We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food only slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cafe Augustinus

Grand Cafe Augustinus
A. de Veerstraat 12, Willemstad, Curacao
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 126 restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: The restaurant of Hotel 't klooster on Curacao, but separately managed. In a former chappel of a manastery; terrific ! Good kitchen, nice wines and for a reasonable price. Excellent atmosphere and informal way of service. the servants obviously enjoy their work. One of the best restaurants on Curacao; recently opened after the retauration of the former monastery.
Restaurant details
Description: The restaurant of Hotel 't klooster on Curacao, but separately managed. In a former chappel of a manastery; terrific ! Good kitchen, nice wines and for a reasonable price. Excellent atmosphere and informal way of service. the servants obviously enjoy their work. One of the best restaurants on Curacao; recently opened after the retauration of the former monastery.
Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent food only slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

the food is great especially the daily fish and the Risky Marriage. However the same cocktails were servived diferently and tasted like lemonade.
At least you are hungry when food is served, due to the time it takes when maincourse is served.
The flavours and presentation is excellent.
Really worth going there as the place is excellent

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, staff & dinner was good! fun events!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time! Despite what I read here, dinner was good! Great service, which makes me happy! Drinks and all came quickly! I love the lady fair events!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had dinner in the cloister gardens on Tuesday night. Lovely hotel building and dining areas. Wonderful server/waitress. TERRIBLE food and kitchen. After adequate apps, we waited over fifty minutes for our mains. The reason for the delay - the chef was busy with another table with six guests. And we counted a grand total eleven guests at that time. Food was horrible. Dry, overlooked fish. Four small pieces of "tenderloin" with rice as Nasi Grant, I think that might be the chef's name.
Do not go there for dinner ever!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hopefully just a one off wrong experience...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Tonight we dined here for Valentine, using their Dushi Deals offering. Sadly all that could go wrong in the quality of service and meal did go wrong. The positive thing was that a waitress was that clever to offer the attention of a supervisor. The supervisor was honestly interested to listen to my comments. She did apologize and we had some interesting conversation. So, I wish them success in their improvement efforts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“an unique place to have a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

In this former monastery they created an unique place to relax and enjoy a nice drink or a lovely meal.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe Augustinus also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Grand Cafe Augustinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cafe Augustinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.