We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brakkeput Abou 80, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dissapointing stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are very frequent travellers to Curacao. We used to come here at least 5 till 7 times a year. After reading a lot of reviews we wanted to try something else and not stay in the large hotels with our daughter (5 years at the time of travel). We decided to stay at La Maya Beach. Beforehand I had a lot of email communication with Annemarie. She answered almost immediately at our questions and we had the feeling everything would be in perfect order! When we arrived at the resort we were greeted by a trainee. She showed us around the apartment on the 2nd floor. We overlooked a part of the Spanish Water and the rest of the resort. The first impression was great, there was even a nice bottle of wine to welcome us, but after a few hours our opinion hanged. There was a lot of brochures and other stuff in the drawers that was left behind by former guests. There was a long line of ants finding their way trough the kitchen to where??? The bathroom did not feel like it was 'finished' while building the apartments. Bad lightning. No privacy at all on the balcony, everybody could see us, so we could also see everybody else on there balconies and a lot of mosquito's during the night!! We were sitting outside on the balcony late evenings and heard a lot of noise on the other side of the fence and even saw a man appear that definitely did not was an employee or guest at the resort. During the night we heard a lot of strange noises coming from the houses/apartments that are being built at the backside of our apartment. We had to go out all the time by car to have dinner, go shopping, going to the beach etc etc. We missed the noise of the sea. Our daughter wanted to swim in the Spanish Water but we found the water to dirty to swim in. A line of oil (from the nearby harbor?) was on top of the water. No privacy at all at the small pool. Another dutch lady wanted to talk to us all the time, she even came to sit under my umbrella uninvited, while the only thing we wanted was to lay down, enjoy our books and the sun! On top of it we went to a beach in Curacao and my wife handbag was stolen!!! We know this wasn't the property's fault but after the strange night overhere we were ready with it!! We never ever felt unsafe during our stays in Curacao!!! My wife was ready with it after the robbery and wanted to go back to the large hotel where we always stayed and were was a lot of security. The 2 nights we missed at La Maya Beach were never refunded! Grounds are beautiful and well kept!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    23
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First the good: very clean, well-appointed apartments, with lots of room and all the modern conveniences. It was really nice to have space to spread out, and feel at home. The patio with the wide glass doors was really lovely, and caught the breezes from the water. We had an "ocean"-view apartment, and it was relaxing and pretty to sit and watch the view from the patio area. The pool has a gorgeous view, nice deck chairs with shade, and plenty of room for splashing or lap swimming. The whole property is well-maintained and quiet. Annemarie was immensely helpful, with excellent tips on everything from grocery stores to beaches to best driving routes.

The bad: I did not realize the that the beach was an artificial strip of sand, and the water-front would be unsuitable for swimming. This may have been my fault for not reading closely enough, but it was a *big* disappointment, particularly to our son, who was dying to dig on the beach. I probably wouldn't have chosen La Maya if I had realized this.

Others have mentioned this, but just to repeat: the bathrooms have no soap or shampoo, so be prepared (these things are very expensive on the island!). For visitors who do not speak Dutch, the appliances may prove a challenge! My husband managed to figure out the dishwasher, but it was most definitely a trial and error experiment. There are some mosquitoes at dawn and dusk, but we found that if we kept the porch fan on it discouraged them. I was also quite taken by the gruff manner of Marcel, who greeted us upon arrival. Although he was subsequently quite friendly, he lectured us like a schoolmarm about proper air conditioner usage, not wasting electricity, and generally came across as terribly uptight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Two bedroom apartment is almost new and in very good condition. Appliances are high end and work well. Very comfortable and felt like home for the week we we there. Much more space than a typical hotel room for our family of four. Large balcony made the place seem spacious and we loved the view over the pool and bay. The only thing to be aware of is that the beach is small and on the bay rather than the ocean. It would be suitable for little kids to play in the sand. The water is not for swimming.

It was good to have a dishwasher and washer/dryer too.

Towels were changed daily. Beds were made daily. Apartment was tidied up daily as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved our stay at La Maya Luxury Apartments! Our unit was 8E - a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit with 2 king bedrooms, laundry room, open kitchen/living room and gorgeous large balcony patio. The apartments are brand-new and are gorgeous. Decor is very European and chic, simply furnished but to a very high standard - with nice fixtures, excellent air conditioning in the bedrooms and the living room, and nice amenities like Senseo coffee maker (with coffee supplied) in the full kitchen. Annemarie and Marcel (the managers) were friendly and accommodating. They even let us borrow beach towels after we checked out and let us return them later that day on our way to the airport, which we really appreciated.

We loved having the extra space, the laundry was a godsend (after travelling for a week already we made use of it!), and the kitchen was nice for preparing breakfast. It would be terrific for a family or anyone who likes extra space and a kitchen. You do have to remember that it's an apartment and not a hotel, and thus you have to bring things like shampoo, conditioner, soap, dishsoap, and laundry detergent. We bought all of these when we went grocery shopping so it wasn't a problem. La Maya is on the Spanish Water lagoon (not exactly a beach but still gorgeous) and within a 5 minute drive to a very nice Dutch supermarket (Van der Theel), pretty beaches in Jan Thiel and restaurants. We found that renting a car in Curacao is an absolute must unless you stay at a resort the whole time. Our only suggestion to the management would be to check out the strength of the internet - while it worked, it was slow. It was fine for our casual surfing and email but would probably be insufficient for business purposes while on vacation.

We very highly recommend La Maya Luxury Apartments and would absolutely stay there again. Thank you Annemarie and Marcel!

Room Tip: We liked having a second floor apartment for the nice view but you do have to climb stairs to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed a week at this property. Bad position to the sea, it is located on a lagoon,it can not be possible to swim and it is full of mosquitoes. The beautiful beaches are at least one hour by car. Nice apartment but there is no privacy, little attention to cleaning inside and arranging the apartment. WIFI works with great difficulty. It is impossible to have dark in the rooms. Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had difficulty with deciphering Dutch words & symbols to operate appliances in apartments but it was a new experience. Lucky to have Laundry machines in units. The washers were German & very different from what Americans are used to---had a H2O reservoir which needed to be taken out & emptied. Better instructions in English will solve that problem. I did not feel that they did not like our family. They are a different culture & are learning to deal with our American idiosyncracies. Most of our family did enjoy our stay @ La Maya Beach & would return. Great location for exploration by car. Beautiful garden landscaping. Pool has area for laps & beach area was peaceful 4 reading. Overall great accommodations. Thanks Anne Marie & Marcel.

Room Tip: All apartments had a large balcony or a large patio. Great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay at La maya Beach, and Curacao. The property is very nice and quiet. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants and activities on the Island. The Apartment was very nice, modern and comfortable. The Pool is great and there is a smaller pool in the D-Block that no one ever used but us! The washing machine in our apartment was not working. The owners tried to get a service man out to repair it, but apparently that takes a while in Curacao. They did let us use the Washing machine in another apartment so that was nice. The apartments are located near Jan Thiel which is an upscale resort neighborhood. It took us about 15 min to drive to Punda/Willemstad, so we thought it was very well located. Fresh towels and apartment cleaning everyday! We would highly recommend this place to couples and or families

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
4.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
4.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
3.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 29 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments

Address: Brakkeput Abou 80, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to enjoy tropical Curacao to the fullest. Situated on the famous Spanish Water in Curacao, La Maya Beach is a resort unlike any other. Discover an oasis of peace and beauty with a tropical garden and a private beach near all the excitement of the popular Jan Thiel area. You will stay in a comfortable and fully furnished apartment where in- and outdoor living join seamlessly thanks to an innovative sliding panel wall. At La Maya Beach, you can count on the most complete and attentive service that our island has to offer. Would you like specific groceries to be in the fridge when you arrive? A small boat to explore the Spanish Water by yourself? A unique excursion to an extraordinary dive site? At La Maya Beach, our answer is “yes we can!”La Maya Beach is the ultimate place to stay on Curacao. Beautiful, quiet, safe, and especially: dedicated to your perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.