We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort close to the Aquarium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao to your Saves list
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd. 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Jazzyz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Resort close to the Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great experience at a this resort and would recommend to anyone who is on a budget. Definitely not a luxury resort but the food is good and the rooms are new and clean.

Pros
- Great kids club with trips to the aquarium
- Good restaurants and buffet is fresh
- Walking distance to Aquarium and private beach and outdoor shopping mall
- Easy access to city bus ($2/pp) or Resort Shuttle
- Spa is amazing
- Room was very large
- Great coffee bar

Cons
- Wifi not free in rooms
- Beach is not the greatest ( big drop off not great for kids who are learning to swim)
- Gym needs better ventilation or air conditioning
- Parts of the hotel are due for an updating
- Entertainment was lack luster
- Long waits for dinner. Must lineup 1 hour before restaurants are open to reserve a space.

Overall, I would go back to this resort if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    478
    231
    91
    60
See reviews for
359
543
76
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a wonderful time. I travelled with my 19 year old daughter, and 9 year old son. This was our first time in Curacao. We stayed in room 2509, which was beautiful, spacious, and included a large balcony facing the pool and with a lovely ocean view. The room was very clean and the maids did a fantastic job cleaning daily, changing towels daily and we always had plenty of soap, shampoo, etc. The food at this hotel was good. We went to the beach every day, which is gorgeous, white sand and beautiful sea. We snorkel and swam and it was perfect every time… Amazing!! The grounds around this hotel are absolutely beautiful, and so lovely maintained. The pools have tons of activities daily; which had my daughter happy every day and dancing! Big thanks to the Entertainment Team. The pool bars had awesome bartenders that always got every drink perfect and always talking with everyone, never rude even when they have tons of people and drinks to make. The most special thanks goes to the Explorer’s Club. An absolutely amazing and caring group of ladies, Marvett, Yakira, Roxy and Giselle, they were patience and kept my son busy and wanting to go back to play every day!! Everyone who works here are friendly, polite and hardworking, they made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Sunscape Curacao. Upon arrival at the airport we were greeted by someone from our travel company, who set us up with a cab to take us to the resort. We had upgraded to the Preferred Club, so had a private check-in. They offered us champagne, and check-in was a breeze. Our room had been upgraded to an Ocean Front room. We were in 7301 in the Pelican Building. The room was fantastic. 2 walls were windows- a gorgeous view of the Caribbean. The building was quiet, no complaints of noise what-so-ever. WiFi is only offered in the lobby- NOT in the rooms as sometimes advertised. They give you a password, but it only works in the main lobby.

Maid service was good, the room was cleaned daily. We never received the "turn down service" they advertise, but we don't care about that.

One complaint- the "mini bar". When we arrived the fridge was empty. We called, and they brought 2 waters, a Coke, and a Diet Coke. No beer. No wine. We called daily (4 days) and never received a refill or anything. The bars are close by, so DH and I didn't mind much, but that's irritating.

Food was great, I will try to write reviews of the specific restaurants in their pages. The bars, fantastic. Drinks were all good- the beer they serve is Polar Bear and Amstel. DH loved both. **TIP** Bring your own insulated cup- the bartenders will fill them up with your drink of choice...otherwise you're getting a little 8 oz cup.

Room service was good, we only go it once. Typical food, but came fairly quickly.

The beach was fabulous, we never had trouble getting an umbrella, and although we had access to the "private" preferred club beach, we just stayed on the general beach the whole time. Not too crowded at all. DH rented a snorkel one day- it was free for the first hour, then you had to pay after, but i'm not sure how much. Apparently it was worth it, DH said he saw a ton of tropical fish in the hour.

One night we did the Private Romantic Dining package- where you have the private dinner on the beach. This is an extra cost but worth it. Just the two of you on the beach, under the stars, perfection. DH got lobster, and I had steak. Both meals were good. Plan on sitting there a while, they drag out each course, but it was wonderful sitting under the big beautiful sky. If you do this or want to plan some other private thing, ask for Xavier at the concierge. He was very easy to work with and made sure our stay was perfect.

Towel service was easy, just go to the hut and ask for how many towels you need. I didn't see too many people reserving chairs, especially since you're not supposed to be doing it.

The casino was average. Nothing exciting. Some tables, plus slots. Fairly big. FYI you can smoke inside- that turned us off.

Overall, the resort isn't too big, which was perfect for us. Everything was close by and you didn't need to trek across the resort to get to one place or the other.

Room Tip: We stay in the Pelican Rooms. We had an ocean front room with a great balcony. 7301 was the perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel take me a pleasant experience. the most comfortable rooms and great staff. service rooms and services fascinated me amazing bars with their drinks like cleaning all areas and restaurant or say very elegant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana Province, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

was a very pleasant experience living in this great hotel sunscape curacao, convenience and attractiveness in all areas are lovely. the menu offered by restaurants charm me. cleaning the rooms excellent. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We spent a week at Sunscape Curacao. It isn't a luxury resort, but it was a good place to stay while scuba diving. The dive shop, Ocean Encounters, is top notch! The hotel is comfortable and provided what we needed for our stay. The hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly and always helpful. Food was good (Though not great) at the various restaurants and buffet. Many families seemed to be there at the time we stayed. A group of uniformed staff took care of the little kids. Sunscape Curacao, as an all-inclusive resort, is a good value. On the negative side, our room smelled of sewer gas on three occasions, causing us to call management each time. On each occasion, the problem was fixed. Too bad it returned each time. Drinks were included, but I don't drink alcohol. All drinks were so small that I had to order 2 or 3 at a time.
Fruit flies were all over the buffet. Not an appetizing site. If I was returning to dive in Curacao, I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you scuba dive, stay in the tower close to the dive center. If you want quiet, stay on the West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The resort was quite nice and clean. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Check in was quite easy. We were greeted with a nice cold face towel this came in quite good based on the heat!

The rooms were very comfortable,big and clean.2 issues were the safe was not working and we did not get bath soaps when we checked in. We received a lot of literature on the island and the resort upon checking in which made it easy for us to decide how and where we were going to go on the trip.

The staff at the resort were really very friendly they really went all out to make you feel welcome and at home. Same could not be said for some of the interactions that we had with some of the locals out of the resort -some of whom were arrogant at best,this did spoil some of the fun on the trip.

Food was good not great as compared to other all inclusive s. The nightly entertainment was great.

Overall a very nice getaway

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao

Address: Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd. 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#8 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Endless fun in the sun.Enjoy a fun-filled getaway of a lifetime at Sunscape Curaçao Resort, Spa & Casino (previous Princess Beach Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino). Located Soutern-western of the Caribbean and just off the coast of Venezuela, the 38-mile long island of Curaçao offers idyllic weather, exquisite beaches, spectacular snorkeling and much more to families, couples, singles and friends. At Sunscape Curaçao all guests will enjoy an Unlimited-Fun® vacation where everything is included from top-shelf spirits and daily refreshed mini-bar, to limitless food and beverages and endless daily activities. Guests can enjoy the on-site dive center at Sunscape Curaçao where they can catch a boat right at the resort to the National Underwater Park and enjoy diving and snorkeling at one of the most popular diving sites in the world. Located just 10 miles from the International Airport Hato and two miles from the capital city of Willemstad, guests can enjoy everything that Curaçao has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Resort, Spa And Casino - Curacao
Breezes Resort, Spa & Casino - Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Breezes Curacao Hotel
Breezes Resort Curacao
Superclub Breezes Curacao
Breeze Curacao
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.