We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice, also for a longterm stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppy Hostel Curacao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Poppy Hostel Curacao to your Saves list
Poppy Hostel Curacao
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Mgr. Niewindtstraat 20 | Seru Domi, Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Poppy Kamers Curacao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great choice, also for a longterm stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had a very nice stay at the Poppy Kamers house. The house is in a good state, in a nice neighborhood and very clean. Everything is fully furnished so that I didn't miss anything.
Art is a very nice guy and it was easy to deal with him. I also could call him if I needed his help, for example if a locker of the rooms was blocked. He tried to fix it a soon as possible, which meant in the next few hours.
There is just nothing negative to say. I would definitely recommend that place, just also made my time on the island as great as it was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thanks for your visit B! It was a pleasure having you around for the few months you were on Curacao. Hope to see you the next time you visit!
Cheers,
Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Besides Curacao being a very beautiful island with a diverse landscape and people it was the stay at Poppy Kramers that made it all the better. Art is a very nice helpful host, always open to any questions regarding your stay or any problems occuring and made everything run smoothly. The house itself is located in Otrabanda which in my opinion is the best if you want to truly get a glimpse of Willemstad/Curacao. It has a comfortable home-like feel to it, is close to just about everything, clean and it has absolutely everything you need for a good time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks Louisa,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'd be more than happy to welcome you back again!

Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Poppy Kamers House is an excellent choice for budget travellers, solo or with friends. It is simple but has everything you need, and even more. Plus it is located in a very convenient area, close to supermarket, restaurants and transportation. It's part of the historical and charming part of Curaçao. Do not hesitate. I would recommend to rent a car to enjoy the rest of the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Thanks for your review!
We love providing budget accommodation in a charming setting. Your comments are very relevant as I recommend that guests rent a car, which they can park for free outside Poppy Hostel Curacao, to get the most out of their visit.
Welcome back any time @ poppyhostelcuracao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Albir, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I had the intention to stay only 2 weeks at Poppy's, but the admosphere is so nice and relaxed you have the possibility to prepare your own food, a nice backyard, your right in the centre of Willemstad, everything is in walking distance that i ended up to stay 7 weeks!!! The rooms are small but sufficient, and you've got all you need. There WiFi which i found very important

Art is a great and very friendly host, he will inform you about a lot of things and even show you around where to find the bus, supermarket and te best local Chinese springroll seller.

Room Tip: always ask the see the room and bathroom than you have your 1st impression.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for our first review!
It was a pleasure hosting you at Poppy Kamers. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and you were able to see the Carnival. I look forward to hearing from you when you next visit dushi Curacao!
Danki,
Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppy Hostel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Hostel Curacao

Address: Mgr. Niewindtstraat 20 | Seru Domi, Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Poppy Kamers Curacao)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Poppy Hostel Curacao 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hostel, built in 1904, has been renovated and restored to accommodate up to 7 guests. It boasts: high ceilings, wooden shuttered windows and doors. There are 4 single and 1 double room, a communal kitchen/dining-area and lounge, 2 large modern bathrooms and a covered porch in the back yard. The neighborhood is nearly 200 years old, with many houses on the street still classically styled. The street is on the traditional Carnaval route. Poppy Hostel Curacao Private Rooms at Hostel Prices ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Poppy Hostel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Hostel Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppy Hostel Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.