We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was given worst room even though almost empty hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz Studios to your Saves list
The Ritz Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scharlooweg 25, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Paramaribo, Suriname
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Was given worst room even though almost empty hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I would like to respond to the hotel management. Why were we given the hottest room with the worst view when the hotel was almost empty. ...Especially when travelling with a child. We found out the next day that the hotel was almost empty. From this point of view the service is bad. We were dumped in my opinion. Sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Studios, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi, I'm sorry to see this is the second bad review you feel you have to give us. I am assuming that this is all about the same stay. As i said earlier, Im sorry you had a malfunctioning air conditioner. It has been checked since. Our air conditioning repair team is on call and willing to repair immediately if a unit is not functioning properly. Reception is happy to more clients to another room , not just for air conditioning but for almost any reason....and get the air conditioning people to come. I find this all very confusing as i do not see that we are almost empty. Its upsetting for us that someone left the Ritz feeling dumped and like they had bad service. As you said that my housekeeper was nice, we pride ourselves at the Ritz with our long term staff and the service they provide. Again I apologize if there was anything my staff did or did not do during your stay to make you feel comfortable and welcome.
I would like to respond to the hotel management. Why were we given the hottest room with the worst view when the hotel was almost empty. ...Especially when travelling with a child. We found out the next day that the hotel was almost empty. From this point of view the service is bad. We were dumped in my opinion. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    53
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
56
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Cheap ikea furniture. Pictures are not representative.

Rooms are hot and ac is back in a corner.

bedsheet as a curtain!!!!

cleaning lady was very nice.

no soap for the shower

no outlets for hairdryer and no hair dryer in the bathroom

very low ceiling. If you are 5.6 " can touch the ceiling.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Studios, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I'm sorry you had a less than satisfactory stay at the Ritz.
Indeed we do have Ikea furniture, as shown in our photos.
Normally there is soap for the kitchen and bathroom, I apologize if this was overlooked on your stay. I have checked the functionality of the air conditioner in your room, as it should cool the entire space. We do have proper curtains at the Ritz. I investigated and found that you are likely referring to a small window in your room in the kitchen are that has no curtain, in order to allow light. Someone had thrown a sheet over this area. We are taking measures eliminate this possibility with frosting the glass. Thank you for comment that brought this to my attention. Standard rooms are located on the main floor, they have drop ceilings. The Superior rooms on the upper floor have loft ceilings.Thank you for your comments that we will take action on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I'm so glad we found The Ritz, a small family-run hotel a short walk to downtown Willemstad. It was once Curaçao's ice cream factory and has been restored into loft-style studios that retain hints of their industrial past. The accommodations are basic but comfortable and clean, the entire complex is alive with the colour of Willemstad, the pool is the perfect antidote to the heat of a Curaçao day and the wifi is fast and reliable. But it's the warmth and sincerity of the entire staff that makes this place special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Studios, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks! I'm so glad you got to experience a great trip in Willemstad and at the Ritz!
We pride ourselves on our staff and really are a little family! Hope to see you again at the Ritz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We only stayed 2 nights, cause we were just over for a short break. There are a lot of things that are in favor of the place like; nice and spacious room, quiet location, nice and helpfull staff, a swimming pool, free and fast wifi. Also on site there was also a car rental and a mini-market.
It is not far from the inner city of Willemstad, a short walk.
Some say it is in the shady parts of the city, but I think the whole inner city seems a bit shady after dark, because all shops are closed and a lot of empy houses. Still, I didn't felt unsafe walking to and from it. But more important, I never fell unsafe on site. There was always someone at the reception and there were no shady people loitering around.
I would go here next time again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Studios, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Glad to hear you had a great time at the Ritz and in Curacao! Sounds like you got to appreciate Curacao even in your short stay! Indeed we coach our guests on "normal" travel precautions and on the best routes to walk after dark. Many of my staff live here at the Ritz, and I do too! As well we have an overnight security guard , that helps facilitate the safe feeling you got to experience. Hope to see you again at the Ritz! longer next time :D !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed on Curacao for a total of 9 nights, and wanted to spend some time in Willemstad, and some on the beach. We decided for a budget option in Willemstad for our first 4 nights. The Ritz was in a good location for the proximity to the centre of town. That said, more nervous travellers may find the neighbourhood a little un-nerving. We walked every night with our teenagers to dinner and didn't encounter any problems, except at 11:30 one night we were told by a local that we shouldn't be out walking that late in that neighbourhood. The rooms were basic Ikea furniture, with a modern urban minimalistic ambiance. We had a room with two queen beds and an extra single. The single wasn't too comfortable for the kids. The bathroom was small for 4 people to share. I would advise the hotel to put a mirror in the room, so that the only mirror isn't in the bathroom. The kitchen was stocked with the basics. The grounds were very cool, with colonial Dutch buildings, sculptures and a cozy atmosphere. The staff were fantastic. The front desk people were all very helpful and accommodating, but I have to give a big shout out to our housekeeper. My son left his iphone when we checked out. We didn't expect to see it again, but she turned it in to the front desk. We picked it up a week later and left a nice tip for our honest housekeeper. All hotels should do their best to retain honest staff like her. Cheers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Studios, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Glad to hear you had a great stay at the Ritz.. We have done a check and added full length mirrors to rooms that were missing them. I'm glad you got to experience our fantastic staff. The vast majority of our staff are with us long term and we trust them completely. It was very nice of you to tip our housekeeper, but unnecessary ( i know she appreciated it)! We actually have made two emergency trips to the airport this week to meet guests who forgot an item in a room! It does happen :D But usually we have happy endings! Hope to see you again at The Ritz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

It was a nice place, with interesting history. They had kept the original look in same way. Location was nice, easy to walk to waterfront. Staff was friendly and helpful. There's fast wi-fi and small swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Studios, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for coming to the Ritz, glad you had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in a "Superior queen room" and it attended us very well. The Ritz is very well located - walking distance to the Centre in a quiet area. Safe and large Parking area. The room was basic, but really large, good air conditioning, and a small but very convenient kitchen, we he had our meals during the entire stay. Bed was comfortable, but the pillows would be better. There is no hot water for shower, what is not a problem for a tropical island... Staff was helpfull and it was possible to make a late check out (for a 25 dollars tax). Internet connction was good and for free.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritz-studios, Owner at The Ritz Studios, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for your review! We have assessed our pillows and made replacements where needed. Glad you had a great time in Curacao and at The Ritz. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Studios

Address: Scharlooweg 25, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ritz Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the former ice cream factory within the historic district of Willemstad, the Ritz offers modern and fully equiped studios including air conditioning, free superfast Wi-Fi and private on-site parking. The Ritz is like a little village itself and provides an outside pool (open entire year), mini market, launderette, car & scooter rental and internet cafe. Free Wi-Fi is also available in public areas. All studios include a queen or king size bed, air conditioning, 32” LCD satellite TV, kitchenette, bathroom and patio. Making the Ritz the perfect place to enjoy the Caribbean sun. The ritz offers a pool-side breakfast from 7:30 to 10:30am. The property is situated in Scharloo, the capital's historic district. A quick 15-minute drive from Curacao airport. The famous Mambo Beach is just a five minute drive away. The old city centre´s of Punda and Otrobanda are just a five-minute walk away and offers shops, restaurants, nightclubs and beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Ritz Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Studios Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.