We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Summer Breakfast 35% OFF!
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Krimpen aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is a wonderfull place next to the Dolphins and very quiet , you can stay Pool/sea site or only sea site
The house cleany was very good , oke the house is datet but they start a renovation next year
The personal are very nice and helpful
there is also a beach and you can take a little walk to Hemmingway for a nice breakfast,lunch or dinner if you walk 4 minutes furder then you can go to Mambo beach with a nice shoppingmall

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Cornelia,

Thank yo very much for taking the time to express your thoughts with us and the community. We feel very happy that you had a wonderful time at the Royal Sea Aquarium.

As you mentioned correctly, the units will be renovated the next year and it is an exciting ¨journey¨ that we are looking forward to. Over the next months we will be preparing to all our guests some pictures about the new units so we are inviting you to be in tune.

Again, thank you for all your kind comments.

Regards from the sunny Curaçao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    90
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
115
149
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent 2 weeks here in Nov 2013 at this marvelous location adjacent to the Sea Aquarium, offering a private beach and wonderful views of the sea from our bedroom window. The only downside was the onsite restaurant Augusto's (see separate TA review). Not to worry, there are at least 3 very good healthy eating establishments to be found within a short walking distance on turning left through the marina opposite the resort. If dining or partying late, beware the exit gate from the marina shuts at 11pm.

Across the bridge there is also a dive center where you can learn to dive or simply snorkel. For the more adventurous daily diving or fishing trips are available at the quayside. The Caribbean waters here are simply so full of colourful fish that many can be found in the bay on the resort. Just borrow a mask and flippers from reception or you can purchase in the shop at the dive center.

A must to visit is the Sea Aquarium, which has a vast selection of resident fish and mammals. If you have never feed a Sting Ray or swam with Dolphins this is your chance. Another feature of the Sea Aquarium is the Dolphin healing program for the handicapped. It was a very humbling experience for us to witness the painstaking love and care invested by parents to further their child’s physical rehabilitation and mental improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The resort location was good for us as we travel to Curacao to dive. The dive shop was a few minutes walk away as was the Sea Aquarium (admission included with resort stay). We found the room to be one of the quietest we have stayed in. All rooms have an ocean view which makes for a pleasant surrounding. The restaurant, Augusto's, serves good food at very reasonable prices. While we didn't use the service, this hotel offers daily shuttles to a grocery store and downtown Willemsted. Unbeknownst to us when we booked, this is a time share property and since we didn't stay "Saturday to Saturday" we had to change rooms during the stay. If we go again, we'll make sure to book Saturday to Saturday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

An excellent vacation. The room faced the ocean and looking out made you feel like you were on a cruise. The current and waves make it seem like you are moving and you will NEVER be closer to water in a hotel. The staff was very cordial and housekeeping did a great job. A walk down the beach provided shopping and beach bars. Sunday is CRAZY at Wet & Wild-Friday free ribs and chicken.
Other than the trip to get there involved a lay-over which took 12 hrs door-to-door, we would go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week here in September. The staff was excellent. We were pleased to debunk some of the negative comments that we had seen in prior reviews. The private beach on the canal was not too rocky, the presence of the submarine crane was not distracting, the room cleaning schedule was very satisfactory, and the overall condition of the room was fine.

The most important consideration about a trip to Curacao is that Americans are not a very large proportion of tourists and you will have to adjust to the overwhelming presence of Dutch tourists and expats.

This resort's location is uniquely situated on a canal that enters and exits the ocean over a short distance. It provides good snorkeling and kayaking. Divers can swim right out the canal to sites. The proximity of the aquarium adds to the interest with the sea lions and dolphins that you can observe from your property.

You can cross a small bridge and enter a long strip of beach right across the canal that has a variety of shopping and eating. Aloha is a great reasonably priced lunch place with beach bar dining. Mambo's and the Cabana were OK but like most places the service is very much on island time. New York steak house past Cabana's was excellent including great service. Many nights one of the beach clubs would have a lively party.

Downtown we like Perla Del Mar in the Old Fort. My wife had a seafood casserole that was not your typical American casserole but a garlic tossed mixture of every seafood imaginable including whole small deep fried octopi. I don't remember the name of it but there was a very small Italian restaurant on a street perpendicular to the Polo store area plaza that was tremendous.

Cheap bus transportation to and from downtown is available and easy. We have traveled to a majority of the Caribbean islands and I consider the overall vacation cost in Curacao to be noticeably lower than the high traffic islands like USVI, BVI, St. Kitts, St. Maarten, etc.and better than most any other except the isolated Eastern Caribbean currency ones like St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada, etc.

Curacao offers a vacation experience unlike any other. It can be as quiet or busy as you prefer. The shop personnel, local bus companions, Dutch visitors and expats are all mostly genuinely friendly. It felt like a trip that you could personalize with the amount of tourist activity that you chose as opposed to visiting some of the more well known destinations where you can get caught up in the wave of tourist things to do.

Room Tip: E bldg opens to the beach but is opposite the Sea Aquarium. Probably do not want E111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We traded our timeshare week for a 2 bedroom unit. The unit was in building A ocean front and the views were wonderful. Many people suggest trying to get a unit facing the acquarium but I think those rooms can get noisy. I only see it as a value if you have children. This review is difficult to write because the staff were very friendly and nice. I don't know how Interval International can rate it with a gold emblem. The villa was just very outdated and I'm just used to nicer. I was told the place was only about 13 years old, but it looked like it was 20 or 30 years old and not updated. However, the unit was clean and the grounds were lovely. Everyone, including the other guests were friendly and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Some constructive criticism:
I know its expensive to update the kitchens and bathrooms, but they can update the furniture and and accessories (such as bedding and door mats).

Restaurant -- Again friendly staff but the food was only OK. What they can easily improve on though is the breakfast menu and the time they open. They don't start serving until 8:30am. Also the only items on the menu for breakfast were bagels, eggs, and pancakes. We asked them about fruit and they ended up giving us a lovely plate of fruit, yogurt, and granola but its not on the menu.

In summary, the place is clean and the staff are friendly but I wouldn't want to stay there again.

In general, I found the Island in general not geared towards visitors and tourists. The tourist businesses need to do a lot of work in order to compete with the other islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are not owners at this or any other resort. I booked online based on the reviews and am VERY happy with my choice - I will recommend this resort to anyone going to Curacao. We were in building A, room 302B. Ocean front, balcony. Awesome view.
Room:
The room is plenty spacious for two, it had two queen beds, but I wouldn't have wanted 4 people in there for any length of time.
Housekeeping:
Previous reviews were critical of the housekeeping, but I have no complaints. It was clean when we checked in, they came in every day and made the beds, replaced the towels, and cleaned the bathroom. Normally, when I stay in a hotel, I refuse daily cleaning because I don't really like other people in my room. I don't change my sheets at home every day and I don't need it done in a hotel.
Resort:
Grounds well kept and clean, landscaping maintained, pool cleaned daily, beach neat and well kept. Staff very friendly, accomodating, and helpful - they booked our rental car and snorkel trip for us. Restaurant clean, staff friendly, food excellent. Other travellers were very friendly.
Check in and out was smooth and effortless.
Misc:
We rented a car one day, otherwise used busses (cheap) and taxis (not cheap).

Room Tip: Buiding A has the best ocean view. Rooms overlooking /facing the pool would be loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.4 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
1.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 29 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway or for a family vacation. The friendly staff will make you feel right at home and take care of your every need. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or by the pool, join in the fun activity program, try your hand at water sports, visit the world-famous Sea Aquarium right next door to the resort or explore the island, you are sure to enjoy yourselves.The resort has 30 fully furnished Caribbean Ocean View Two Bedroom Master Suites (sleeping six) which can be divided into 30 Ocean View One Bedroom Suites (sleeping four) and 30 Ocean View Junior Suites (sleeping two). We will do everything we can to help you and your family get the most out of your stay on Curacao and we hope that you find the resort information and sightseeing ideas featured here useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sea Aquarium Hotel
Royal Sea Aquarium Curaçao
Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.