We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Stay in good neigborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Scuba Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Landshut, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed Stay in good neigborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Pietermaai and its Restaurant are a good Place to eat and Drink. More stylish and not so touristic as Punda.
The Scuba Lodge is relaxed with an layed back atmosphere. The breakfast ist really good as well as the other food.
The attached Divingscool is doing a good job although.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    58
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
122
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed a few nights in Scuba Lodge, first in a double room and then in an apartment on the ground floor in the blue suites. The first thing to say about this place is that the location is really great. It's right on the sea and the waves literally come crashing over into the grounds, bringing little crabs with them. It's within walking distance to the centre of Willemstad but is also quiet. Another plus is the infinity pool. And the bar is nicely situated with a good selection of food. Cannot fault the staff either, who were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only downside was the drain smell in both of the bathrooms of the suite and the strong smell of cleaning detergent/bleach upon arrival. Maybe the upper floors don't have the same drain problem as the ground floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I didn't stay at this hotel but I did go scuba diving with Scuba Lodge for the first time. Great service. The instructor, Antoine, was a great teacher. Very knowledgable, patient, and attentive . I felt safe and enjoyed my first dive. My husband is a more experienced diver and he really liked the instructor. I would recommend this place. We purchased a video that documented our dive. The video was well done and worth the money. Anyone staying in curacao should go scuba diving once.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been coming to the Scuba Lodge for many years now and I hope to come for many years to go. The staff is very friendly and professional, they make you feel right at home. The food is perfect and reasonably priced with a perfect view over the Caribbean sea. Tommy is one of the best bartenders I know and Rob knows his way around the kitchen. The Thursday evening BBQ is a must for everyone visiting the island.
I got my PADI advanced and Rescue at the divecenter. Anton, Joshua, Bob and Cornee make you feel very comfortable up and under water.
Scuba Lodge: A must see gem on Curacao!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our trip to Curacao started our rocky. We selected another establishment initially that turned out to be a nightmare and my husband had his wallet stolen in Miami airport... We almost turned back .. But Kelly and Jose rescued us and SAVED our vacation.

They started by coordinating a lovely taxi to come pick us up in the middle of no where on the opposite side of the island and bringing us into a lovely room with a bottle of complimentary champagne and beautifully arranged flowers on the bed.

They later upgraded our room to an apartment when our son came in. It was ultra sheik with a stunning sea view. Both rooms were beautifully decorated, ultra clean and super comfortable.

The staff was top notch., from the front desk, cleaning crew, wait staff, kitchen, scuba team to security. They all worked together wonderfully. They acted like a real family and treated us with such kindness and respect. I did not see anyone in a bad mood the whole time I was there. They could not do enough for us. Jose continually asked us how everything was and really cared about the property and guests.

I wanted to adopt Kelly by the time I left. She really is so exceptional I really cannot put it into words. I feel their no words that are good enough to describe how much she cares about people and what she does. She is truly one of a kind. She wanted us to love not just the lodge but Curaçao and with her help we absolutely did when we left.

The Scubaloda and the spicy chicken wings were to die for in the cafe.

The setting was truly beautiful as was the infinity pool.. If you cannot forget your troubles there you might need to see a doctor. Also you could walk everywhere and there were amazing bistros and cafés steps away. So much variety and very high quality. The city was a 15 minute walk away.

The crew there helped us to find the most beautiful and safest beaches, schedule excursions, assisted with rental car and served as outstanding GPS in daily planning.

The Scuba team was so accommodating. They truly go out of their way to customize dive trips. The snorkel bus was a super fun day. My son and husband did the Lion Fish Hunt Dive.. An experience I know they will always cherish! Anton even cleaned the fish for us so we could make some killer ceviche!

You know you have hit the right place when you leave with tears and you talk of planning your return before you leave.. Next time for loner!

Thank you to all the AWESOME Scuba Lodge Crew from the bottom of my heart!

Tanya, Pete and Myles

Room Tip: Apartments are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the summer of 2013 and had a fabulous time. The hotel was very friendly and welcoming, and was very attractive to look at from the outside- the gardens were nicely presented, maintained and landscaped and the buildings were the traditional Dutch colonial style. The hotel is right next to the sea and the breakfast hampers and lovely to eat whilst looking out over the sea- they have so many lovely touches! Our apartment was huge with so many more bedrooms than we needed, and it was very comfortable and well furnished. There are two pools, and all sorts of different places to sit in the sunshine or shade- loungers, beds and seats.... It never seemed crowded or busy, and the atmosphere is very laid back and relaxed. The restaurant has lovely food, but there are also some very nice places to eat nearby- just go and explore! It is also quick to walk further into the main part of town and visit the floating markets.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormer, Holland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in Scuba Lodge from 24 till 27 april 2014. At the end of our first Curacao and Bonaire vacation. We selected Scuba Lodge because it is (very) near to Willemstad center. Walking distance. Also because of its special position at the sea, with its nice bar/restaurant and the (constructed) beach. Sea view while having breakfast (very good and special, served in a basket, more than enough and good quality) and having drinks or dinner.
There are 2 swimming pools.
We booked a superior room, downstairs with a nice furnished terrace. Room was very comfortable, with a good bathroom, good bed (a little bit soft, but that is personal), good functioning airco together with a ceiling-fan.
The service of all the staff can only be judged as excellent, very helpful, polite and welcoming. Thumbs up for everyone.
We had 3 very enjoyable days/nights at Scuba Lodge, we recommend it for sure.

Andries en Tine Maij.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.