We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful changes, colourful life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pietermaai Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pietermaai Apartments to your Saves list
Pietermaai Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pietermaai 51 | Pietermaai, Willemstad 000, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful changes, colourful life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

It was nice to see all renovation in historic style and a mixture with modern buildings. There is a feeling like caribic life. It`s like a little town with some nice restaurants, hairdresser and beachclub.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
45
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rooms were really nice and cozy. Kitchen was nice to have, and bathrooms were very tidy. Mundo Bizarro restaurant/bar at the backyard had really nice athmosphere. Most of the staff working in reception were nice, but we had bad experiences of one of them during our stay. She messed up our trip that we booked for one day and didn´t even apologize the mistake, overall acted very arrogant about everything, not just this one case. Despite that, very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My stay was relatively brief (4 days), I don't really like those big beach resort hotels that much so I went for Pietermaai Apartments again and didn't regret it one bit! The thing is, it's a very picturesque kind of area & hotel, sure there's some rumor from the surrounding restaurants and cafés sometimes, but in my view this adds to the bustling District. In a few days you'll feel like a part of the whole thing! The Apartments are build inside old Dutch monumental houses but are equipped in a modern way for comfort. Finally, I should not forget to mention one , or actually 2 of my favorite things about my holiday, which were Restaurant Mundo Bizarro and Café Miles... they were both around the corner from my room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I like the concept of Pietermaai smal apartments which is to restore the 'old' heart of Willemstad by renovating old houses to apartments. The apartments are spread over the Pietermaai area. The apartment I had was located at the nieuwestraat between Miles Jazz café, Restaurant Sparkle and restaurant Ginger. A very vivid area between 7pm and 11-12pm. Not advisable when you looking for quietness (you better book a room at a resort). The apartment itself was furnished in a modern but warm way and had all the basic equipment. The apartment included the use the swimpool that was nearby. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had a great time staying there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Beste Antoine,

Thank you for your positive and encouraging review, our goal is indeed to be the pounding heart of the renovations in Willemstad. We're glad you enjoyed the experience of the area as well as our apartments and hope to welcome you again soon!

Pietermaai Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

12 years ago I used to live in the Pietermaai street and the connection with Punda was dangerous at that time. The houses generally abandoned. The Pietermaai Smal apartments project (together with several other projects in the vicinity) extended the Punda city centre to the penstraat and created style, beauty and safety. Nowadays it's possible to eat, drink, swim, dive and relax at this beautiful part of Willemstad.
The small houses kept their (Dutch) Caribean identity and I noticed many local employees working around the pool and rooms.

Small minus: Although I paid approximately 150 dollars per night (late booking?) the company did not provide me with soap etc. And my apartment did not have a porch.

Chapeau voor de projectontwikkelaars die Curacao een stukje van zichzelf hebben teruggegeven.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I recently stayed for one night in apartment 1, which is a duplex meant for one person. Pietermaai Apartments is an exceptional place to stay. The location is ideal - in easy walking distance of great restaurants and sites (Check out Kome and Miles' Jazz Cafe). The apartments are beautiful and well appointed. The service was excellent. The price is right. What more could you want?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Pietermaai Apartments, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Rabecca,

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you experienced your whole stay as ideal.
We try to perfectionize our product every day, but also work intensively with our surroundings / the District Pietermaai. Again, thank you for staying with us and see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I know Curacao for more than 15 years and always thought, something should be done with those old and beautiful colonial houses. When reading on the net, I went for Pietermaai Apartments right away and was amazed about the nice and personal service starting right from the reservation, room are as told, very nice and spacey, 2 stories with fairly decent equipped kitchen. As I was traveling single, I went for a simple 1 persons room and the bed was small to my surprise but excellent quality as was everything else. If going for small rooms in the K-block, be aware of the restaurant nearby in the complex as it might get busy and a bit noisy- I didn´t mind but others might. Overall location is very nice, bars and restaurants nearby in walking distance, as well as the beach. Felt more at home than in a Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you Andreas for leaving such a nice review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the renovated surroundings. We try to give people a unique place to stay that's authentic and has that real Curacao feeling. We hope to see you again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pietermaai Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietermaai Apartments

Address: Pietermaai 51 | Pietermaai, Willemstad 000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pietermaai Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pietermaai District, once the area of the Curacao well-to-do, has untaken a huge make-over after a long period of neglect and abatement. However, the last 2 years Pietermaai District is working hard to be the new 'Quartier Latin' of Curacao.The colorful Pietermaai Apartments are located in the historical neighborhood of Pietermaai District in Willemstad. The apartments are divided from the sea by a narrow road. The center of Willemstad is only 500 meters away. Just like the neighborhoods Punda, Otrabanda, several clubs, shops, restaurants and cinema's. The well-known Cabana Beach is 4 km. Away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pietermaai Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietermaai Smal Apartments Hotel Willemstad
Pietermaai Apartments Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pietermaai Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.