We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant

Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant
Piscaderabaai z/n | Curacao, Willemstad, Curacao
+599 9 461 0183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 163 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, International, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Fort Mill, SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eat on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Food was great and prices were good compared to similar places in Curacao. The tables were on the beach. We watched the sunset with our feet in the sand while eating our meals. There were a few mosquitoes. Fortunately, the staff brought repellant which solved the problem. Oddly, this is one of the few places we visited in Curacao that did not have a steady breeze. Maybe it was just the time we visited.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    174
    93
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great variety!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This restaurant is right next to another restaurant called Tomatoes (which i also wrote a review for). Located right on the beach this place is absolutely great! Their menu literally has everything you could think of for very fair prices. They were extremely nice, the food was very fresh and there was a good amount of people which is always a good sign. We were really pleased and ended up eating their a few times!! Definitely should go!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Loved this place. Diamarys & Dunya took great care of us. Only negative... it took the Diamarys to get our Mojito's right.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateBay, Manager at Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you, especially from Dunya and Diamaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A wonderful and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The food was amazing and well prepared. We had a large party and the staff was so willing to accommodate for our many different dietary restrictions, such as gluten free and lactose intolerant as well as vegetarian. If we wanted a change of food choice, they have us different appetizers!
The ambience was beautiful as well...the lighting was magnificent at night because the restaurant is situated on a beach, so you have sand below your feet and you can watch the night waters while the area is lit by lanterns. A wonderful place to visit and eat for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“all-round all-star restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I ate here as part of a group for ten consecutive nights. Management took terrific care of us, providing a 5-day rotating menu with delicious dishes that accommodated all dietary needs.

Dinner was served at tables on a white-sand beach, flanked by wood-plank piers, and surrounded by rocks and greenery. We sat at a candlelit table under the trees, watching the sun set on the horizon.

Of the entrees we had each night, the Jack Sparrow Pasta and the Big Size Asian Salad were my two favorites. The Jack Sparrow exceeded my gustatory expectations for food served on an island, while the Big Size Asian Salad came with cuts of lightly seared tuna. Both were very satisfying. Sides included rotations of potato wedges with ketchup and mayonnaise, meatballs, and tomato soup. The "awa di limoenchi" was tasty and worth trying.

This restaurant really provided a superb caribbean dining experience. The ambience was surreal, the food was delicious, and the management did a good job taking care of our group. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.