We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scharloo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scharloo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scharloo to your Saves list
Hotel Scharloo
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   van den Brandhofstraat 12, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Scharloo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Pros: Good location, helpful and friendly staff. Good cost benefit. Our group booked three rooms, and they were very different from one another. One had a complete kitchen and huge balcony and one was a small regular room, but they were all nice.

Cons: One of the rooms had a bad smell in the bathroom. Night watchmen wasn't very friendly. Parking only fit 3 cars, so we had to leave the car in the street. Reception only works until 6pm. If you are going to check in later, better try to talk to them in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
35
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a great bed and breakfast as well as a hotel nestled away in Punda overlooking downtown Willemstad. The rooms are tastefully decorated for the price. The service is exceptional and the value is great. The manager is really knowledgable, helpful, and very upbeat to converse with. The location is good and security is exceptional. The cleanliness is super clean and u will never find anything out of place here. There is a day care service and will arrange a taxi for sightseeing tours and rent cars at nominal rates for hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great accommodations. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the floating market downtown and an easy bus ride away from amazing beaches. Rooms have air conditioning and access to a gorgeous pool. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and maps. Rooms are minimalist, but no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good place within very easy walking distance of all highlights of Willemstad. Nice, very clean and big room, good bathroom. Friendly and good service. Two things keep this from a 5: the room I was in looked onto a blind wall and was thus a bit dark, and while the hotel has a very nice garden and dipping pool it was kind of quiet when I stayed. Still, I'd say absolutely value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights in March in an apartment facing the main patio/ courtyard area. I travelled as a single woman and was glad that I chose an apartment where I could cook meals instead of eating out every day. The rooms were very clean and had both fans and A/C. I was NEVER too hot.

It took a little while to adjust to the lack of glass windows which made the rooms feel a little darker than I'm used to, but I'd seen similar comments from travellers at other hotels in town. After a day I was fine. You can open the slats for some light or I also had the option of leaving one or both of my front doors open during the day (and even into the night).

I felt quite safe at this hotel. The gate locks at 6pm every night (guests are given a key) and the security guard was very friendly.

The location of the hotel itself was perfect. I didn't rent a car and was able to walk to Punda (the main town area) in a couple of minutes via 1 of 2 bridges. The bus station was also close by so I took frequent trips to the beach by mini bus (about $2 US). The Seaquarium beaches (Cabana Beach, Mambo Beach, etc) are about 15 minutes away and cost $3 US for entry plus another $3 for a beach chair.

Also:
- eat at the food hut close to the bus station if you can. They make great, cheap local dishes! The lemon water (not at all acid) was also a nice thirst quencher.
- a small grocery sits across the street from the food hut.
- have a shake at one of the Batido shake trucks (had a great watermelon shake there - have it with milk). TASTE your shake before you leave though. Once I was given the wrong shake.

Room Tip: Loved my room facing the main patio. If people are a little loud while eating breakfast in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Across from the floating market, on the edge of Scharloo/Waaigat, we stayed at this lovely little hotel. It has a small number of very comfortable rooms surrouding a small inner garden with flowers, trees and a small pool for relaxation.
All main attractions are within walking distance and after a night on the town this hotel is an oasis of silence.

Room Tip: Any room is good, if it doesn't have a balcony it has a small terrace outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location and frendly staff. Rooms are clean and bathroom is with warm shower.
5min walk and you reach New Market where you can eat breakfast less than 3$, pancake and coffee. If staff arrenge barbeque dinner at hotel, you should go there. At 25$ you can eat and drink as much you like.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scharloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scharloo

Address: van den Brandhofstraat 12, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Scharloo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scharloo is an elegant Historic building; it has a cozy atmosphere and is beautifully located in the charming City of Willemstad. The hotel offers a stunning view over de quay with the floating market, and the multi-colored historical Dutch colonial style buildings. Hotel Scharloo is in walking distance of restaurants, terraces, shopping centre and entertainment, and the world famous floating bridge. The hotel has 18 rooms with all his comfort and luxury. All rooms have AIRCO, CABLE-TV, FREE WIFI, A safety-BOX, and a FRIDGE; Our DeLuxe rooms offer a separate dining room with fully equipped kitchen. The most rooms are located in the villa with all his historical details. In the enclosed garden you can relax in the great lounge swimming pool or on the loungers under need the black olive tree. Visitors also come to Curacao for the spectacular sandy beaches, scuba diving, sailing and other beach sports, these are all in the surrounding area of our Hotel. Also nearby is the bus stop, for fast frequent services with great value fares, or hire a car and explore the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Scharloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scharloo Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scharloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.