We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to AVOID” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Airport Hotel

Curacao Airport Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Willemstad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curacao Airport Hotel
Save
You added Curacao Airport Hotel to your Saves list
F.D. Roseveldtweg 524, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Voiron
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A place to AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived at night in Curacao and there was the carnival which blocked many areas of the island : therefore we could not go to the area where we had located good accomodation.
We passed the airport hotel (also called Hato hotel) and made the mistake to stop there :
rooms look OK at first : good dimension, clean ... BUT :
they all face the main road and you can hear the cars passing by like if they were in your room !
there is no hot water in rooms : we were told only when we complained : that is good service !!
when we asked to talk to the manager we were told that he was not in yet : which is not a surprised for a not managed hotel of this sort !!
A place we strongly recommend ... to AVOID !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We needed a single night in Curaçao, to catch an 8:15 am flight to Miami on our way home from a vacation with friends in Bonaire.
Looked on-line, sent an email using the link on their website, email was sent to HoJos, this hotel is not a HoJos.
Called to make the reservation, was easy to do, friendly and prompt response. Also told that the website was under construction.
The hotel very close to the airport, however it will still cost $12 for a taxi ride, better to walk perhaps, about ten minutes, but not easy if you have heavy bags. Taxi drivers prefer the longer trip to downtown.
Room was clean, however there was no hot water in the room, the balcony door didn't open. We asked for another room because of the hot water and were told that there was no hot water in the entire hotel. They offered to come to repair the door but we told them to not bother as we were going out for supper.
The mattress was very hard and we could feel the springs, the pillows provided were also very hard.
Price $86 US. Given the price I would have to say we got what we paid for.
If the scenario were to be repeated, we would stay in downtown Willemstadt, as we spent a lovely evening in that area, the cost of taxis to and from downtown were approx $60 with tip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here on occasion while staying in Curacao and the hotel can use a few additions such as hot water, internet in the rooms. The people are super friendly and very nice and helpful. It's in front of the airport runway so you can see airplanes taking off and landing which is pretty cool at the bar. It has a swimming pool which is nice and just about everyone speaks english. The rooms can be better but I had a good nights sleep. There is not an airport taxi considering the airport is a bit of a distance but a taxi can be called and will be available at a moment's notice.
The additions that would make this hotel nice would be hotel wide wifi, hot water, better upkeep of the hotel. Other than that its a good place to stay for short periods of time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Add to stay there the day prior my departure , The smell from the bedroom was a bit odd,and the cleaness of the bathroom disappointing.Some hair was still in the sink when I got in but like I said he was just for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The best thing going for this hotel is that it is close to the airport. It's close enough to walk, but we were warned by the front desk that it is not safe to walk at night. Although our room was not dirty, it was very run down, and we didn't want to take our shoes off, or put our bags on the floor. Speaking with some other guests, their room was dirty, with even the bar of soap in their room already unwrapped and used.

Things to know:
- No bottled water can be purchased either at the casino or the hotel bar.
- The only food you can get late at night (but before 10pm) is lukewarm hot dogs at the casino.
- The casino is very small and was quite smoky while we were there, eating our lukewarm hot dogs...
- The bed sheet was just wide enough to cover the top of the mattress.
- The hotel bar will give you the password to the wifi if you purchase something.

If you have already decided to take a taxi from the airport to get to a hotel, I'm sure you would be able to find a better hotel further away that is much more pleasant for a comparable price.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I got stranded in Curacao after my flight was delayed. This was the closest hotel to the airport, and a modest $75 a night. The hotel lobby looks well maintained. Then you head down a corridor on your right, and up a carpeted staircase and you know you have entered a whole new world. The carpet is stained and smelly. There was a used bar of soap in my shower. The entire room smelled. There is old furniture and equally old bed linnen. I didn't know that hotels this horrible existed. It is the kind of place where you don't want to take your shoes off because of the condition of the carpet, you need to take a shower with slippers on for fear of what fungal infection may ensue. I did not sleep. I dared not rest my head on the pillows provided. As you can imagine there is no internet in the room, only in the bar area outside. Do not stay in this hotel, even if you are completely desperate. This is a $20. a night hotel, not a $75 a night hotel. If I could have put a rating of 0 I would. Easily my worst experience ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Is there ever a good hotel next to the airport? This is a great location (just walk the 5 min to the terminal). But the steady business undermines the place.

Day i was there the lobby area was in the midst of major rehab (stone floor, redo stucco) and that was disrupting things. Staff at checkin was friendly and helpful. Room was clean enough, but shabby. Sliding glass door to outside was secured with drilled stop, but wasn't capable of being completely closed (inch gap). Bath clean, just shabby. Good towels.

The bar was filled with locals for Friday night happy hour. Band can be enjoyed in your room till they quit at 10.

Story at checkin was the place had been sold and was being rehabbed. That will make the place match the location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curacao Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Airport Hotel

Address: F.D. Roseveldtweg 524, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Curacao Airport Hotel Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.