We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Save Saved
You added The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast Package!
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been coming to this resort for many years and usually all is good. However,this year the beach has very little sand on it and where there is no sand, it feels like rough concrete and can be painful to walk on. The Resort staff were advised of this but no response. Independently the security guard in his own time spent 4 hours digging and turning the "concrete" and now 10% of the beach has said again. 5 stars for Gary the security guard

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    64
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
86
109
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a wonderful vacation timeshare. Most of the rooms face the ocean and each room is steps away from the private beach and swimming pool. Our room featured a king bed, with a balcony extending across the bedroom and living room. Rooms are clean and fresh and so are the grounds very well maintained. We brought some dry foods and frozen meats from the US in a cooler with a blue freeze pack. (Dry ice is not allowed in customs.) We traveled Am. Airlines and checked the cooler. This place is great for families because there are planned kids activities and the private beach area is shallow and safe for children of all ages. Plus, there is the wonderful sea aquarium, with dolphin shows and more. Small shops and restaurants within the area and night life is active and fun. Great vacation!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the ocean and each room is steps away from the private beach and swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place is very nice to spend your vacation.
Nice pools, a decent beach. Resort is very relaxed. Stay includes tickets for the sea aquarium.
The only thing that they should work on is the parking lot. The walking distance is not such a problem, but walking in the sun could be experienced as hard by some.
Room is very nice, including small kitchen with fridge. Beds are ok.
Would stay again when visiting Curacao!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My dad and I really enjoyed our spacious one bedroom suite. We stayed from July 27th thru August 3rd, 2013. It had beautiful views on the balcony that overlooked the pool area and out to the sea. I enjoyed the peace and quiet and often took naps in the lawn chair or ate my breakfast on the balcony. We were thoroughly impressed with the full size kitchen and actually bought food to cook. We only ate out 3 times during the whole week. We were able to eat at the Augustos restaurant (which is on site) twice which I highly recommend. Dad loves the grouper! Dad and I loved the scuba diving and went on 9 shore dives with Curious2Dive. So we didn't do many of the resort activities. However, we did go to the free drink social on Monday night from 4-6 pm with games and a chance to buy souvenoirs. The beach, pool, and jacuzzi were relaxing and pretty as well.
Only negatives are as follows...There should be a later checkout time instead of 11 am (maybe 12 or 1 pm), especially since the check in time is 4 pm (and our room wasn't ready when we got there...we went to the grocery store). I made sure to check out by 11 am. So I don't think I had an issue but later noticed a charge of $ 37.50 to my checking account. Could be for the faulty sliding closet door that cracked at the top. Also, be sure to clean your kitchen before you leave and wash all dishes and put them up appropriately (that possibly be what I was charged for as ours was spotless...we even left a little food in the fridge...hate to just throw it away). You have to pay for tokens ($3) per load to wash clothes unless you are a member. Also there are hours that the laundry room is open (10 am to 7 pm), but they will open it for you if you need it after that. There is a free shuttle at certain times to the grocery store and will pick you up in an hour...be timely I saw a couple get left. Also a free shuttle to town in Punda / Otrapunda for shopping. They charge for local calls which I thought was ridiculous (how else am I to get in touch with Curious2Dive so that they know we have arrived).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I had a small room. Like living on a boat surrounded by water and no seasickness. Beautiful and lovely!
My small room was not that nice but the bigger rooms with a nice kitchen are great. I love the Boss Estela Villanueva. Very friendly beautiful and professional. Alejandra's okay too and i especially liked Danielli too only she wasn't too keen on being sociable.
The restaurant Augusto's wasn't too good but with a beautiful kitchen like that and a daily shuttle service to the supermarket noone need depend on that restaurant.
Only the price.
Unfortunately for me it's a hotel i can't afford to visit a second time anytime soon.
They're not friendly enough to compensate my 500 dollars a night but if all hotels worldwide were all equally expensive. RSA would be my favourite hotel.
Only Savita always acts..
She's a bad actress very disturbing and on departure she called me an AJO! Instead of giving me a warm hug and kiss goodbye.
Danielli didn't hug and kiss me goodbye either..
Danielli you owe me!
Coming to Curacao next winter!
Nice hotel and the moisture destroyed the paint job too in my room and noone gave me a hard time about that either. Good job.
Only those no smoking 'or else' signs were a little peculiar.
Kind regards to all at RSA especially to Estella and Danielli.
Danny from Holland.

Sorry if i should have rated excellent!
Perphaps i should still but i had a small room not the bigger appartment with the fantastic kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed July 18 thru 25 in a two bed two bath. So much room and so comfortable. Air conditioning was incredible. Property was quiet and private. Sometimes we felt as if we were the only ones there! Beach was nice too. Quiet and relaxing.

Only negatives are the lack of channels on the three flat screens in the apartment. Found the bed comfortable, however, was a bit put off by the outdated bedspreads. Those things are notorious for the various bodily fluids they accumulate!

Room Tip: Can't imagine there being a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The resort is amazing, the staff is super nice. We stayed in the small studio which wasn't that small.
It had the essentials, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and plates. It's very clean. the only thing i find absurd is their checkout policy. it's at 11am. which is not bad, but make sure you check out before 11am, Every 15 min after 11 is a $50 charge and you have to make sure the kitchen is completely clean with the dishes washed and put where they belong if not they will charge you a cleaning fee on top of tipping the cleaning lady for making your bed and trowing your trash.
Besides these 2 ridiculous rules, it's pretty much good. Just make sure you take care of those 2 things before you check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway or for a family vacation. The friendly staff will make you feel right at home and take care of your every need. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or by the pool, join in the fun activity program, try your hand at water sports, visit the world-famous Sea Aquarium right next door to the resort or explore the island, you are sure to enjoy yourselves.The resort has 30 fully furnished Caribbean Ocean View Two Bedroom Master Suites (sleeping six) which can be divided into 30 Ocean View One Bedroom Suites (sleeping four) and 30 Ocean View Junior Suites (sleeping two). We will do everything we can to help you and your family get the most out of your stay on Curacao and we hope that you find the resort information and sightseeing ideas featured here useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sea Aquarium Hotel
Royal Sea Aquarium Curaçao
Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.