We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodations, Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao to your Saves list
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd. 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Big Fall Savings!
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good accommodations, Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed at Sunscape for 6 nights for our Honeymoon. They have honeymoon packages starting for guests staying for 7 nights, however they were kind enough to give us some of the extras (dinner by the beach, breakfast in bed) at no charge as soon as we checked in which was great. There were far more pros to this resort than cons. The staff was awesome and extremely friendly, however some of their older rooms could use some updating.

Our first room had an extremely strong smell of mildew. We let the front desk know and they immediately moved us to a new room which was great. It would be great to see the hotel pay a little more attention to that. I'm sure if one room had the issue, there would be others, too.

Our second room was nice. It was on the first floor and had a patio right on the beach. However, there were several cockroaches which I and my wife were not too happy to see. Again, we spoke with the front desk and I let them know we weren't happy with our little visitors and they immediately moved us to a new room. I think with a little more attention payed to the rooms on the first floor where it's very easy for them to get in, it wouldn't be a problem.

Our last room was beautiful. It was a second floor room overlooking the beach. They provided us champagne for our inconvenience.

The pros: The staff! The whole staff treated you not only like a customer, but a friend. "My Pleasure" is a common phrase heard among the staff.
Yvonne in the coffee shop was great and provided us with friendly service early in the morning when we needed our caffeine fix.
Riomar hooked us up with some great drinks at the bar and provided some bar-tending classes along with the Entertainment Team.
Leo, Crazy G, and O'Bryan knew us by name by the middle of the week and would always greet us when we'd see them during the day. They also cut down some coconuts for us so we could try some fresh coconut water...and then ultimately fill them with rum. They went out of their way to make sure our trip was memorable. They were great at getting people involved in the activities.
The entire staff in the World Cafe was also great and extremely attentive to their guests during meal times.
The food was pretty good, too. They had the World Cafe which was the buffet that provided a breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Good soups and delicious fried plantains. There were also 4 other specialty restaurants that provided seafood, italian, hibachi, and steak. The grill was great during the day to get your hamburger, hot dog, and french fry fix.

The cons: Parts of the beach are pretty rocky. Bring water shoes.
I'm sure there were other people that also experienced the same problem we had with cockroaches and mildew so I think a little updating and attention to detail to cleanliness will go a long way.

I would definitely recommend this hotel based on their great customer service and their good accommodations.

A side note- if you choose to take the trip out to Klein Curacao, please note it's not a relaxing ride out there! The trip back to Curacao is easy, but when traveling against the wind and waves it's a little scary. We went on a calm day according to the crew and it was still a pretty intense ride.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 2000 block are updated so I would recommend something from the 2200s and up. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    778
    383
    147
    96
See reviews for
641
923
116
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Curaçao

Good - karrion - bfast buffet

Day one - Saturday 6/28
Wrong room - not nice - 3rd floor no elevator - disco obscene -tv turns green - steak house closed - no turn down service

Day two - Sunday 6/29
relaxing - Xavier concierge very help - with room too - oceanic - called the front desk to be sure it is open - they say yes - we dress to the nines - it is closed. HORRIBLE management - blue water grill - waitress rather curt and did not offer dessert even though others were still dining. Italian hostess was wonderful - entertainment good - goto bed early for tomorrow's tour - get a phone call from the front desk at 1135 pm telling us they got a message earlier to remind us about being in the lobby in the morning. Still no facecloths and the tv turns green


Day 3 - Monday 6/30
Karrion at breakfast Buffett was wonderful.
Full day tour - driver great, tour ok, it was supposed to be an outdoors tour if the natl park - instead we got a stand around your of a plantation house and only drive thru the park at breakneck speed. Lunch was a measly bag of rolls and 3 small containers (tuna, chicken and egg salad) - that was it' no chips, no fruit, no side of any sort. The Geiser was great - Howard was very knowledgable. We got back at 4pm - housekeeping was only then cleaning our room, I am seeing why no turn down service! Overnight I had experienced a nose bleed - I took the pillow off the bed and removed both cases. It was very clear what happened and I left them neatly placed on the floor next to the bed. Given the lack if services here, I took off the new cases and confirmed what I though, they just put new cases on the bloodied pillow! We called and asked for a manager, again, one was not available - but they would send a housekeeping supervisor up- they did, she fixed it and finally 2 days in, brought us facecloths. However, after at least 3 calls to the front deal and 2 visits in person, no manager has been available to us.
Dinner - 3 of 5 restaurants are closed! There is then a 1 hour wait for dinner! A lively walk to the Oceania - at least a full days worth of dirty dishes stacked in the walkway. Juddrinnet was a great server!
No turn down service

Day 4 - tues 7/1 - golf

Another great breakfasts buffet with karrion. Gold was great a except the Xavier forgot to give us the 20%discount voucher for golf. The pro shop was very helpful and gave it anyway. Upon our return, we find our Xavier is off - did not book our trip to the island, did not book our golf and did nothing about our room.
?? Tried to help us out, she said the boat was broken - we sent to the dive shop ourselves and were told the boat is fine, the but all tours are full. I made my own reservations for golf as it seems pointless to use most told the concierge staff. But ??? Did book us a complimentary romantic dinner on the beach.
Nani at the world cafe is great - running between a barista and bartender at rendezvous.
Went to the sports bar for the World Cup match - no bartender! 2 pool tables but only one set of balls and 2 sticks! So we go back to the rendezvous bar for drinks - there are 4 paying guests standing, while the girl at the photo stand uses one of the chairs.

We came back from a day off site (best day yet) only to find the measly mini bar NOT stocked.

Dinner - arrive at the Japanese place at 8pm - with over half of the tables empty- we are told earliest table is 930 - I smiled and asked the hostess about this and she admitted, confidentially there is note nought staff! Since we has to wait, we order drinks at the pool bar - YET AGAIN ~ the bartender does not know how to make the drink of the day and hands us a frozen green drink - as the sunset cocktail (which is neither frozen nor green)
Dinner itself was good but by no means an actual entree the chef that was cooking our food was giving it to servers for floor tables without increasing the amount of food he cooked. My entree was about 1/2 c of chicken.

Day 5 - wed - 7/2 - breakfast great again - however we were told the Italian restaurant would not be open tomorrow- when they are supposed to do our romantic dinner. We spoke to Isis - she confirmed but would try to get someone to work -
Another great day, as we were off site - old quarry golf and dinner at Santa Barbara plantation great
When get back - we have a note on our bed - someone changed the dinner beach to tonight at 845! We told them it was for tomorrow, we now have even lower expectations
Casino and disco were fun

Day 6 - thur 7/3

Off-site - island tour with acetif - the driving has a very negative attitude he does not like people on welfare, rich Dutch couples, the Chinese invasion - not recommended - driver got $100 kickback from lunch- half if the tabs!

Dinner on the beAch - great service - same ok food - however - no romantic turn down service - no turndown service the entire time

Day 7 - fri 7/4 - off site - second rate tour arranged by resort - kleine curaçao - no towels no access to restaurant no charges - the other tour there had everything. When we got back - mini bar not restocked, maids had gone thru drawers- when we complained to Xavier, he said he would have comp bottle of champagne at dinner - no one at the restaurant was told, Xavier was gone - we got back to the room at 11pm to find champagne and fruit - we are leaving in 4 hours - these do us no good at all.



Day 8 sat 7/5 - 330am wake up call worked and a security guard assisted with our luggage - other guests on the same flight were told there was no bell hop service available that early and lugged their own bags.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review posted regarding your visit at Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa and Casino.
We value your feedback on the Trip Advisor. Your feedback will be intensively reviewed with all the departments concerned. However we regret not having received the opportunity to communicate with you while you were present at the Resort. We are confident that any of the Managers or Executives would have turnaround your dissatisfactions into a pleasant stay.

Our aim has always been to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction. For this reason we have introduced the Unlimited Fun Experience to this property. Attributes like: No reservation needed for none of the specialty restaurants; no bracelets; all rooms consist of a minibar that is refilled on the daily basis; butler service on the Beach for the clients that has booked our Preferred experience.
We have also introduced two new areas where guest can mingle and get to know more people. Therefore we have our Coco Café and the Rendezvous bar.

Should you consider giving us another opportunity in the future please feel free to contact us.

Yours Sincerely,


Jose Corletto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana Province, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Lovely hotel, the stay was wonderful happens. great bars and restaurants especially the restaurant mario and oceana, also the lobby bar and sugar bars reff. comfort in the amazing rooms. good call option !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

It was an experience fabolous, my wife and me had the best vacations! the service is great, my wife was enchanted for the spa. We enjoy the restaurants and facilities. We are so happy. We would come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino.
Thank you for having chosen us as your vacation destination and taking the time to share with us your resent stay with us. We thank you for your comments, please know we appreciate them and it means a lot to us, as it helps us know that we are accomplishing our goals of making our guests happy.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed most of the facilities. Most important that our staff 's mission is to offer you a remarkable and unforgettable experience.

On behalf of Sunscape Curacao, we look forward to your next stay at your home away from home. Hoping it is sometime soon!

Best Regards,

Jose Corletto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The resort is NOT a 3-4 star resort. The wait and bar staff were often slow and unaccommodating. The pool bar was never open and the adults only policies were never enforced. The wait for the restaurants was nearly 2 hours for dinner and when finally seated, only 1/2 the items were available from the meeting. We called to order room service, but the phone was never answered. We finally went to the front desk to place our order and breakfast was delivered 1 1/2 hours later and cold.

The beach was nice, but very rocky. The location is great near the Aquarium, Mambo Beach and downtown. If you are able I suggest renting a car and venturing out on the island to visit other beaches. The room decor and comfort was satisfactory. I cannot stress the lack of customer service and ambiance. It's just not what you would normally expected for a beach resort in the Caribbean. I would not recommend this "resort" for future visits.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino,
Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to host you at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino.
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your overall expectation.
As a service oriented company, we always strive to meet and succeed our guests' expectations, and for that reason, your comments and feedback are taken very seriously in order to offer all our clients a remarkable experience and high quality service as you all deserve.
We wish we had the opportunity to contact you while you were staying with us. We are certain that with some correction we would have changed your stay and maybe even make transform it into a positive one.

We look forward to an opportunity of hosting you and your family again in the future.

Should there be anything else we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours Sincerely,

Jose Corletto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A 3and no more. Place needs renovations. Entertainment needs much to be desired.restaurants are all outdoors, mosquitoes and flies love this.very hot and humid even at 9:00pm. Bug spray from lobby store $21.00.

Room Tip: Hope for preferred guest upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We recently travel on trip with my husband company to this resort, I read some bad reviews about this place so I was a little nervous but I have to say we had a great time, sales &events staff were amazing, everyone was nice & very helpful, Himitsu my favorite restaurant, beach length is great to walk or just lay down in a far spot, preferred pool it was nice & quiet however we stay in the Royal tower near the restaurants & main pool. I would say don’t believe everything you read , live it yourself :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the Royal tower are the best are quiet and big, preferred is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
1.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao
Blue Bay Curacao
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
2.6 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao

Address: Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd. 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Endless fun in the sun.Enjoy a fun-filled getaway of a lifetime at Sunscape Curaçao Resort, Spa & Casino (previous Princess Beach Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino). Located Soutern-western of the Caribbean and just off the coast of Venezuela, the 38-mile long island of Curaçao offers idyllic weather, exquisite beaches, spectacular snorkeling and much more to families, couples, singles and friends. At Sunscape Curaçao all guests will enjoy an Unlimited-Fun® vacation where everything is included from top-shelf spirits and daily refreshed mini-bar, to limitless food and beverages and endless daily activities. Guests can enjoy the on-site dive center at Sunscape Curaçao where they can catch a boat right at the resort to the National Underwater Park and enjoy diving and snorkeling at one of the most popular diving sites in the world. Located just 10 miles from the International Airport Hato and two miles from the capital city of Willemstad, guests can enjoy everything that Curaçao has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Resort, Spa & Casino - Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Breezes Resort, Spa And Casino - Curacao
Breezes Curacao Hotel
Breezes Resort Curacao
Superclub Breezes Curacao
Breeze Curacao
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.