We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in lovely spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of restaurant Rozendaels

restaurant Rozendaels
Penstraat 47 | Willemstad, Curacao, Willemstad, Curacao
+599 9 461 8806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 139 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mediterranean, South American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nice and romantic outside garden bistro, Local and international fusion style meals. The restaurant is an authentic product of the island. We have also a permanent art exposition from local artist and we sell them as well. The building is an historic 150 years old building. We are open from Sunday true Fridays only for dinner from 5 o'clock till 10. Saturdays we are closed. We hope to welcome you as our guest.The management.For details of our menu check out our website.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food in lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed this quaint , local place. Food very good, staff ok-very busy, not overly attentive but pleasant. Would recommend

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozendaels, Public Relations Manager at restaurant Rozendaels, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Google Translation
Beste, Fijn dat u heeft genoten in ons restaurant! We verwelkomen u graag nog eens! Met vriendelijke groet, de Staff van Restaurant Rozendaels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    85
    22
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rozedaels serves good food, and the restaurant has a great ambiance. Centrally located and walking distance from the Hotel Avila and The Strand Condominiums. The staff was very nice and very accommodating with our two kids. A solid restaurant worth checking out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Picturesque spot, amusing owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Dutch owner is happy to regale with stories of his tenure on the island. This spot was amusingly decorated for the Christmas holidays. The menu was huge, and it was so hard to choose. We went with the local menu, and OMG, take the mixed rice with your meal, it was incredible. Had beautifully prepared Dorado, others had tuna, all was really very good. Key lime pie for dessert was tasty, but nothing special.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great true local restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wow! What a great atmosphere in the beautiful garden. Caribbean music is playing while being served by professional staff that's around when you need them and leaves you in privacy when not. Some great local dishes, a short wine list, though carefully selected wines that goes great with the meals. We loved the curry/banana soup! There is some local fish on the menu and a variation of South-American stakes.

Having said that the chef is doing a great job, it's the cozy atmosphere and nice staff that makes us so happy.

The restaurant is located opposite of Avila Beach Resort, but absolutely worth to visit from the Marriot or Renaissance. Takes about 5-10 minutes by car. Pricing is far from expensive. There is a smoke and non-smoke area.

We will definitely return should we will visit Curacao again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food was good, owner a jerk who belittled us for their mistake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The number one rule: your customers are (almost) always right. The food here was tasty but had a woeful encounter with the owner. Some of the servers do not possess the best English, and when ours did not understand that my vegetarian wife wanted a vegetarian pasta without the typical fish-based sauce that accompanies it, this led to a big problem and we had to send her main course back to the kitchen.

After my wife explained to the server that she had asked for pasta with light olive oil and not the sauce that she received, the owner came over to our table. Instead of apologizing for not getting her order right, especially when it was the fault of his own server, he very aloofly & aggressively said "This pasta comes with seafood in the sauce, did you not understand that?" What kind of person in the hospitality business belittles his customers? We were trying to enjoy a quiet, romantic dinner and this completely crushed the vibe. Not only that, there was no apology from him then or at the end of the meal, no offer of a discount, complimentary dessert or anything resembling making up for THEIR mistake. The owner needs to improve his manners & customer service or he should hire someone else to manage the restaurant. I would also recommend that he hire servers more skilled in English or more inquisitive if they don't understand an order as this issue could have easily been avoided with better communication.

The outdoor setting is very enjoyable, but going here is a roll of the dice for the service / experience. Oh, and they're closed on Saturdays - that's a first for me, very odd.

We won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed restaurant Rozendaels also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to restaurant Rozendaels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage restaurant Rozendaels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.