We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Brionplein z/n | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Scarborough, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It wasn't bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel was good although the pool was dirty and also there are a lot of starirs leading up to each floor. Hotel staff a courteous(mostly). It is in a great location and it offerss an exceptional view of the town from the second floor up. Rooms smell a lil bit like smoke and the fridge doesn't work so well. All in all the rooms aren't tht bad.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
24
26
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tobago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

To begin with the good points..This hotel is ideally suited in the heart of the city centre..close to shopping, dining and entertainment. Overall the hotel was safe enough, had electronic locks throughout. The reception was a bit offkeyed, a short walk from the hotel itself, at the entrance tot he hotel there were quite a number of young people hanging out which I was a bit skeptical about.
Reception was excellent, very helpful and always willing to offer whatever assistance they could provide. The hotel itself needs some renovations, there were minor work that needs to be done, such as replacing handles on the cupboards, fixing the closet doors etc, but housekeeping did a fair job in cleaning daily, replacing fresh clean linens daily.
Breakfast was good, however I found it was way too expensive..USD 25.00 per room.. and you were basically served breakfast a la carte..
We did request non smoking rooms however when we entered there was a very strong stench of cigarette smoke.
All in all it is a good cheap place to stay in the city.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of the ocean..excellent to wake up each morning to
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

If you want to be at the center of Willemstad and don't want a very expensive hotel, this is a good choice. I was a little nourvous when I arrived at the backside of the hotel, because it doesn't look nice. But when you see the hotel from the front it looks great, it is right acros from the floating bridge. I've only had breakfast there once, it was okay, but really nothing special. Because you are at the center of Willemstad you can easily have breakfast lunch and diner at any of the restaurants. They show a swimmingpool with the hotel but it is way to small, I didn't use it. You can take a bus to one of the beaches and swim in the ocean. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you just need a place to sleep, then this hotel will do. Apart from rather worn-down rooms and a central location right on the Plaza Brion, this hotel has NOTHING to write home about. Staying here will NOT be a good holiday choice. There are better alternatives in Curacao than this one, and the price difference is often marginal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

When I made my reservation, I specifically asked about the internet, so when I arrived, I was surprised to be told that the internet wasn't working.

Arriving after 9 pm on Sunday, I was given little help finding anything to eat. (The one suggestion - the Pizza Hut - closed at 10 pm.)

Despite an ice bucket in the room, I failed to locate any ice to put in it - one machine disconnected, the other just did not work.

The view over the pontoon bridge into the old town was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The location of the Howard Johnson was very good, right across the pontoon bridge in Otrabanda. The rooms were good sized. The view from our room across the water to Willemstad was gorgeous. But that's about all that can be said in its favor. The information sheet which we got from the hotel agent said that the rooms came with air conditioning, AM/FM clock, coffee maker, hairdryer, high speed Internet access, in room safe, and iron and ironing board. Well ours didn't. We were taken to our room and found that the lamps in the room were physically broken and did not work. These were changed by taking some from another room (wonder what those poor guests had to do for light). The airconditioning could not be regulated so we ended up turning it off completely. There was no clock, I don't remember if there was a coffee maker, there was no Internet access; there was a safe, but it had no lock and there was a big hole where the lock should have been; there was a broken ironing board, but no iron. But the most important thing for us was that there was no hairdryer. When we told the receptionist about this when we arrived she said that she noted it and that it would be dealt with in the morning. When this didn't happen, we enquired again at reception in the morning and were rudely told (by a different receptionist) that they were dealing with it and that the dryer would be placed in our room. When we returned and this had not happened, we asked again and were then told that no one had promised us a hair dryer at all. The only thing going for this hotel is its location. Nothing else. Couldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was our first visit to curacao and i must say we enjoyed it,from doing a little research on the internet the reviews were not so good about the hotel but seeing it for myself was the complete opposite,the staff was very friendly and accomadating our room 319 was large,great view of the floating bridge housekeeping vaccumed and cleaned everyday we got cleaned towels everyday and the food in the hotel's restaurant was delicious,it has a children's park outside i think it's a public park it does not belong to the hotel but our daughter had fun sliding and swinging,the people are very friendly and the shopping AMAZING,the next time we visit curacao we will be staying at this hotel it's very affordable but they really need to have their pool cleaned everyday though,it was smelly and dirty so we took a taxi to the nearest beach.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino

Address: Brionplein z/n | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel And Casino
Howard Johnson Willemstad
Willemstad Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.