We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Modern Apartments on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brakkeput Abou 80, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kauai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Modern Apartments on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a time selecting this property and we were not disappointed. The setting is beautiful, the architecture is very modern and the property is perfectly maintained. When you look at the website the pictures are a perfect representation of the apartments and grounds. While we were on-island we checked out other accommodations that we were considered. By far this property is the best value and nicest neighborhood.

Driving in Curacao is somewhat difficult due only to a complete lack of signage. They do have some signs but the few they have are so faded they are unreadable. Finding this property at night is very difficult but worth the effort.

I would definitely return to La Maya Beach Apartments on my next trip to Curacao.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    23
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 just stayed at La Maya Beach for a week and had the most enjoyable vacation. This is a very well maintained, luxury apartment at a beautiful location on Spanish Waters. The furniture and the appliances are all modern and European. The 2 bedrooms were spacious enough for us and with the fully equipped, modern/European kitchen, we were able to enjoy eating breakfast and lunch at the veranda, overlooking the pool and the Spanish Waters. The location is also very convenient to many restaurants and several large, modern grocery stores. The staff is very friendly and ready to help at any time. We rented a car from Prins Car rental, which I highly recommend as well. Their prices are lower than larger chains and they provide excellent service, picking you up at the airport. We are already making plans to go back to Curacao and will definitely stay at La Maya Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been to Curacao many times over the years for both business and pleasure. This year I went to Curacao with the family for an extended holiday. We rented a villa at La Maya Beach without knowing too much about it. Since it's not on or near the beach I was skeptical but let's stop there. This is the ONLY place you should stay in Curacao, unless you are looking for that quick, impersonal hotel stay. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful. They were always available whether it was for a restaurant suggestion or to ask a question about the villa. Speaking of the villas, the units are very comfortable and specious with all the necessary amenities. The resort sits on what's called Spanish Water so it's not technically a beach like the rest of the island but it met the needs of our family when we wanted to spend a day at home. I can't say enough nice things about La Maya Beach including the two most important people there. I did suggest a better wifi system but then again this is a holiday location and not intended for daily work activities. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a rental car as it's not easy to get around the island without one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dear Annemarie & Marcell,
We had a great and full relaxed time on La Maya Beach. Awesome garden, nice view, cosy place...;)
Thank's everything for your kind assistance

Only one weak point on Curacao ; expensive taxis, "limited" night life on the Island

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family just returned from a week long stay in Curacao at La Maya. It was just as we wanted - semi-private, away from the busy city, small enough we could get individualized assistance, great swimming pool for the kids, etc. If you are expecting something within walking distance of a lot to do, this is not your place. We appreciated the opportunity to get away from all of that. We rented a car (as you really should in Curacao) so we had access to the city but could also get away from it too when we returned to La Maya.
We really appreciated Annemarie's help throughout the trip. As we didn't have much knowledge of the island, we went to her for recommendations of beaches, restaurants, and other excursions; she helped book our snorkeling cruise, guided us with driving directions, ordered us pizza one night, and helped me find a bakery to special order a birthday cake. We weren't disappointed.
To address some other concerns - "there were mosquitoes": yes - everywhere on the island. Other hotels with outdoor living would have the same. "There was noise from other guests" - we didn't have this issue, but I imagine that could happen anywhere. "Rude couple": I didn't get that - quite the opposite actually, and we asked a lot of questions.
It was a clean, nice, modern apartment (with laundry!) that looked just like the pictures showed; I felt safe and secure with my 2 small children there.
I would gladly return and recommend La Maya to anyone that is looking for a quiet place to relax that is still relatively close everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I wish I could give this place a good review. However, the time I spent here with my family was not enjoyable due to the poor living conditions. We had a sink break, fleas in the beds, a bathroom mirror break and faulty AC.

The online pictures make you think there is a beach, but that is not the case. It is a pretty gross harbor with a man made beach. The pool area was nice and well taken care of, but did not replace having a beach.

While I saw people thought the owners were nice, I have traveled a great deal and never met a more rude couple. They made me feel unwelcome and an inconvenience at every turn.

I would not recommend staying at La Maya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

When arriving to La Maya, we did not really know what to expect since the reviews on this place had been very different from each other. However, we are happy to have chosen La Maya, and here follows the reasoning why.

The grounds and the pools were well kept and clean, as were also the apartments. The apartments had modern, basic furniture, and were clean and spacious (two bedrooms, two showers, two toilets, kitchen and living room).

All basic kitchen cutlery and equipment was available, and the machines worked well for us. The washing machine was really good to have at hand, especially when you are travelling for a longer time. The air-conditioning also worked perfectly, and kept the apartment and rooms at wanted temperatures.

The apartment was cleaned daily during our visit, and towels changed as well. Each apartment has its own parking space within the gated community, which is also guarded by security during night time.

The sun hit our apartment’s balcony (8E) in the afternoon, and we saw the sunset from it. It was nice in the evenings to enjoy candle-light dinners on your balcony. La Maya suited us very well, as it was very serene. If you are going to make noise or have a party, I am pretty sure you stand out here (which was also the complaint of some previous reviewers that they had been asked to be quieter).

We rented our car from Prins car rental, which I can strongly recommend. They had new and well-maintained cars, and provided excellent service (much better than at larger chains like Hertz). We would recommend renting an SUV as well as a navigation system (the latter was less than 6$ per day). Although I like driving around old-style with maps, Curacao is a place where the navigation system was really needed. We often saw cars on the side of roads that had stopped, and tried to make sense of their maps and current location. The signage is namely very poor here.

I had expected more from Willemstad though, and when checking out a few hotel properties there during our visit (which had been our alternatives), I was glad we had decided to stay at Spanish Waters and La Maya instead. E.g. from La Maya there is a free shuttle to/from restaurant Landhuis Brakkeput Mei Mei, so you do not need to take your own car everywhere you go. If dining in your apartment, you will find a very good grocery store in Jan Thiel area, called van den Tweel, which is only a 5 minute drive from La Maya.

We had no problem with mosquitoes during our stay in March. In the evenings we had the porch fan on, and you also have mosquito candles that you can lit, if you wish to use them. I think we saw one mosquito during our entire stay.

A beach which we liked was Porto Marie, as it was not crowded, and you could find umbrellas also when arriving a bit later during the day. It was about a 30 minute ride from La Maya, with an entrance fee, a restaurant, snorkelling and dive equipment rental, and toilets.

From Curacao we continued to Aruba. When comparing the two islands, Curacao seems less touristic, having more of an authentic local vibe. Unfortunately it seemed poorer too, and less maintained (in terms of garbage along the streets). However, as the two islands are very different in culture – both were its own experience!

Overall concerning La Maya, I would recommend this for people who like serenity, appreciate safe and clean grounds, and who do not mind apartment style living during a vacation, and renting a car. Reading the other reviews, some had quite a different experience, but as with any place or vacation, I guess it also depends on which apartment you will get, who the other simultaneous guests are, how busy it is... as during our stay the other guests were very quiet, and when being at the pool area, there were none or max two other persons there at the same time.

The main thing that I would recommend for improvement for La Maya though, would be the WLAN, which did not work well from the apartments, especially morning and daytime, when several devices were connected. Other than that, it was well worth the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
4.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
4.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
3.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 29 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments

Address: Brakkeput Abou 80, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to enjoy tropical Curacao to the fullest. Situated on the famous Spanish Water in Curacao, La Maya Beach is a resort unlike any other. Discover an oasis of peace and beauty with a tropical garden and a private beach near all the excitement of the popular Jan Thiel area. You will stay in a comfortable and fully furnished apartment where in- and outdoor living join seamlessly thanks to an innovative sliding panel wall. At La Maya Beach, you can count on the most complete and attentive service that our island has to offer. Would you like specific groceries to be in the fridge when you arrive? A small boat to explore the Spanish Water by yourself? A unique excursion to an extraordinary dive site? At La Maya Beach, our answer is “yes we can!”La Maya Beach is the ultimate place to stay on Curacao. Beautiful, quiet, safe, and especially: dedicated to your perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.