We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Curaçao!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Sombre di Kabana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added B&B Sombre di Kabana to your Saves list
B&B Sombre di Kabana
Kaya Beethoven 62, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 29 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Curaçao!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We chose to stay at B&B Sombre Di Kabana for five nights during our trip around the ABC Islands (Aruba, Bonaire and Curaçao) and we are very happy that we did since this is the best B&B we have had the pleasure to stay in during quite a lot of travels all over the world.

What makes the place unique is the combination of great location and atmosphere, excellent facilities and service but most importantly the personality of the two owners Albert and Jack.

We were provided free pickup at the airport as well as ride to the car rental to pick up the car. We were even offered rides to the supermarket and restaurants the first two days since we only had booked a rental car the last three days. This is probably not to be expected as regular service but very appreciated from our side considering our bad planning. Having access to a car is, by the way, recommended independently on where you are staying at Curaçao. :)

The B&B is located in the best part of the Island. The neighborhood feels totally safe both driving through and going for a jog in in the morning. The rooms, including the bathroom, is very spacious and top notch in every detail from the coffee machine down to the luxury soap in the shower.

The garden is a beautiful flowery oasis with a big perfectly temperatured pool, lots of shade under the palms and comfy beach chairs and a hammock to relax in.

Worth mentioning as well is Jack surprising us with ice cream in the afternoon when we stayed by the pool, the guiding tour around the area when we arrived, the provided cell phone with the preprogrammed phone number to Albert in case you run into any trouble, and not the least the fantastic included breakfast were you have the opportunity to make additional sandwiches to bring with you for lunch on your daily adventures.

To summarize it is very obvious that the owner takes great pride in their B&B and in providing a great experience for their guests in every detail. Staying at the B&B actually feels a bit like being adopted for a few say and leaving the place felt a bit sad. If we chose to travel to curaçao again we will definitely stay at B&B Sombre Di Kabana again for our entire stay! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The perfect location for our week in Curaçao : friendly hosts, lots of shadowy places in the beautiful garden, swimming pool at exactly the right temperature: who can ask for more.
We especially liked the large breakfast, including the small detail of sandwich bags for our lunch.
Albert asked what we liked to drink so the fridge was already stocked when we arrived. Jack treated us on ice cream in the afternoon.
Our beautiful room, with windows on 2 sides, offered enough ventilation through the open windows, so we didn't need airco.
The hammock was also a nice extra in the garden: in the morning sun after my breakfast swim, with cooling shade the rest of the day.
Much better choice than the large chain hotels along the beach.
On our last day, Albert drove us to the airport, so we could enjoy a last few hours in the morning in the beautiful weather.
Thanks guys!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The garden and pool area are burgeoning with plant and bird life. It's a delight watching the hummingbirds zipping back and forth to the flowers on the deck.

We arrived on a Saturday evening and Jack and Albert greeted us with a glass of wine and we sat and chatted. We hadn't booked a rental car and the agencies were closed on Sunday, but Albert kindly drove us around the local bay pointing out restaurants, beaches and snorkeling sites.

Jack was very companionable and told us interesting stories about his long and varied life. He also showed us on a map a detailed walking route through central Willemstad.

The rooms are quiet and there was an A/C, Nespresso machine and a small fridge. It was pleasant and functional and the beds were comfortable with a light sandalwood-like scent in the bed linens and towels.

Albert's breakfasts are high quality with fresh-squeezed orange juice, fruit salad, great coffee, fresh breads, fruit and meat tartlets, cereals, cheeses, omelets, etc. And he offers plastic bags to take some food with one during one's daily outings.

I could go on and on about how nice this BnB is but much has already been said here by other guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed at many BnB's but the hosts at Sombre di Kabana provided the best hospitality and services I've ever had. Albert is ready to pick you up at the airport, to help you with a rental car and to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The cost of electricity is included in the price (many other places in Curacao charge you extra); the breakfasts are like the German "Fruhstuck:" with meats, cheeses,yogurt, breads, fresh orange juice and fruits; they even provided us a local cell phone. The rooms are very well-kept - cleaned daily and the pool is clean and refreshing.

I definitely recommend this place and hope to return - many thanks to the hosts Albert and Jack.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a trumendous place to stay, absolutely the best B&B where I've ever been. The rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast is 5-star quality and quantity. The airport- and car-rental transfers are a great way to show hospitality. Because of the location, you really need a rental car, unless you just want to enjoy some peace and tranquility beside the gorgeous swimmingpool. But in that case you have to eat in Chinese resturant nearby every day. Our family (6 people) had a wonderful time. We were the only guests for a week, the house was ours!! Albert and Jack where there for us all the time if we needed any assistance. They shared they points of a view about the island itself, about trips in the island, places where we might want to go and see. Never felt "so home while away" in any place so far. Those two guys will stay in our minds for the rest of our lives. While in Curacao, this is the place to stay! I highly recommend to try it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We were in a room in the cottage which was nice and spacious, a good sized bathroom and a useful fridge. The breakfasts were very good, fresh bread, cereal, freshly squeezed orange juice, cold meats and eggs cooked to order.It is tucked away from the main road, but you do get used to following certain signs and it is in the nicest end of the island. Local information is happily given by our hosts. The swimming pool is nice for a dip after a busy day travelling around. Don't go to beaches that have no security, I had money and my watch stolen on our first day! A list of nearby restaurants, with contact numbers, would be useful. You get a mobile phone to use in case of emergencies, which is very reassuring. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Albert and Jack were amazing hosts at this amazingly beautiful bed and breakfast! The breakfasts were delicious (including the coffee!) and combined local Caribbean and European delicacies! The grounds are wonderful! They also went out of their way to help us secure a perfect car rental, including picking us up AND dropping us off at the airport and even bringing the car back! Their knowledge of the island was also helpful when we ventured out! We will be back!

John and Ira

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Sombre di Kabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sombre di Kabana

Address: Kaya Beethoven 62, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel combined with a warm atmosphere and personal attention. If this appeals to you then you’ll be at the right place in our small Bed and Breakfast. We, Albert and Jack, will be glad to do our best to let you enjoy your holiday or business stay in our B&B on Curaçao. The small scale of our bed and breakfast and the fact that you can use the living room, the reading room, the porches, the beautiful garden, the pool and the jacuzzi, will soon make you feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your B&B Sombre di Kabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sombre Di Kabana Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Sombre di Kabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.