We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, great ambiance, a bit slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Augusto's Restaurant

Augusto's Restaurant
Bapor Kibra z/n | Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, Willemstad, Curacao
+5999 465 6699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 163 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice view, great ambiance, a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is at our resort, which is very convenient. The food was pretty tasty. My tuna was a bit overcooked, but still delicious. My wife really enjoyed her meal. We will likely eat here more than once at our stay due to the affordability and the convenience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, good happy hour prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

1st night staying at Royal Sea Aquarium we always eat here. Fabulous again with delicious grouper, perfectly cooked and flavored, and linguine with clam sauce. Carpaccio another afternoon was perfect (add pine nuts!). Convenient and tasty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant on Curaçao”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the SeaQuarium and were pleased that this restaurant was so close. Unlike the negative reviews, we were fairly pleased. The service was good, there was an OK wine selection and generally the food was good. We were on Curacao for 9 nights and had dinner here for four of them. The lasagne was very good. Unlike what a previous reviewer experienced, ours arrived hot and was quite similar to lasagne we had in Italy. I especially enjoyed the steak. It was prepared to my liking and was very tender. The Ponche Crema cake was wonderful. Sandwiches and the Greek salad were good lunch options here. The sandwiches are huge and can easily be shared. They are very reasonably priced. The only negative experience we had was in Valentines Day. We arrived without a reservation at about 8:30 p.m. There were two vacant tables by the water and when we asked to be seated at one of them, we were told they were reserved. During our two hour dinner, the tables remained vacant. This was the fourth night that we had dinner there that week so this was disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BEST Restaurant on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has gotten a ton of really bad reviews--so many in fact that I almost didn't try it out during my stay at the very nearby Royal Sea Aquarium Resort. This restaurant is actually fantastic, the food is great, it's inexpensive, especially compared to most other restaurants on the island, and the view is out of this world! I also found that if you are American and accustomed to great dining service, you will be very disappointed at most Curaçao restaurants...not true for Augusto's, who has a very attentive and friendly staff!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Second Chance, Same Results”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Restaurant is on the property of the Royal Resort Sea Aquarium and is never truely busy; now to tell you why...

Slow service, expensive foods. $8 USD for a bagel and coffee, this isn’t Starbucks by any means. We sat down for a late dinner after arriving to Curacao, were seated promptly, slow to get drinks (even slower on refills), Dinner soon arrived some 40-minutes after ordering and had to be returned due to quality. Asked for the steak tenderloin that was rare at best (mine and another person in our group) to be re-cooked. Second chance was better, but another 15-mins after it was sent back.

They continue to be slow and expensive, but in a pinch of avoiding Mambo Beach you can charge it to your room if staying at the Sea Aquarium.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augusto's Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Augusto's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusto's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.