing your accommodations. The Suite has a nice King size bed. As far as scenery,...you are basically are on the ocean anywhere on the resort and so you will have fantastic views from any room in the resort. The rooms are not overly luxurious but there are decorated nicely and very comfortable ... and come on it is the Caribbean what do you want to stay in the room for!
This is a timeshare resort. Don't let that scare you away, it actually means great benefits to you! There are many activities and events, for the owners they are free but for guests they give them to you at very cheap prices. An example is Happy Fun, which is like a happy hour. Drinks were about $3 for guests and they were Great!!! They will ask by letter if you would like a Timeshare tour, if you do the tour you can get some great little perks to use on your vacation. If not there is NO pressure. The timeshare staff were genuinely nice and helpful.

Pros:
1.Staff was fantastic.
~ A huge THANK YOU to The Activity Coordinators Zuly and Nyda ( probably spelled wrong..sorry) they made us feel welcome and kept us busy with plenty of fun and activities throughout our stay.
~Front desk staff was always helpful. They helped coordinate transportation, activities, directions, etc. You name it they were willing to help.
~Housekeeping was great. We have stayed in other rental units and timeshares before and NO housekeeping, so this was a HUGE bonus for me. They came daily to make beds and change towels, if necessary. Twice a week for full clean.
~The free shuttle to town and the grocery store was a great benefit. They pick you up and drop you off right in front of the hotel.
~Did I mention you get free unlimited access to Sea Aquarium next door!
~Private Beach. This is not a natural beach,so water shoes are advised, we did find broken glass on the beach a couple times. What is nice is that you have access to the water way and free beach chairs. ANYWHERE else on the island if you want a beach chair you will have to pay. Pay attention to signs when posted- we did get stung by small jellyfish a couple times.
~ Augustos Restaurant - Is right on the property. Good food and drinks. We ate breakfast there almost every morning and dinner a couple times. Servings sizes were very generous and good.

Cons
Not to many but use this list more or less as a " what to bring or buy at store" and maybe what the resort could improve on.
~ Kitchen- We did a lot of our own cooking. However the kitchen is lacking some items. We had only 1 steak knife in the kitchen. The few larger knives in the room were very dull, the butter knives cut better. No measuring spoons. No plastic containers or dishes. So bring plastic water bottles or cups for the beach and pool. Make sure you bring or buy saran wrap, baggies, foil or storage containers to store opened food in. There were no paper towels or napkins. We were able to buy those from the grocery store.
~ This is not really a con, several posts had stated that there was no soap. They do provide dish soap, dishwasher soap and hand liquid soap. There is also liquid soap in the showers. We just brought our own toiletries.

Overall this was a great trip and can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the unit on the 3rd floor facing the pool. We had great view of the ocean and wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. It has been a pleasure serving you during your last trip to Curacao. The growth we’ve experienced over the years is because of guests like you, who faithfully support our business.

We found gratifying that you had a great stay in our resort. As you pointed correctly we are a timeshare resort and a very special one. Our goal is to give you the relax and fun you deserve over a year of hard work. Our activities involve all the family and we are always preparing surprises for our beloved guests and members. Also, we feel very glad that you were comfortable in our villas, nonetheless, they will get better soon. So be prepare for a totally renewed villa in the next year.

The pros listed are a result of team work and hard work in our proceses so we will extend your comments to all our staff. In regards to the cons we are more than grateful to receive them due to they are a vital part of our growth. They brought the attention of our managers so will work on them one by one in order to give the best vacation at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort.

We appreciate your trust, and we’ll do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve.

Kind regards from sunny Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our room was pretty basic, but the view was outstanding. We ate breakfast on our balcony watching the bananaquits in the palm tree while looking down at the pool and out into the endless sea. Housekeeping did a nice job, and I can't say enough about the staff. The office staff (especially Gabriel) helped us out on more than one occasion. They had activities by the pool many evenings including happy hour, where they mixed some unique drinks and games with gift certificates to local restaurants and more as prizes. The shuttles to Punda and the super market was a nice perk. It was very convenient to walk to several restaurants and shops. We had a good meal at their on-site restaurant, Augustos. The lagoon is pretty, unfortunately, when we were there, jellyfish were there too, and yes we did get stung. The sea aquarium is a cute diversion, but if you live in the states, you'll notice that it pales in comparison. Although people did seem to be having a good time at Dolphin Academy. Overall this is a clean, attractive, convenient and fun place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and the community. I want you to know that we truly enjoyed serving you and we feel honoured to have been your chosen resort in Curacao.

This year we are starting a renovation process of our units so you can enjoy the amazing views of Curacao you experienced this time in a brand new villa. We invite you to visit us in your next trip to the island.

Also, we would like to take the opportunity to let you know that our most valuable resource is our staff and we feel very glad to hear such kind words for them. We will still working in our continuos search of excellence to give you the vacation you deserve.

Thanks again for your comments, that are a vital part of our growth.

Kind regards from sunny Curacao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

You won't be disappointed. Private beach. Aquarium right next door. How can you go wrong?! Front desk so helpful. Housekeeping super! Restaurant was ok. The Sea Lions will welcome you home every time! Very close to williamsted and some amazing restaurants

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Heidi,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and the community. We feel very honoured to read that you had such an amazing experience in Curacao. Your comments inspire us to find new ways to impress our guests and deliver and a top quality service.

We look forward to see you soon in the near future.

Kind regards from sunny Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I wasn't sure what to think pulling into the resort. You can not park close to the hotel and have to walk a good ways in. However, your walk takes you past the sea lion and dolphin enclosures - and I was smitten. Being able to stay so close (closer than your parked car) to the aquarium was a joy to me. Every day, I stopped to watch the sea lions, and the 8 month old baby girl in training.
I even got use to the large Iguanas and Blue Whiptail lizards everywhere!

The staff was more than accommodating making great suggestions and reservations for us for dinner.

Our villa was very neat and clean, and housekeeping took care of us.

I also got a pool side massage while there.

There are a couple nice pools and a private beach on the lagoon where you can snorkel.
This is not a party place, very quiet and peaceful.

From inside the resort you can walk over to the Boulevard where there are a couple beach clubs, many shops and several places to eat from casual to nice places for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband, myself & our 2 girls (3 & 12) spent 5 days @ the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort in April 2014.

Before our arrival, I requested a 2 bedroom villa facing the Aquarium next door via our reservation and follow-up email. I was extremely pleased that they were able to accommodate my request because the room was well worth it!

A request was also made for a taxi pick-up from the airport, which was confirmed via email from the resort. When we arrived however, we waited for 1 hour & 15 minutes and the taxi never showed up. There were a lot of taxis at the airport though and after that long wait, we were able to quickly hire a taxi - US$40 for 2 adults and 2 kids. So don't bother arranging with the hotel for a pick-up taxi.

Check-in was smooth enough but a little slow as the front desk clerk seemed unfamiliar with the check-in process for non-member guests. Gabriel though was very friendly & helpful and even called when we got to the room to find out if the room was satisfactory...which it definitely was.

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with a large patio that connects the master bedroom (king bed) and the living room. The style of the furniture is wicker but it has a Caribbean feel and is not so outdated as other reviews have stated. Whilst we were there, there was a constant strong wind, that sounded like a howl through the closed patio door and would even sometimes move the patio furniture! It didn't bother us though.

Our girls stayed in the second bedroom which was the 1-bedroom and they were very happy there. We didn't need the Murphy beds (located on either side of the living room unit that houses the TV) but they would have been comfortable enough for an average sized adult or child.

The kitchen in our unit was updated and we saw evidence of renovations taking place at other units whist we were there. However, there was little to no disturbance to us as guests because of it. Everything in the kitchen worked well and the fridge worked so well that it even "froze" our salad veggies! There was even a dishwasher which we didn't actually use but the housekeeper put our dishes in for us one day and set the cycle. We never saw who she was, but were very thankful.

The grounds were kept clean and well maintained throughout our stay. The staff for the most part were not very friendly but would answer any questions you had once answered. The most notable staff member for us was Zuly who seemed to wear many different hats at the resort. She always had a smile and a greeting once you saw her. Her friendly & helpful demeanor is a definite asset to the resort.

We took advantage of the grocery shuttle & the shuttle to downtown Punda during our stay. You must sign up at the front desk the day before. They were both on time and the drivers were courteous and helpful.

Of course the Sea Aquarium next door was a highlight for us, especially our 3 yr-old girl who never tired of seeing the same animals every day. From our balcony, we had the best views of the Dolphin Shows and the sea lion pool. Being a major attraction on the island, it could get very busy at times, but you could easily return later if it got too crowded.

Augusto's was decent but could benefit from a slight variation to the menu, particularly breakfast & lunch. We tried dinner the first night which was very filling and tasty. Breakfast we had everyday because our rate included breakfast for 2. Also very filling and tasty enough American styles fare. One day, there was a problem with the gas and no hot items could be ordered so were just had bagels and cream cheese that day. All the staff members apologized profusely but it didn't bother us...things happen. From Augusto's, you can see the Lion's Dive Resort restaurant across the channel. It was a lot noisier across there so I was very grateful for the quiet of Royal Sea Aquarium Resort.

The pool was clean and good size for the number of guests that were there. There is also a more shallow kiddie pool but of course, my kids and others that were there all preferred the larger pool. I loved lounging on the covered cabanas at the pool. The breeze was cooling and the view was to die for. I even fell asleep once. The beach is small and man-made but was not important to us since we are from a Caribbean island with beautiful natural beaches. The sand had many little bits of coral so swim shoes would be very beneficial. The water was also freezing, mainly because of the strong winds.

The least enjoyable part of our stay was the time-share meeting. The sales rep was friendly enough and gave us all the relevant info necessary, but we spent an entire 1 hr & 45 mins on the last full day of our stay. Too lengthy for people who just want to enjoy their vacation. At the end of the meeting, we were given $50 Royal Resort dollars to spend at selected restaurants and retailers which we were very grateful for.

Overall, the resort is small and very appropriate for families with young children. Clean, comfortable & spacious, a 6-10 minute walk to the new Blvd, and with regular shuttles to town and the supermarket, the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is an idyllic place for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Corner Suite B203 had fantastic front row views of the Atlantic ocean, the dolphins & sea lions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Lavaughn,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the community. We feel very glad that you had a wonderful time in Curacao. Your kind words has been shared with the managers at the resort and all the staff, specially Zuly. She will feel very honoured to know that she caused an impression on you.

Reading your comments we found that you share a lot of tips for families visiting our resort and Curacao. So we encourage the Trip advisor community too read from A to Z all your recommendations.

It is situations like this that make us coming to work such an rewarding experience. We do appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards from sunny Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

It was truly an experience to b able to swim wit d dolphins and pet d sea lions. I had a great time. The staff was really friendly and d fishes at d aquarium were beautiful. I got to see flamingos, sharks, stingray.. i can't explain d experience it's one u have to witness for urself

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway or for a family vacation. The friendly staff will make you feel right at home and take care of your every need. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or by the pool, join in the fun activity program, try your hand at water sports, visit the world-famous Sea Aquarium right next door to the resort or explore the island, you are sure to enjoy yourselves.The resort has 30 fully furnished Caribbean Ocean View Two Bedroom Master Suites (sleeping six) which can be divided into 30 Ocean View One Bedroom Suites (sleeping four) and 30 Ocean View Junior Suites (sleeping two). We will do everything we can to help you and your family get the most out of your stay on Curacao and we hope that you find the resort information and sightseeing ideas featured here useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sea Aquarium Hotel
Royal Sea Aquarium Curaçao
Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.