We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Hulanda Museum

Kura Hulanda Museum
Klipstraat 9, Willemstad, Curacao
5999 434 7765
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Attractions in Willemstad
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits trace Curaçaoans African roots and the legacy of the slave trade in the region.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very full museum - extremely well put together. Of particular note is the history of slavery - very moving.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    156
    40
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting collection, but context is needed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This museum had a very interesting collection, with artifacts from Africa and a history of slavery in the Caribbean. However, I have never seen a museum that provided so little context provided about their collection. Many items lacked any description explaining what they were or why they were in the museum. The most egregious example was a whole room filled with extremely racist propaganda, without any description of where the propaganda came from, or why it was being displayed (is the museum believe the racist propaganda is valid? are they trying to show another country's unfortunate racist history?).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Educational and moving.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This museum was very interesting. It began with some amazing artifacts from Ethiopia and Mesopotamia, among other ancient civilizations. Then you see a room with framed advertisements, etc. illustrating how the media depicted natives and blacks to a European audience. These were racist, insulting and made me sad.
Then there is a history of slavery, tracing it from Africa and Europe to the New World. This was by far the best, most illustrative slavery exhibit I have ever seen. It "followed the money", showing how development of the New World and the financial growth of Europe was dependent on slavery. It did not shy away from the gruesome, inhumane treatment of the slaves. There was a part of the exhibit that had a reconstructed hold of a slave ship. I've read a good bit about the transportation of slaves, the conditions, etc. but I have to tell you, to actually see the confines in which people were placed gave me a visceral reaction.
The rest of the museum was given over to some wonderful African art and showed the cultural advances on that continent.
This place was compelling and thought provoking. It's not your typical feel-good sanitized tourist attraction and for that, I appreciated it all the more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Educational even Though Disturbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2.5 hours at the Kura Hulanda Museum, and could have easily spent 4!
Behind every door is another display, so be sure to check behind every door.
The ancient artifacts in the first rooms are exceptional!
The sculpture garden is beautiful.
The center courtyard of the museum is also beautiful has more displays and sculptures.
There is an extensive collection of trinkets, artifacts, furnishings, musical instruments etc from Africa!
The buildings that house the information and displays about the history of slavery were disturbing to say the least - yet held so much information that we had never been educated about in our North American schools. Much of this part of the museum saddened us, and was a reminder as to how brutal we human beings (who pride ourselves among the species as being civilized and evolved) can be.
Highly recommend this museum as a must-see

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful structure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely architecture and history. Would visit again. Somewhat hard to find if on your own but we had a friend who took us there and showed us around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kura Hulanda Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kura Hulanda Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Hulanda Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.