We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dushi Sea Aquarium- The Best birthday present!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Winter Promo!
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Durham, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dushi Sea Aquarium- The Best birthday present!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I took this trip with my dad, my sister, and my best friend. My father owns a timeshare at a Royal Resort in St. Maarten, and they allowed him to exchange for a week here to better accomodate his schedule. My sister, my friend, and myself decided to join him because it also coincided with my birthday weekend.

Although my sister, my friend, and I are all in our 20's we were definitely looking for a place to relax- and the Sea Aquarium resort was that place! From the moment we arrived, we had a wonderful time. Our villa was gorgeous (with wonderful views of the Sea Aquarium). The staff was AMAZING. Marcella, Jioxenne, Tyiesha, and our housekeeper often went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time! We got to taste local nightlife, and even took private Zumba classes (complete with a needed, though not asked for wake-up call one day when we partied a bit too hard) :)

It's a quiet, small resort which meant that we didn't have to deal with large crowds. In fact, we pretty much knew all of the guests that were at the resort by the end of our stay!

Being close to Sea Aquarium beach was great for when we wanted to party. The only downside was that on our first day, people at the beach made us pay an entrance fee even though we were told that we are able to use that beach for free from hotel staff.

The staff was great in providing directions- we drove, and we didn't get lost once! We even drove 3/4 around the island to look at various beaches/sites in one day!

We are desperately trying to get my dad to give up his St. Maarten timeshare and get one here so that we can all come back to our Dushi Sea Aquarium.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    72
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
97
126
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraser, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

This resort was great! If you have young children it is right next door to the aquarium and it is free for Royal Sea Aquarium Resort guests! So you can come and go as you please which is great with young kids! The service was above and beyond and we loved all the amenities from the pools to the beach, renting kayaks and signing out the snorkel gear. We had a blast! The staff went above and betond to accomodate any needs we had! I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We had a wonderful CELEBRATION of our 70th BIRTHDAYS at “The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort.” With us was our family of twelve including; Grand-pa and Grand -ma from New Jersey, Stephen & Melanie from Vermont, and Todd & Cynthia from Colorado and six grand children ages 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, and12 yrs old.

Late in 2008, a business acquaintance had suggested our grand children experience the unique Aquarium at his homeland, on the Lesser Antilles Dutch Island of Curacao.
Coordinating schedules of 12 active people took advanced planning. However, after deciding to stay at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, all became so easy. Marciella and her superb Team suggested, preplanned, scheduled, reserved, and after arrival, implemented ever-so-many needs and activities for us. Whatever was needed, from transportation and directions, groceries, to towels and snorkeling gear, they were on top of it, with a smile!!

We highly recommend this resort. It shares a small private island on the reef adjacent to the unique Sea Aquarium, with unlimited free admission into the Aquarium and Dolphin Academy exhibits, activities, & shows for resort guests. The uniqueness is education and interaction with sea life. After learning about sharks, the children pet and fed them. (Melanie actually kissed a Nurse Shark). Dolphin and Sea Lion Education and Instruction preceded their lengthy interactions with us giving signals for “our dolphins ” to hug, kiss, sing ("Happy Birthday?”), dance on their pectoral fins, play ball, turn for belly rubbing, give dorsal fin rides, feeding them etc.

The resort was clean, quiet and secure. Usually when we swam, it seemed we were the only ones in the sparkling pools or on the private beach. Everyone, including those 4 & 5 years old, snorkeled. They said, "The fish tickled."

The Vermont family spent a day in Willemstad, practicing languages, touring sites like the slave museum, old Christian churches, the oldest synagogue in the World, eating local foods and actually got Ben & Jerry’s ice cream.

The Colorado family toured the caves and tried 3 of the 30 public beeches with snorkel gear in-hand. One of them was the 4th best beech in the World.

Grand-pa says, “Curacao is now number one.” He was helped by the security officer on the uphill ramp from the plane. She declined a tip and gave him a big hug. At the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort’s registration, when we were all greeted with cold drinks, he was greeted with a beer. And this multicultural friendliness never let up during the entire week!!!

May you all live so long as to have such a VACATION!!!!

The Cook's of NJ

Room Tip: See the airial view to select your ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

WOW! We spent a week at the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort. It was fantastic. The rooms were large, clean, and all have ocean views. Our room overlooked the Curacao Sea Aquarium next door. We could, and did, sit on our very large balcony and watch the dolphin show daily. (You get unlimited free admission to the aquarium in addition to the view.) We never heard any of our neighbors and we were on the middle floor. This is a quiet, mature resort. When I say "mature", I mean that they cater to couples and families, but not the "spring break party" crowd. We had a wonderful time there and will be back. This is a time share resort but we were only asked casually, in passing, if we were interested in any information. When we said that Curacao was difficult to get to from the Pacific Northwest, they continued to treat us like an owner, but never asked again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We were the renters at the timeshare resort and were surprisingly treated just like the owners. We were only asked ONCE if we wanted to hear the sales pitch, we declined and it wasn't brought up again.
The concierge, Marsela, was amazing and worked hard at making sure every guest got to do everything they wanted.
Villas are great. Large bedrooms and lilving space, clean, comfortable, amazing views from large balconies. Fully equipt kitchen helps tremendously with the budget! Free resort shuttle to town and grocery store. House keeping was wonderful too.
Resort is quiet, peaceful and not crowded. Resort is not for partiers, but great for couples looking for peace and quiet or families with multiple generations.
Location is nice, about 15 minutes from town. walkable to reasturants down the beach. Sea aquarium is ok, dolphins are neat. If you stay in the A or B buildings, you can watch the shows and when they bring the dolphins out in the open ocean for "play time" or diving with dolpins.
Hotel restaurant was ok, lunch was better than dinner and much betterr priced.
Best restaurant we ate at was Seaside Terrace... about 15 minute walk down the beach.
Only catch is that we had to change rooms. the resort runs like most timeshares, sat-sat, we stayed for 9 days, wed-fri and had to change rooms on saturday as the "owner" who always got our unit was arriving. little frustrating as we had plans to be diving on Saturday, but the housekeeping staff moved us, including our full fridge of groceries.

Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We are frequent Caribbean travelers but this was our first trip to Curacao. The resort was very small with beautiful views of ocean from most all rooms. Our unit was very spacious and very clean and comfortable - bed was great. The check-in was quick and easy and the staff offered each of us a cold drink upon arrival. We found that there was never a problem finding chairs by the pools or by the beach. There are 2 pools, 1 kiddie pool and a hot tub - never crowded and most of the time we were the only ones in the pool! We were very disappointed with the beach. It is small and lots of shells or coral. We rented a car and traveled the majority of the island. After doing some research and seeing the beaches, we found out that the beaches in Curacao are mostly shells and coral. We were told that most of the sand in Curacao was brought in from Aruba.
The staff at the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort were all OUTSTANDING. Marcella is the go to person at this resort. She was always there to assist whenever needed and spoke with most of the guest everyday to see if she could do anything for them. She was amazing to say the least.
Also Alejandra, who works in the office, actually had us follow her to a restaurant approx. 30 minutes away to make sure we didnt get lost and offered to meet us for the return trip. These employees were like none we've ever seen. I cant say enough about them.
We had a problem in our room with a water leak (air conditiioning) - we called and maintenance man was there within 5 minutes and fixed immediately. They are all very attentive and all want you to have a wonderful vacation.
This resort is perfect for relaxing - if you are looking for lots of activity and/or night life, this is not the place for you.
We own a timeshare in Aruba where there are room taxes and energy fee surcharges - this is not the case at this resort. We exchanged our week just to try a new location and were pleased.
We tried several restaurants.
Augusto's - this is the restaurant at the Royal Sea Aqua Resort. We had delicious meals there reasonably priced. Grouper $17.50, Spagetti with tomato sauce $12.50, Lasagna $17.50
breakfast - pancakes $5.50 (came with bacon), bagel $3.50 (with cream cheese)
lunch - ceasar salad w/chicken - $10.00, coors light $2.50 and LARGE pina colada $8.00 (but worth it)
The Boathouse - very expensive but ok -- nice view -- watch out for the mosquitos.
The Grillking - in Punda - directly on the ocean - red snapper, shrimp and mussels lunch was great - ceasar salad with chicken - skip it (trust me).
The Renissance Casino was very nice - some table games w/$10.00 min and lots of slots - not at all crowded and free parking in deck - also very nice shopping all around the Renissance (but shops close at 6). Lots of small cafes in Punda and Otrabanda - must see the floating bridge that connects these two towns.
I would recommend a car if your good at navigating - all street signs (when you can find them) are in Dutch. After couple days, we had no problems with our map finding our way around the island. We felt very comfortable day or night when we were out - never felt unsafe. This resort is on a man made island and the parking lot is a short walk across a bridge which has 24 hr security - can only drive across bridge when checking in or out or if have groceries to drop off - that was a negative.
People on this island are very helpful and pleasant, if you need directions. The primary language is Papiemento and Dutch but most will speak English if asked a question. English is definetely not heard alot on this island. We felt that the majority of tourists were European - not American.
Overall, we had a very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlejandraGonzalez_11, Front Office Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear RobertPatricia:

Thank You very much for your comments, we always try our best to go the extra Mile for our Members and Guest.

I hope you enjoyed the view from The Boat House Restaurant.

Looking forward to see you in your next trip to our Beautiful Curacao.

Have a DUSHI day, Alejandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We are currently staying here, have done so three times but this place has taken a turn for the worse. Preparing a meal on Sunday, go to cook our meal, oven is broken. Woke up this morning to find kitchen garbage in the tub. The sewer backed up and so our tub became a holding tank. No one ever took the time to explain any activities to us, we only found out when someone called the room to tell us something was canceled we all went down to Happy Hour to find just a cooler with ice. The lady running it said there was no vodka, someone messed up the order 2 weeks ago, and no blended drinks because the blender was broken. The wine she served us must have been opened awhile ago. It was just plain awful. I think no one working here cares anymore. I would not recommend staying here when there are great places right next store that really do a terrific job for their guests.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway or for a family vacation. The friendly staff will make you feel right at home and take care of your every need. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or by the pool, join in the fun activity program, try your hand at water sports, visit the world-famous Sea Aquarium right next door to the resort or explore the island, you are sure to enjoy yourselves.The resort has 30 fully furnished Caribbean Ocean View Two Bedroom Master Suites (sleeping six) which can be divided into 30 Ocean View One Bedroom Suites (sleeping four) and 30 Ocean View Junior Suites (sleeping two). We will do everything we can to help you and your family get the most out of your stay on Curacao and we hope that you find the resort information and sightseeing ideas featured here useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sea Aquarium Hotel
Royal Sea Aquarium Curaçao
Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.