We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tide is rising...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WAVE Hotel & Cafe

Save Saved
You added WAVE Hotel & Cafe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WAVE Hotel & Cafe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breedestraat 100-102 | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The tide is rising...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I settled on the Wave since I wanted to be able to walk around the main downtown of Willemstad. Upon arriving at the hotel, I started to have second thoughts about staying here since it shared the property with a really run-down hotel called the Pelikaan. I started to uncomfortably remember my cab driver's warning about not wandering around the surrounding residential area at night. I even told them at Reception that I might shorten my stay.

My spirits brightened when I saw the my room (#62). It was very fresh and clean looking with a nice flat screen TV. There is key card access to not only the room but also the entry door of the hallway. Basically, the owners are transforming the bare bones Pelikaan into the budget chic Wave, gradually. This is a very sound concept given the affordable $90.95 per night price in high season. I stayed here my entire 7 nights

At the moment, I would recommend this hotel for an independent traveler or couple on a budget looking for a central location. I would not recommend for a solo woman since the walk to and from the town is a little unsavory looking, especially at night. In that case, I would recommend the Howard Johnsons around the corner and on the main square. Also, you can never tell who is the bellman/ security person at night due since they don't often wear a uniform (there always seemed to be a mixed bag of people hanging out near the casino entrance). Overall, I was never menaced or harassed by anyone, day or night; it's more a matter that its a rough-around-the-edges looking neighborhood.

Unique Qualities: The rooms are the best part of this hotel. Mine was clean, fresh and free of any mosquitoes (a small luxury that my friend at the Kura Hulunda Hotel, which is across the street, didn't enjoy. There is a very useful safe as well as an excellent flat screen TV that had BBC News and other international channels, including NOS Dutch broadcasting service. The free WiFi worked very well during my entire stay as did the excellent air conditioning. There was no closet other than a few wall hangers but there is plenty of drawer space. Strangely, the bathrooms are not as immaculate as the rooms (I was informed they are renovating those, too). The water pressure was fine and I had enough hot water. There was one Sunday when they forgot? about cleaning my room but no big deal. There are plans to have a small pool which is a good idea. Walls are a bit thin but I only noticed on the weekends when the crowd was a bit livelier. The hotel's casino is on the downmarket side so not worth a visit.

It wasn't until my last day that I even knew there was a funky, little hotel cafe, located on the Breedestraat side.

The best person at the Front Desk desk is Supervisor Rosely Dalnoot. She was very responsive to my requests and concerns and very professional. She is closely watching her staff, some of whom are in hotel training. My wake-up call on the day of my flight came on time as did the airport taxi. There is NO airport pickup and drop off is only available at certain peak times.

The Manager, Liselotte Bos, is an experienced hotel professional and very hands-on with repositioning this property. It will just take some time.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
18
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We tried to book this hotel online but did not receive any response. Since it was Christmas we assumed they were full and booked another hotel. Then we saw the charges on our credit card (double the amount we had even requested) from Wave Hotel. When we spoke to the manager they tried to say it was our fault and they would not reverse the charges. We told them we would report it to Visa as fraud and they finally refunded the charge. We were in Curaçao for one night and spent most of the time walking back and forth between hotels and arguing with the manager. An unpleasant experience!!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a large new (or renewed) room with a little balcony facing the hotel reception and parking lot. Bed was comfortable and A/C was very nice. The breakfast is available in four different combo options and is served in a very simple cafeteria across the reception. Wi-fi didn't work the first day of our stay, but the others worked fine. The hotel has also a convenient transfer to the airport for USD10.00, considering taxis are difficult to take and more expensive. Maybe the transfer can be previously arranged to take you at the airport, but we didn't. Hotel crew is nice an welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited Willemstad in late December 2012, and wanted to stay with a locally owned hotel close to Anna Bay and the historic part of town (Otrabunda).

The Wave Hotel apparently is new because few locals I encountered knew where it was located. Once I found it, it was indeed quite close to the Anna Bay waterfront but was definitely on the "economy" side of the hotel spectrum.

The front reception staff is pleasant but not very attentive and even less organized. Once check in was completed, be advised the rooms are in an adjoining building that has all the appearances of a dormitory.

The building entryway door is gray steel with wire reinforced glass. The reception clerk summons the security guy upon your arrival to escort you (all 70 feet) from reception area to the hotel building entryway. From then on, the room key card must be used to open it.

Clean, brightly painted concrete is the decor awaiting you in the dorm...err..hotel hallways and indeed the rooms. There seems to be an aversion to carpeting, tile or even wall paper in this place.

The rooms are dormitory style, and quite spartan. To be fair, the rooms feature a flat screen television, in room safe and the air conditioner is superb.

Be advised there is a strict prohibition to smoking in this place. I was rudely awakened multiple times over the course of a few days by a loud alarm (fire alarm?) that was set off by other guests who'd attempted to light up a smoke in their room.

The pros of the Wave Hotel:
* Very budget friendly
* Clean room with good air conditioning and flat screen television
* In room safe was operational
* Parking was sufficient and secure (gates close at about 1am)

The cons:
* Hotel = dormitory room
* Breakfast is mentioned in the brochures and at check in. What they don't tell you is that it is not free, and extremely limited. "tickets" for what ever you decide to order must be purchased at the front desk. A strange and aggravating experience.
* The walls are thin so you hear noises from the hallway and adjoining rooms...and...New Years firecrackers and noisemakers being set off in the parking lot.
* Staff is friendly but inattentive and a bit clueless

I cannot say I would return for another stay. There are better options for "going local" and/or staying close to Anna Bay waterfront.

Room Tip: To reduce noise, try to get a corner room so you have to share only one wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice and clean. Good AC. Nice tv and comfortable bed. Good distance to the maincenter, just a couple of hundred meters to the famous moving bridge. Nice staff, though a little confused from time to time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed for one evening in April 2012 before my flight to Aruba for a business trip. I was pleasantly surpised that the rooms were very clean and the bed was decent , Flat screen TV and AC was adequate, although AC was was not running upon my arrival it cooled down quickly.

I would have given this room a 4 or 5 star especially for the price, if not for the fact there was no hot water at all NONE, actually it was almost cold I ran it for several minutes and no change. I could not even stand to take a shower, it was that cold.

Too bad, otherwise a decent hotel for one or two nights maximum.

Room Tip: Make sure Hot Water is working before accepting a room..I only Selcted terrible for swimming pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-st Martin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very nice hotel and friendly staff! The location is right in the heart of town so everything is in walking distance! The rooms are not overly big but are very clean and comfortable with flat screen TV's, A/C and free internet.

I had room 60 which had a full bed and was comfortable but the bed was between two walls, so if you where a tall person you wouldn't be to comfortable. I'm 5'11 and my feet where just barely touching the wall, I had to sleep on an angle so I could extend my legs. The bathroom was small and neat but the hot water had no pressure in the shower. The hot water came out very little so it took awhile to shower. The rooms came with soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower and by the sink but I really didn't care for the smell of the soap, it smelled like medicine or Ben Gay. I would advise to bring or buy a bar of soap.

The hotel has good security at night and all the doors need your key to get in the building. I will be back in September!

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor from all of the traffic in the halls if its busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WAVE Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WAVE Hotel & Cafe

Address: Breedestraat 100-102 | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WAVE Hotel & Cafe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAVE Hotel & Cafe is a small family owned property with 25 rooms in the center of the city, with many restaurants, shops and points of interest in the area. Room rates are excluding taxes. The Hotel serves a variety of breakfast combos in the morning for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your WAVE Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WAVE Hotel & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.