We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao to your Saves list
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd. 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“not bad but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lets start this review by saying that the trip to Curacao was a pleasure. The resort was clean and the staff very professional and courteous. My wife and I enjoyed the vacation because it was our honeymoon. Ok i will list what i like and what i didnot enjoy about this vacation,
LIKES:
1. Cool breezes at all times. Great natural air conditioning.
2. You can drink the water from tap without getting sick.
3. First island resort that we have been to where its safe to walk off the resort.
4. No one begging for money.
5. Friendly people on and off the resort.

MISSES
1. Food could be better. No bad breakfast and lunch, but dinner at the buffet was a miss.
2. A la Carte is terrible. With the one exception of the Japanese was excellent.
3.The bed was to hard to sleep on. Now that's by personal problem. Some people like hard beds.
4.The shower water would never get hot enough for me. Some time it was cold and had low water pressure most of the time.
5. Nightly entertainment was weak.
6. Would help if they had theme nights in the buffet.
7. Would enjoy more local food be served at the resort.
8. To many pigeons around the food areas. Listen up people please stop feeding the flying rats so that they will go away.

Even with the issues I would still return to Curacao. Maybe not to this resort at first, but at a later time. The island is beautiful. The people are warm and friendly. Sunscape has some work to do, but overall I would recommend going to this resort. Resorts only improve when people submit their opinions on how their stay was. I submitted some pictures so everyone can see if they like this resort.

Room Tip: Get the Flamingo side of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    500
    244
    96
    61
See reviews for
377
573
78
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I will start with the good. The island itself is beautiful, the weather consistent, no hurricanes or tropical storms to worry about. The snorkeling was fantastic. I am an experienced snorkeller/free diver and even just snorkelling around the sea wall at the resort will provide some unique encounters of fish and coral. Make sure you go on the back side of the see wall, that is where you will really see some of the corals.
The resort itself is picture perfect, having multiple locations where you can eat just meters from the ocean. I found the maid service to be quite adequate. Now the bad. It appears to me that everything in this resort is designed to save a buck. At least from a food and alcohol perspective. A la carte restaurants are filled without reservation. This causes you to spend loads of time waiting in line. When finally received you spend loads of time waiting again as the staff is overtaxed serving 50+ people at once. I actually waited thirty minutes before I received my first glass of wine. Speaking of wine many of the restaurants boast an "extensive" wine list, which really meant, we have 1 white, 1 red and a rosee. My favourite restaurant was Blue Water Grill Steakhouse, its right on the beach, very good steaks but most waiting. The Habachi bar was also good but the heat coming of the grill combined with the heat of the island was a little much. As far as I am concerned, avoid the buffet, World Cafe like the plague. Everyday breakfast, was bordering on frigid, excluding the made to order omelettes. There is a microwave a available, so that is a way of combatting the cold. Alcohol is served in 250ml plastic cups at the bars, be prepared to get your excercise. Also remember to ask for alcohol if you want it. If you don't you will always be getting virgins.
The "entertainment" team, was comprised entirely of men and seemed to spend more time flirting with female guests than doing anything remotely entertaining. Found that actual scheduled entertainment events were often never actually started.
I had a great time in Curacao, but I would plan on eating out if I returned.

Room Tip: Don't worry about your room. YOU are here to enjoy the SUN, the SURF
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

1st -the staff is TRULY friendly, courteous and helpful; after each service rendered came the "It's my pleasure" with a smile. i agree with another contributor about the rude and 'entitled' attitude that some Americans bring to island life.
2nd-Most local island people (EVERYwhere) have little means, but take care of what they have. The only reason i do not 5 star this property is because i have been to several major chain operated TRULY over-the-top spectacular 5 stars & i know that this place does not compare to those in "quality"- HOWEVER, this staff and property really TRIES their darnest to provide a clean and hospitable atmosphere. I appreciate that they take care of what they have and are changing out the worn pieces. 2days before we left, the entire World Cafe dining room was blessed with all new chairs!
3rd- the rooms are "modest" but comfortable. If you are concerned about bathroom cleanliness, you don't have to leave a "secret fingerprint" (seriously?....). I like to write a small "good morning" MSG to the maid, of just a smiley face on the bath mirror with a bar of soap; you see, the maid will have to wipe down the mirror and surfaces to remove it. The room was always cared for in the very best manner -and COLD (but AC can be adjusted).
We snorkeled everyday, including the day we also took advantage of the "all inclusive" shore dive. The quantities and varieties of fish right there on the reef is amazing! Equipment is in good shape.
I thought lot about the title for this review while lazily laying in the hot sun and constant breezes.....My others were "So dushi" and "BLUE" and "seaquarium right outside your room"' but the latter is misleading because there really is a seaquarium in Curacao already, and BLUE would be too abstract for some readers. The pics I have attached are not adequate, but are only a glimpse of the property. The water is SO "Tidy Bowl" BLUE, the CURACAO BLUE liqueur is so tasty and popular that Norma at the Ocean Grill serves her curaçao Bon binis 4 at a time,- and the tiny little finches that fly over the liqueur bottles on the bar try to steal a taste. Ocean grill bar was our favorite because of Norma, the finch show, and the grilled Mahi sandwiches. As far as we were concerned, we could (& did) spend entire days within the 100 yards of that bar and the beach.

Room Tip: Guys MUST wear long pants to the Special Dining rooms. See attached photo with "Ingrid- the Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wow! It was the first time away alone for my husband and I since the kids were young - over 10 years. It couldn't have been better.

The staff here was exceptional. We really want to load the praise on for Sonaly, Tiffany, Solimar Viejalis, Shanteley and Thayda. Everyone of these ladies contributed to helping us to be well informed, comfortable, finding great excursions and helping us with any problems.

I left my expensive lumbar pad for my back (through it out before the trip), in the cab on the way to the resort and they tracked it down and delivered it to my room!

They helped us get a last minute reservation for dinner for two by the ocean shore.

The dive shop on the premises was incredible, snorkeling was right off the shore.

The resort was in a great location in the country 20-40 minutes to all kinds of things to do.

We LOVED our room, one of the best we ever had.

We loved it so much we will be returning this fall with our adult children!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated area of the resort - they are working on it - some rooms are not remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Sunscape May 29th-June 5th. Family vacation, (4 kids, late teens-early 20's). We had a great time. The rooms were very spacious in building 2. Not the best view, but we spent very little time in our room, so that was not an issue at all. Beach was fantastic for sunning and snorkeling. Bring your own gear and water shoes were very helpful. Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach at all times. I would like to give special shout outs to the Entertainment team, especially Crazy G, Zeric, John, and O'Brien, bartender Tom, World Cafe Hostess..Mismeilin, Shanty, a waitress at Oceana, and Verona, a waitress at the World Cafe. Excellent service was given by all of the above. Take advantage of the free scuba diving class. My kids did it and loved it. Service is slow, it's just the pace in Curacao, but it does take a few days to get used to it. Have fun, we wish we were still there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had such a great time on this trip, i went to Sunscape with my family (mother, father and brother) and we all had a wonderful time. The entertainment staff is very fun, and most of the staff is fluent in many languages (spanish, english, dutch). The rooms were very clean and if you needed something brought to your room they were more then happy to help. We stayed in the flamingo building which was one of the newest buildings in this location and it was definitely worth getting a room there.

Room Tip: Flamingo building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany-Juliana, Guest Relations Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Kaitlinairey,

First of all thank you for have chosen Sunscape Curacao as your vacation spot.

I would also like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking the time in sharing this great review with the rest of the world. Your comments are very valuable to us and we really appreciate the effort that you have taken.

We hope to have the pleasure in serving you in the near future at our Resort or Sister Resorts.
You can send us an email at info.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com for your future visit with us.

Hope to have you back HOME soon.

Warm Regards,
Tiffany Juliana
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just came back from Sunscape. First the bad. The room looked a bit run down. Red paint from the door on floor tiles, closet doors weren't opening, when checked in there was a half drunk bottle of water in the fridge, towels in the room had holes and stains, mini-fridge was randomly replenished some days we got everything some days we got nothing. There was no hot water for the first couple of days. Staff seems really uncaring, almost as if they are doing us a favor. You could not get a drink at any bars close to the beach before 10am. Food was mediocre to say the least. Breakfast at the world cafe was the same every day, and we had a strong suspicion that some of the produce was reused from day to day. We dove, so with our schedule the only food we could get when we'd come back from diving were god awful burgers and fish sandwiches.
Now the good:
Resort does provide transportation from and to the airport.
Some of the staff are really nice and like what they do. The food at the oceana cafe was great!!!
I wish they would open it just a tad earlier so we could enjoy the food every day.
The resort is at curaçao, you don't have to stay at the resort all the time, right outside the resort is a local bus that for $2 will take you to downtown and there's so much to do.
Resorts house reef is amazing and the dive shops staff was really nice.
Beach is nice and clean, although watch out I saw a few pieces of glass on the sand.
Also the beach all the way to the right has nice sand and not crazy rocks like the other 2 beaches.
Overall our stay was nice, we probably won't go back since all include if not really the way we like to travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao

Address: Dr. Martin Luther King Blvd. 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#8 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Endless fun in the sun.Enjoy a fun-filled getaway of a lifetime at Sunscape Curaçao Resort, Spa & Casino (previous Princess Beach Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino). Located Soutern-western of the Caribbean and just off the coast of Venezuela, the 38-mile long island of Curaçao offers idyllic weather, exquisite beaches, spectacular snorkeling and much more to families, couples, singles and friends. At Sunscape Curaçao all guests will enjoy an Unlimited-Fun® vacation where everything is included from top-shelf spirits and daily refreshed mini-bar, to limitless food and beverages and endless daily activities. Guests can enjoy the on-site dive center at Sunscape Curaçao where they can catch a boat right at the resort to the National Underwater Park and enjoy diving and snorkeling at one of the most popular diving sites in the world. Located just 10 miles from the International Airport Hato and two miles from the capital city of Willemstad, guests can enjoy everything that Curaçao has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Resort, Spa & Casino - Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Breezes Resort, Spa And Casino - Curacao
Breezes Curacao Hotel
Breezes Resort Curacao
Superclub Breezes Curacao
Breeze Curacao
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.