We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week scuba diving with group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Scuba Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Scuba Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Turnhout
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One week scuba diving with group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a wonderfull time at Scuba Lodge. As a group of 28 we rented almost every appartment in Scuba Lodge. They were all very nice (especialy yellow up :-)). Everything you need is in the appartement even a washing machine!
As we were 22 divers, and our average was 3 dives a day, it was a hell of an organisation for the diving crew to get our tanks filled back again on time, but Bob and his crew handled it. Thumbs up for Bob :-)
Our group had a BBQ for the last evening which was faboulous. Special thanks to the kitchen team for this.
Overall this was a very positive experience for all our group members. Yvette you manage Scuba Lodge very well !!!

Groetjes
Kurt

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    66
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
143
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

They had an infinity pool, and a BBQ night on Thursdays. They served good food for breakfast and dinner. My picky daughter demolished a red snapper, which was the catch of the day. What made this hotel stand out was its professional and kind staff, who made rental car reservations and helped with directions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is well over due, my wife and I and our daughter spend 9 days here at this resort last summer. The staff will bend over backwards to please you in any way they could they even made the arrangement to get us a rental vehicle for a couple of days we didn't even have to leave the premisses we asked for a car and it was parked in front of the hotel in a mater of an hour.
On Thursdays they have a buffet from their own restaurant that you can participate if you wish or go out to eat at the many local cuisine which they have many to choose from. Everything is withing walking distance you don't even need a car.
The staff is very very very friendly....did I mention very friendly?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Out of many hotels I've stayed in my life, this is definitely one of the best.

To begin with, it feels like every staff member cares, rather than simply doing his/her job.
Hotel design is modern and efficient. Faucets, doors, handles, linen, lamps, reception area, etc. - almost everything is top quality and in perfect condition, more likely to be found only in the best Vegas hotels. The rustic paint in the bathroom may appear dirty but this just part of design, it's all in fact very clean. One exception - AC in the room didn't produce cool air, but we rarely use AC anyway, and we simply mentioned that at the checkout. We enjoyed Hawaii-style sleep in natural air draft, with sound of crashing waves on the beach.

Hotel grounds are very small, but once again, well organized and maintained. Restaurant tables are arranged by the water; sitting there is very relaxing and vacation-like.

And, finally, the breakfast in a basket - both food and experience. It's a bit pricey, but comparing to standard Sheraton offering it's way better quality and worth trying at least once.
Summarizing, I would highly recommend Scuba Lodge to anyone who wants to spend time in Curaçao.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Scuba Lodge. We stayed a two bed apartment with a great balcony and beautiful view of the sea. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Great suggestions for restaurants, trips and beaches.

My husband and daughter did two dives with the Lodge. The dive masters went over and above to make sure they both had really good experiences. Very professional and knowledgeable.

I would not hesitate to recommend Scuba Lodge to anyone wishing to visit Curacao. Great accommodation, great location, professional dive center and very friendly team of people. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was here for 1 week, March 28 to April 4th 2014.

The accommodations were excellent, clean room, comfortable bed, good ventilation, good wifi (free) throughout. The food was also excellent. The hotel staff in general were all very good, special mention for Kelly, Yvette, Anne and Lise-Anne. The guy who coordinates the cleaning, Jesus, was also great. The bartender at night (forgot his name) was also good.

This is a small hotel for scuba divers. There is a small artificial beach and very small pool overlooking the ocean. If your spouse does not dive, do not bring her here, pick a more commercial hotel with beach and pool. You are off the beaten track and far from the shopping district close to port. The big advantage is the scuba facility right on the premises.

The scuba instructors and divemasters (Bob the manager, Anton, Corne, Carlos and Joshua) are top-notch. They are not only very personable and will answer any stupid questions, but they are very experienced with most of them in the 1500 to 3000 dive range. That commands serious respect. They do everything from basic Open Water to Advanced courses. I did my Rescue Diver over 5 afternoons with Joshua who was great, and dove in the morning. Whatever your level of diving, from beginner to expert, you will learn something from these guys. They are thorough, detail and safety oriented but relaxed and fun, which is what diving should be. Even very advanced divers will benefit. The groups are small, never more than 5, no cattle groups.

The diving here is mainly beautiful coral with alot of small fish. Sea life is more abundant in Mexico, Cayman, Cuba and Bahamas....but still beautiful dives. All shore dives, they have no boat so there is more shlepping of equipment. Bring a full length 3mm wetsuit and hoodie, water temp is around 79 degrees.

Small criticisms: the lack of enough serving staff for dinner at night...they are stressed and cant give the usual level of service for this hotel (a little smile goes a long way). Another small problem is the lack of good fresh water dunk tanks for scuba....this is because municipal water costs 60 USD per cubic meter. Tap water is very clean and can be drank. The accounting is confused, there were mix-ups on my bill. They should have separate accounting for scuba and the rest.

All in all a great experience, I would highly recommend it to divers, it is a fresh change from the big hotel chains. If I come back to Curacao, I will definitely return here.

Marc Mullie MD
Montreal

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sirena Bay estate down the street from the Scuba lodge but came here twice for breakfast/brunch. They offer a picnic basket full if fruit, yogurt, pastries etc which was excellent but I think our favors part was the "toast" or a more former grilled cheese. We had one we tomato, cheese and pesto....delicious!! Loved having Scuna lodge nearby for a view of the sea and fabulous food!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.