We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Hulanda Museum

Kura Hulanda Museum
Klipstraat 9, Willemstad, Curacao
5999 434 7765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 78 things to do in Willemstad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits trace Curaçaoans African roots and the legacy of the slave trade in the region.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Worth spending a morning visiting the museum and then strolling the gardens of the hotel and having lunch there.
We didn't take the guided tour as we had our two young kids that with us and we knew they wouldn't let us (or anyone else) enjoy the tour. Nevertheless we enjoyed going through it on our own.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    175
    47
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique and quite extensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've never been to a museum like this. The planning for it is extraordinary. It's quite comprehensive and intense. I've seen, and collected African Art for years both from vendors, private collectors and in Africa. I've rarely seen such a comprehensive museum of this size. Exquisite.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing walk through history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were floored by this place. A real hidden gem in Curacao that even had slave items on display (takes your breath away). Tucked away in a hotel, so you could easily miss this stop. Take your time, you'll need an hour, and really take in the history of Curacao. Enjoy a lite lunch after the tour in the courtyard across from the entrance.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Almost Speehcless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If ever you are in Curacao, you must visit the Kura Hulanda Museum. This is the most comprehensive collection of artifacts chronicling the history of the African slave trade that I have ever seen. Not only is the collection astounding, but the artistic displays are used to their best advantage. I won't give all the surprises away. Just go. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTCLAIR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The museum was more than I expected. Tells a very complete story of the transatlantic slave trade that you won't find anywhere else.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kura Hulanda Museum also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Kura Hulanda Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Hulanda Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.