We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Brionplein z/n | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Oranjestad, null, Aruba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here with my family in April 2013, the rooms were not that big and average.But the price is ok for what you get. But what stands out is the location, Howard Johnson is close by the " Emma brigde" that you cross over to get to Punda. Punda is great for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    32
    20
    10
See reviews for
24
26
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There was no fridge in the room, I called for electric kettle and was told I have to wait for the next day before I could get one. I ask to borrow the iron n was told $15 to borrow and I have to wait for the next colleague to get there because the one there face is dirty and it was shown to me.the furnitures look terrible the lobby looks run down , the front door to go to the elevator looks so dirty and unattractive. For the price charged it should be a better quality and room service.oh n to get wifi u have to go in the lobby that way u go outside in the public eye to go to the lobby. The bathroom tiles need to scrub n pool nasty

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My first impression of the hotel was a good one, reception was excellent, got wifi password and was quite contented.... that was until I was directed to my room... I had to exit the hotel lobby-that is to walk back outside- in order to access stairs/elevator. I was a bit terrified because it was my first time at this hotel and I was alone. But I did make it to my room safely and was impressed with the room. It was huge with a king bed with an old tattered couch and recliner. But what cheered me up was the balcony. I had a beautiful view of Punda and the floating bridge which I really enjoyed. The downside was that there's NO WIFI once you get to your room. Only the lobby. I asked for coffee and a coffee maker for my room and was surprised when all I got was a coffee maker and 2 cups!! Where did the expect me to get the coffee/creamer/sugar from?

The following morning, left my room and noticed the carpet in the corridors had a horrible smell. I practically held my breath! Then I had to use the rather slow and hot elevator and again exit the hotel to access the lobby and the cafe for breakfast. That's when I saw the pool. One word-disgusting. I won't even bathe my dog in there. For breakfast I was served cold eggs, watery coffee and tasty hot arepas. The nice lady at breakfast made me forget that my eggs were cold because of her warm smile and friendly demeanor. If you don't like the cafe food, just do like I did... theres KFC, Subway and Pizza Hut downstairs. Or the Mall next door with a wide variety of tasty food.
In conclusion, yes I will stay here again if i need to do business. The furniture was old and needs to be changed, but the bed was clean, view was beautiful and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Minus: no automatic sliding doors, which makes it difficult to move around if you have a lot a baggage, elevator is hot and closes twice on the second floor before taking you to the lobby, bad lighting in the corridors, no signs to give you direction to your room, no hot water, slippery bathtub, flickering lights in bathroom, no American power outlets, bad housekeeping, nasty looking furniture in lobby and room, dirty pool, limited breakfast choice, tripping hazard along side pool, ironing board no iron, old fridge, toilet placed too close to the toilet paper holder.

Plus: great bed, friendly receptionist (although I was told when I checked in that I did not have to pay immediately.....turned out I had to), great view (if you have a balcony.....room 224), kfc, pizza hut and subway all in the same building.......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Nicolas, Aruba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

the room smells bad.. the tv is too small.. The bed was cheap not so comfortable.. didn't like it at all :S I expected more! it has wel a great view and is in a good location.. it has been the worst place I've ever stayed in Curacao!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i think this is the worst hotel i have ever been too. moss around the pool area.breakfast staff not properly no hair nets hence hair in food.
roaches in rooms. dark corridors and bad bulbs in rooms.
on the up side the room was very spacious with new tv and comfy bed-sheets seemed clean.
bathtub was is a trap-accident waiting to happen watch yr step in and out.
good location though alth felt a little unsafe walking back to the hotel at night it is a nice central location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOBAGO
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The reception at the hotel was excellent. The hotel is situated in an ideal spot-heart of Town.
But the worst part is that they were not cleaning the rooms until we complained, and then we realise that the sheets were not being changed so we had to report that and then they will come, that's crazy. Imagine we were there for 7 nights. And i carried my niece on a suprise trip, first time out of the country and that is what i expose her too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino

Address: Brionplein z/n | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel And Casino
Howard Johnson Willemstad
Willemstad Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.