We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, waterside location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perla Del Mar

Perla Del Mar
Waterfort Boogjes Punda 18-19, Willemstad, Curacao
+5999 461 7800
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 163 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice food, waterside location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Had seafood along with a couple of work colleagues.
Good service, reasonably priced.
Off the tourist trail so not packed even though there were a couple of cruise ships in the harbour.

Downside - ankle biting mozzies, so take some repellent and you will be ok and have a good evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    91
    31
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent Food/Good Price/Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed our last dinner on the island at Perla Del Mar. Our table was the perfect spot on the island to enjoy the sunset. Food was average but very, very affordable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Birthday dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went here for my birthday dinner, the atmosphere was nice as far as sitting on the water in the moonlight sky. The service was slow by the time they brought out the food it was cold. My sister food came out after I finish my food. So she decided to just eat back at the resort. Which the food there was so much better. I wish I had stayed at the resort.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuchpeg@comcast.net
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay food, terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The outdoor seating at Perla Del Mar was nice. The restaurant is conveniently located in downtown Willemstad. The food was good, but unfortunately the service was poor. Throughout the night we had one person take our food order, one person bring us our food, and it was up to us to find someone to refill drink orders and water. No one person seemed to be assigned to our table. Considering the prices that the restaurants in Curacao charge (more than most upscale restaurants in Chicago and New York) they could provide better service. We found this true at several restaurants and heard the same complaint from other visitors from the US. I guess the attitude of "laid back" island time is more the norm at many restauants in Curacao.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had the grilled grouper, which was excellent; someone else had the beef brouchettes, also excellent. I think the server just started being a server that day, she was not familiar with the menu and there were a few other glitches, but...we were in a lovely setting and not in a hurry, so we just rolled with it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perla Del Mar also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Curacao, Caribbean
 

Been to Perla Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perla Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.