We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish and well equipped apartment in nice Jan Thiel area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort to your Saves list
Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jan Thiel Baai z/n, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“stylish and well equipped apartment in nice Jan Thiel area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed in the Montana deluxe apartment (I cant judge on the other apartments) and had a great time:

-very well equipped kitchen
-beautiful dark furniture
-huge terrace
-airco and fans working well

-gardens around very well kept
-big pool
-Jan Thiel area is great in all kinds of ways, beach and supermarket most of all

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
27
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The resort is quiet and family-friendly. The guests seemed to be mostly from the Netherlands, many with kids/grand kids. Several of them translated what my Dutch-speaking 3 year old granddaughter was saying to the other kids in the kiddie pool. The facilities (reception area, pool, restaurant, etc.) are attractive and generously proportioned for the size/population of the resort. The rooms are clean and have all the basic amenities. The resort is close to the beach and several very nice beach bars/restaurants. There is an excellent diving school on the resort grounds. There is an expensive but well-stocked grocery store across the street from the resort. Unless you want to explore the entire island, a rental car is not necessary. The public bus service stops at the front door of the resort and goes near most of the island's tourist attractions. The Livingstone Resort is highly recommended for what it is: a comfortable place, not too far form the water, in a quiet corner of a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher ground of the resort. There seems to be a steady comfortable breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying at jan thiel livingstone resort. Right next to the nice zanzibar beach location at the most beautiful bay on curacao. Tropical plants and quiet island life is best enjoyed on this safe haven on Curacao

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nothing special...Good for a price...The beach and reastaurants are nearby,also a supermarket is close .Apartment is large and nice...They have a very large and nice swimming pool..Diving center is located in the resort...As I said good for a price :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The houses were ok nothing fancy but spacious and clean. The beach and restaurants are at a walking distance. Must say that the water they use for their plant stinks. I think they recicle the water and its very unpleasent. It's not that save since friends enter without being question by security.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Good:
The flat is large and clear, but only at the upper floor (those at the ground floor are dark with a smaller terrace).
- The kitchen is convenient with sufficient utensils.
- A diving center is located within the resort: Johan and Monique knows perfectly well the diving spots and can propose you taylor-made dives. If you dive, don't miss them.
- A super-market close to the resort. - A really large (25 m) and beautiful swimming-pool which allows to swim.
The Bad:
-Extremely bad management: at the reservation (mid october 2013) I have expressed my wishes: Montana flat at the upper floor and with a sea view. This was agreed upon. Early January I have been contacted by phone (which was nice) to tell me the sea view was not possible (why??) but I would be upgraded to a larger flat: I agreed. End of January, nothing was done, nobody was aware and I have spent 2 days of hard discussions, in a dark flat, before I could have a flat at the upper floor.
- The beach at the sea side is private, 200 m outside the resort, artificial, with too many people alined on lounge chairs. It is forbidden to lay on the sand and it is mandatory to pay for lounge chairs.
- No bank in the surroundings, and the only cash machine (which was located outside the resort) debited by bank account with 1500 ANG (around 1000 US$) without giving me any banknotes!

Room Tip: If you select a Montana flat, request a flat at the upper floor: the ones at the ground floor have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Livingstone is a ok resort with ok prices for curaçao understandings (not a cheap island) Its not luxury bud has everything what you need especially when you are with children. The beach near bye has 4 beach clubs and caracasbaai is not far away so there is plenty to do. The only advice what i give you about this resort is to take the some more expensive apartment that has a airco in the bedroom AND LIVINGROOM, It was to hot in the living room of our apartment! I see some negative reviews about the service and i can't say much about it because we only had our night rest there and the rest we did some place else (eating, drinking, sitting on the beach and enjoying the rest of the island)

Room Tip: apartment at the front of the resort so you don't have to walk up and down every day, and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort

Address: Jan Thiel Baai z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingstone Jan Thiel Hotel
Livingstone Jan Thiel Curaçao
Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.