We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Congas

Mr. Congas
Waterfort | right outside Waterfort, Willemstad, Curacao
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 140 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Telephone: (5999) 462 2200 Location: Waterfort Arches 54, Willemstad CURACAO (not aruba, no option for curacao) Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Congas-Cuban-Restaurant/101517206553811 Lo
Ozone Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great food great service great Cubans..definitely give this place a try. A little hard to find but worth the search

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ea, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After reading the reviews I was very excited when two colleagues suggested we have a dinner meeting at Mr. Congas. After having our order taken by an uneventful waitress I was slightly disappointed by the food, which was tasty, but nothing I could not make at home myself and the portions (which were not particularly big for the price you pay, but to me sufficient). The price was steep; for a fresh lemonade, two glasses of tap water, (one of the least pricey) entrees and a shared tres leches dessert I paid 94 guilders including tip. The owners seem very friendly, nice people. That night there was no live music, something that our hosts highly recommended. Not bad, but not somewhere I will willingly return if I have a choice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kimberly will take care if you!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is eclectic & lively. Kimberly is fun & a wonderful server. A group of us went two nights in a row bcuz she treated us so well. We all ordered different items than the 1st night & absolutely loved all of the food. Go btwn 5-7 for happy hour spcl but stay until after 8 for the live music. If there is time Reina Kimberly will dance the Bachata :).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Entertaining live music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This spot has a fun atmosphere. Entertaining live music. Friendly staff.

Drinks are decent. Not the best mojito I've had, but certainly decent in terms of the island.

The fried plantains were delicious. The ropa vieja was good- however, kind of tough and chewy. Ceviche was flavorful.

I personally thought the food quality didn't match the price. A little pricey for Cuban food.

Overall: Great spot to listen to music and have a drink after shopping in Punda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ask for Kimberly!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Mr. Congas is the best way to end your day of walking and shopping. The staff is awesome and attentive. The food is and the music is fantastic.We had a great time and cant wait to go back next year. Ask for Kimberly. The reigning Queen of Bachata on the entire island of Curacao. I wish we could take her back to the states with us and let her give classes on how proper servece should be done. We adored her. Sandra will be the sharp dresser that is walking here and there.She is lovely as well but be careful. Before she is done with you you might want to buy the whole restaurant. All in all a great time with great mojitos and great music. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Congas also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Mr. Congas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Congas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.