We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant

Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant
Piscaderabaai z/n | Curacao, Willemstad, Curacao
+599 9 461 0183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 163 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, International, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location of Pirate Bay is amazing, right on the beach with a great view. The atmosphere is great, and staff was super friendly. I ordered the prawns, which I'd definitely recommend just as I would recommend Pirate Bay itself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    174
    93
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for slow pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Went here with some friends during a cruise stop. They had some food and loved it. I sat on the beach for a few hours, snorkeled for an hour, and loved every minute of it. Beautiful, clear water; pretty good snorkeling; and a calm beach atmosphere. Reasonably priced, as well. Something like $5(US) to get in, no beach vendors, and a fairly friendly restaurant staff. They're great about calling a taxi for you when it's time to go.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro,NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice location on the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The location is great. Some tables are right on the beach looking over the bay and ocean, others are elevated on decks under a thatched roof hut. The food here was better than expected. We dined her for dinner 2x during our week on the island. Both times we were pleased with our food. The ribs and the tuna salad were the best items we had. This place is a little pricey for what it is but on par with the island dining prices. The service unfortunately is terrible as the food and abiance is good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Was a little scared walking in. Looks like a dive bar on the beach. But the food was good. Service could be better. Good reggae band.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curacao
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The food smell dead, like long time dead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a feet in the sand, table on the beach type of a place.
But we order fish and the smell was horrible, like take this away now smell. We left money on the table and just walk out. The service was done by young girls that where not happy about being there, and I get that with the smell. This use to be a nice enough restaurant but with the new owner it has become a health danger.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.