We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Sombre di Kabana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Sombre di Kabana to your Saves list
B&B Sombre di Kabana
Kaya Beethoven 62, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 33 Willemstad B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The perfect location for our week in Curaçao : friendly hosts, lots of shadowy places in the beautiful garden, swimming pool at exactly the right temperature: who can ask for more.
We especially liked the large breakfast, including the small detail of sandwich bags for our lunch.
Albert asked what we liked to drink so the fridge was already stocked when we arrived. Jack treated us on ice cream in the afternoon.
Our beautiful room, with windows on 2 sides, offered enough ventilation through the open windows, so we didn't need airco.
The hammock was also a nice extra in the garden: in the morning sun after my breakfast swim, with cooling shade the rest of the day.
Much better choice than the large chain hotels along the beach.
On our last day, Albert drove us to the airport, so we could enjoy a last few hours in the morning in the beautiful weather.
Thanks guys!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The garden and pool area are burgeoning with plant and bird life. It's a delight watching the hummingbirds zipping back and forth to the flowers on the deck.

We arrived on a Saturday evening and Jack and Albert greeted us with a glass of wine and we sat and chatted. We hadn't booked a rental car and the agencies were closed on Sunday, but Albert kindly drove us around the local bay pointing out restaurants, beaches and snorkeling sites.

Jack was very companionable and told us interesting stories about his long and varied life. He also showed us on a map a detailed walking route through central Willemstad.

The rooms are quiet and there was an A/C, Nespresso machine and a small fridge. It was pleasant and functional and the beds were comfortable with a light sandalwood-like scent in the bed linens and towels.

Albert's breakfasts are high quality with fresh-squeezed orange juice, fruit salad, great coffee, fresh breads, fruit and meat tartlets, cereals, cheeses, omelets, etc. And he offers plastic bags to take some food with one during one's daily outings.

I could go on and on about how nice this BnB is but much has already been said here by other guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have stayed at many BnB's but the hosts at Sombre di Kabana provided the best hospitality and services I've ever had. Albert is ready to pick you up at the airport, to help you with a rental car and to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The cost of electricity is included in the price (many other places in Curacao charge you extra); the breakfasts are like the German "Fruhstuck:" with meats, cheeses,yogurt, breads, fresh orange juice and fruits; they even provided us a local cell phone. The rooms are very well-kept - cleaned daily and the pool is clean and refreshing.

I definitely recommend this place and hope to return - many thanks to the hosts Albert and Jack.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a trumendous place to stay, absolutely the best B&B where I've ever been. The rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast is 5-star quality and quantity. The airport- and car-rental transfers are a great way to show hospitality. Because of the location, you really need a rental car, unless you just want to enjoy some peace and tranquility beside the gorgeous swimmingpool. But in that case you have to eat in Chinese resturant nearby every day. Our family (6 people) had a wonderful time. We were the only guests for a week, the house was ours!! Albert and Jack where there for us all the time if we needed any assistance. They shared they points of a view about the island itself, about trips in the island, places where we might want to go and see. Never felt "so home while away" in any place so far. Those two guys will stay in our minds for the rest of our lives. While in Curacao, this is the place to stay! I highly recommend to try it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We were in a room in the cottage which was nice and spacious, a good sized bathroom and a useful fridge. The breakfasts were very good, fresh bread, cereal, freshly squeezed orange juice, cold meats and eggs cooked to order.It is tucked away from the main road, but you do get used to following certain signs and it is in the nicest end of the island. Local information is happily given by our hosts. The swimming pool is nice for a dip after a busy day travelling around. Don't go to beaches that have no security, I had money and my watch stolen on our first day! A list of nearby restaurants, with contact numbers, would be useful. You get a mobile phone to use in case of emergencies, which is very reassuring. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Albert and Jack were amazing hosts at this amazingly beautiful bed and breakfast! The breakfasts were delicious (including the coffee!) and combined local Caribbean and European delicacies! The grounds are wonderful! They also went out of their way to help us secure a perfect car rental, including picking us up AND dropping us off at the airport and even bringing the car back! Their knowledge of the island was also helpful when we ventured out! We will be back!

John and Ira

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a treat it was to stay here in February. Albert & Jack have thought about everything in this B&B. The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast does not come any better than at Sombré di Kabana. The pick-up from the airport makes you feel very welcome. Because of the location, you do need a rental car, but the guys can help you with that too and drop you off at the car rental.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Sombre di Kabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sombre di Kabana

Address: Kaya Beethoven 62, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel combined with a warm atmosphere and personal attention. If this appeals to you then you’ll be at the right place in our small Bed and Breakfast. We, Albert and Jack, will be glad to do our best to let you enjoy your holiday or business stay in our B&B on Curaçao. The small scale of our bed and breakfast and the fact that you can use the living room, the reading room, the porches, the beautiful garden, the pool and the jacuzzi, will soon make you feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your B&B Sombre di Kabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sombre Di Kabana Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Sombre di Kabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.