We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Willemstad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scuba Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Scuba Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Duffel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay in Willemstad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel to Discover Willemstad. They have two Pools and a terras on a little beach. The restaurant is good but not special. On walking distance of the center of Willemstad. You can follow diving lessons but we didn't used that service

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    66
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
142
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We came here on our honeymoon and had the best stay! The staff was so attentive and helpful! Anytime we had a question they had an answer! They showed us which beaches to go to and even organized a rental car for us!! We cannot wait to go back!! Make sure to eat the picnic breakfast there too! Delish!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

August 2013. We took the newly renovated appartments from the scuba lodge. Completely renovated with quality equipment and very tastefull decorated. View on the ocean, close to the city, on the beach breakfast, good food, excellent service. Perfect location to explore the island and the diving. Since you are located in " scuba lodge" but sligthly seperated with a small but decent pool, our dive experience was formidable. Our daughter took her junior open water, with love and respect. Friendly, funny, respectfull people. We had an amazing time. Our kids want to go back, and that is definitely a quality indicator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff is beyond helpful and friendly. Kelly was amazing. Arrangements were made to be picked up at the airport at 730pm and to be taken back to the airport at 430am and both drivers were right on time! All of the dive guys are friendly and knowledgeable. Antoine is especially passionate about the ocean environment and the history of the area.

We stayed in one of the apartments and were very happy with the accommodations. Some observations;
* We stayed in the "middle blue" apartment. We had booked the green apartment and were offered to switch but one of the bedrooms was on an upper level (see stairs note below) so we stayed where we were. Perfect ocean view, one short trip down the stairs from our balcony patio to the pool and restaurant. We watched the various ships pass, some dolphins and at times divers off the shore line. We actually spent most of our time sitting on the deck when we weren't out by the pool or diving. Very relaxing.
* The front staircase to our apartment, which we only used coming in, was narrow and winding. Our large suitcase was difficult to maneuver.
* The week we were there, the place was very quiet and I get the impression it is most of the time. There is no loud night bar scene which was good for us.
* ONLY the 2 bedroom suites were air conditioned. Beds were comfortable and there was plenty of closet space to put clothing in.
* There is NO cream rinse. Only body wash. Bring or buy shampoo and creme rinse.
* We had a traveling companion with us who is used to 5 star US hotels. This is not that type of hotel. It is very comfortable and you feel like everyone is a family but it is not "plush."
* The kitchen has everything you need to cook with but we never did. You must ask the front desk for the coffee "cups" to put in the coffee maker. There are none in the room.
* The Thursday night BBQ...more meat than you can possibly eat but all was delicious. The "pitmaster" chef was there cooking shrimp on a stick, then chicken, then beef tenderloin, then hamburgers! We were stuffed!
*Drinks and food at the restaurant were reasonably priced. The menu is a bit limited but one day the chef made something special for us at lunch as a HUGE grouper had been the catch of the day (we saw them bring it in) the previous night. So he fixed up a grouper sandwich with truffle oil and some other toppings. Nice treat! The breakfast basket is definitely European style breakfast with rolls, cheese, fruit, yogurt,thinly sliced meats. The fresh squeezed OJ was fabulous!!
* Location is great if you want to be near the city, which is what we wanted. There is security outside the hotel every night, all night. This appeared to be common as anytime we were out at night, all of the good restaurants and hotels had security on the street watching everyone that was out walking. It was a little disconcerting but normal. There is broken glass everywhere on the sidewalks which is sad that there doesn't seem to be any pride in the country.
* Most everyone speaks English or will try if you don't speak the language. US money is also readily accepted.
*Yes, I would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Pietermaai and its Restaurant are a good Place to eat and Drink. More stylish and not so touristic as Punda.
The Scuba Lodge is relaxed with an layed back atmosphere. The breakfast ist really good as well as the other food.
The attached Divingscool is doing a good job although.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed a few nights in Scuba Lodge, first in a double room and then in an apartment on the ground floor in the blue suites. The first thing to say about this place is that the location is really great. It's right on the sea and the waves literally come crashing over into the grounds, bringing little crabs with them. It's within walking distance to the centre of Willemstad but is also quiet. Another plus is the infinity pool. And the bar is nicely situated with a good selection of food. Cannot fault the staff either, who were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only downside was the drain smell in both of the bathrooms of the suite and the strong smell of cleaning detergent/bleach upon arrival. Maybe the upper floors don't have the same drain problem as the ground floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I didn't stay at this hotel but I did go scuba diving with Scuba Lodge for the first time. Great service. The instructor, Antoine, was a great teacher. Very knowledgable, patient, and attentive . I felt safe and enjoyed my first dive. My husband is a more experienced diver and he really liked the instructor. I would recommend this place. We purchased a video that documented our dive. The video was well done and worth the money. Anyone staying in curacao should go scuba diving once.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.